The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-16-2019, 06:02 AM
bada55 bada55 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1014814
bada55 Reputation: 10
Default Add 2 or 3 others fans directly on the H100i Platinum

Hello people!

I recently installed the H100i Platinum with 2xML120 PRO RGB in my case, a very nice piece by the way. And... I fell into the RGB trap, I want to put it everywhere now.

To begin with, I plan to buy at least 2 (or 3 if it work) more ML120 PRO RGB.
The thing is, I'd like to plug them into the H100i directly with a Y splitter.

For RGB cables I think I'll make them myself (Unless you have a magical item on amazon or something else), and plug them directly into the cooler.

On the other hand, for the power cables, I have a doubt if it won't be too heavy to plug 2 or 3 more fans into the cooler. And if so, how to power them while keeping them adjustable via icue?

I understand that in this case, the leds and rpm will be the same as fan 1 or 2 of the cooler, im okey with that.

I've watched a lot of other posts here, some youtube videos, but never an identical scenario to mine.

Thank you in advance for your comments, and for your expertise:)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-19-2019, 04:41 AM
bada55 bada55 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1015104
bada55 Reputation: 10
Default

Really no one? :(

I plan to do a new setup by next year, with a larger case and a commander pro in it. But in the meantime I would like to test with more fans currently without major modifications.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-19-2019, 05:35 AM
Krokarn Krokarn is offline
Registered User
Krokarn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 207
POST ID # = 1015108
Krokarn Reputation: 10
Default

I Think it is better for you buy a kit with 3 x ML120 RGB, then you got a Lightning Node PRO and a led-hub for the rgb-lightning and can Control it from iCUE.
Power to fans do you conect on the motherboard.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-19-2019, 05:37 AM
bada55 bada55 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1015109
bada55 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the feedback!
We agree, we're talking about connecting all this to the sys_fan?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-19-2019, 09:36 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,974
POST ID # = 1015133
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

The ML series fan has a fairly low current draw and mathematically you should be under the current limit. However, be aware there are other underlying factors in play. I would try 2 x 2-way splitters vs a triple + 1. I think +3 more fans is pushing your luck, but 2 most likely works. Also, be aware the Platinum radiator version of the ML is a high speed model 2400 rpm+. The retail version of the ML120-RGB is capped at 1600 rpm. That may be problematic if the Platinum uses a % PWM control option.

The RGB wires are something else. The Platinum was designed to be a lighting controller for its two fan only. I am not sure if there is enough power on the lighting controller to power another 2-3 fans worth of RGB. The ML at least is lower current level, but this would be disastrous to do with LL fans that pull more than 0.6A per fan for lighting alone. The Platinum's controller is a nice feature for those with no other RGB fans, strips, etc. Once you get into multiple fans (now 5?), you really need to get on a RGB Lighting Hub to handle the power requirements for the lighting. That then plugs into a Lighting Node Pro or Commander Pro to interface with the software. As mentioned above, the LNP comes in most multi-packs of RGB fans. The Commander Pro is a LNP + fan controller + temp sensors so you can free yourself from BIOS fan control entirely -- if desired.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-19-2019, 11:13 AM
bada55 bada55 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1015143
bada55 Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for this very clear explanation c-attack.

In fact, I will soon be recovering a defective h100i platinum, in addition to the functional model currently in my PC. So, I'm going to have x2 ML120 more than I thought I would put on the front with a 2x2-way splitters like you said. If I follow your logic, would that be okay with 4 fans like that ?

I still have the original corsair fan with the spec05 case in extraction at the back.
I'll leave it until I get a Commander Pro asap

Last edited by bada55; 08-19-2019 at 04:47 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-19-2019, 04:46 PM
bada55 bada55 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1015176
bada55 Reputation: 10
Default

Can I plug the 2 additionals ML120 from the dead one cooler on the Commander without issue for the rpm?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 08-19-2019, 05:20 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,974
POST ID # = 1015183
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

With the Commander Pro you can do whatever you want. You'll have up to 6 fan channels that can run from numerous sources at RPM curve, fixed RPM, or fixed PWM %. There wouldn't be any reason to jack multiple fans into the Platinum fan controller if you have the C-Pro. I would still leave the two main radiator fans on the Platinum's controller. That ensures they will operate as intended, with or without software, and in an emergency state.

Look on the back of the your Platinum high speed ML fans. On the label, there should be a current rating. I am expecting something like 0.22A, but this is not a publicly available fan so I can't be sure they used the exact same motor from the ML-PRO and ML-LED series. 4 x 0.22 = 0.88A is OK. I would never do this with LL or other high current draw fans.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 08-19-2019, 11:31 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,367
POST ID # = 1015214
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

There are 3rd party splitter available for the RGB fans on eBay. However, it's a better option to go down the Lighting Node Pro path.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 08-20-2019, 10:52 AM
bada55 bada55 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1015242
bada55 Reputation: 10
Default

In my case of h100i platinum + 3 ML120 rgb (including 2 from an old h100i platinum) I don't need the Lighting PRO? Just copro and the rgb hub, right?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 08-20-2019, 02:03 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,367
POST ID # = 1015263
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bada55 View Post
In my case of h100i platinum + 3 ML120 rgb (including 2 from an old h100i platinum) I don't need the Lighting PRO? Just copro and the rgb hub, right?
Yes, a CoPro and an RGB Hub will do it. The CoPro has the same functionality as the NoPro ... plus a bit more.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 08-31-2019, 04:01 AM
bada55 bada55 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1016249
bada55 Reputation: 10
Default

Small update,

So I got 2 ML120s of a broken h100i platinum, and plugged it directly into the existing h100i platinum with Y splitters for power, and homemade Y splitters for RGB. Everything seems to work perfectly even at full power. I hesitate to add 1 more fan, but it will certainly be too much for a single SATA power supply.

In addition, what can be the signs of a poor power supply in this case? Will the leds be weak? Will the fans have trouble working?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 09-01-2019, 06:15 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,974
POST ID # = 1016370
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

Most likely you blow out the LEDs or a circuit controller on the Platinum. Current overload is not typically a gradual enter/exit state. Something goes pfffft and it’s over.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 09-01-2019, 07:29 AM
bada55 bada55 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1016375
bada55 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the info.

I made this modification temporarily, while waiting to get a copro.

I'll probably say something stupid, but how can an overload occur when the power supply remains limited to the sata port? The power supply at the beginning is not changed, I don't understand why, there wouldn't be a loss of brightness, or a low rotational speed, rather than directly something burning.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 09-01-2019, 09:01 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,974
POST ID # = 1016378
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

The PSU SATA cable is not the limit. All the fan and lighting power is going through the Platinum. It’s circuitry and cables are the limiting factor. It was designed for two fans, not as a multi port fan and lighting controller. That is the Commander Pro. Consensus is your can get away with this with ML-RGB fans that pull a lot less lighting and fan motor current than HD/LL fans. However, that is not something I would casually recommend. Make sure you know what you are connecting.

Incidentally, your PSU is likely to shut down or hard restart if you try to pull more power through the PSU SATA than is allowed. That is to protect the hardware.

Last edited by c-attack; 09-01-2019 at 10:03 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
h100i, ml120, rgb, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.