The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 03-17-2019, 11:15 AM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games™
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 294
POST ID # = 998038
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

I have several power supplies that have accumulated, my AX860i has not let me down yet
__________________

Cooler Master HAF 932 chassis with the Corsair HX1000i PSU

Hardcore Games™ - Legendary of the Only Way to Play™

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 04-03-2019, 08:51 PM
nam.uk's Avatar
nam.uk nam.uk is offline
Registered User
nam.uk's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
POST ID # = 1000170
nam.uk Reputation: 10
Default

had a random shutdown or boot loop and thought it was memory or cpu, it turned out tobe the AX860i, there obsolete now and got a HX1000i as a replacement not had an issue since, also whats odd same system is using less power and cooler,even the fans on the H115i pro run slower, and the AXI is classed as a better psu,makes you wonder.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 06-25-2019, 11:19 AM
siphex siphex is offline
Registered User
siphex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1009276
siphex Reputation: 10
Default

Had the AX750w in the main system for about 2 months without any problems.

I installed the AX1200i back to my main computer.

Now Im having this problem again.
Only today the computer has shut down 4 times with the red led on the AX1200i.
I had the ax1200i running in an old computer for a week 24/7 without any shut downs.

And as soon as I put it back in the main system it starts up again.

I replace my GTX1060 with an old GTX780 and it still did it shortly after again.

So Now I have the 9900k, Asus z390-F Gaming or the Corsair Dominator that should be the problem.

Could maybe be a harddrive. I have a Samsung 970 EVO and a 850 pro 500gb in the system. Dont know if they can overvolt and shut the PSU down.

Im getting pretty depressed and sad about this since I just bought new parts in November last year.

Maybe it can still be the PSU getting bad? even though it ran fine in the older system. Maybe when it needs to put more juice out for the new system something happens?

Sadface

Last edited by siphex; 06-25-2019 at 12:15 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 07-06-2019, 03:54 AM
siphex siphex is offline
Registered User
siphex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1010430
siphex Reputation: 10
Default

I've had the AX1200i connected in the old computer for another week.

And now it does it in the old computer as well.

Sometime it's 5+ times a day.
Sometime it's 1 time a day.
And sometime it can go 1-2 days without doing it. But then it does it again.

So im guessing its the PSU that is going bye bye.

Which is sad cause I just got a new one on warranty 1 year ago.

Sadface
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 07-08-2019, 04:15 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 197
POST ID # = 1010609
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Siphex, please start a support ticket at corsair.com/support. In the ticket, mention that you've been on the forums and performed many tests yourself and there's still no resolution.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 07-08-2019, 04:53 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,249
POST ID # = 1010613
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 116
Default

I'll mention this since I just went through the same evaluation, make sure you have not overloaded any of your accessory lines (SATA, Molex, PCI-E, etc). I had the same symptoms as you, did many of the same things, was convinced it was the PSU, put a new one in, and then... same problem. My mistake was overloading one of my SATA lines. I negligently forgot how much current 6xLL fans pull through the lighting controller and unintentionally put in on with another source that pulled from the same rail. The system was doing the hard restart to protect itself from me. There is no mention of any RGB lighting or anything else in your specs, but in a time where I can have 5.0A worth of lighting current alone in a build, this is an extra troubleshooting step some of us need to take. The red light suggests it may be something else, but obviously its better to avoid an unnecessary RMA.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 07-18-2019, 07:26 AM
siphex siphex is offline
Registered User
siphex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1011682
siphex Reputation: 10
Default

Are they having problems at Customer Service?

Made my ticket 12 days ago, been 8 workdays. No response.

Dont really mind the wait, But would be nice with an update saying that there is a long queue or something :)

Or is 2 weeks normal now since you are changing your system maybe.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 07-19-2019, 12:49 AM
Zone Zone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1011755
Zone Reputation: 10
Default

This problem is just the same as my AX860i which corsair are replacing. I would defiantly start a support ticket as your psu has the same problem.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 08-30-2019, 08:49 PM
UniQueLyEviL UniQueLyEviL is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1016227
UniQueLyEviL Reputation: 10
Default

Ax1200i Why is this model still being sold? A Google search shoes that it's had problems since like 2014. I'm on my second one and it's exhibiting the same symptoms as my first one almost exactly a year later...and probably would have sooner if I had time to use my computer more.

Shuts off at random, no heavybprograms loaded. Red light. Unplug and wait for however long. Sometimes it turns back on but it keeps happening at random. I'm so frustrated!!!!!!!! I asked if they have an updated model or if they can send me a different kind because I'm not going through this a 3rd time. And I'm fairly sure the first one may hav fried my motherboard. But I'm not sure, all I know is I'm afraid to turn my PC on. Sigh.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 01-07-2020, 04:59 AM
jengrlinla jengrlinla is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1030158
jengrlinla Reputation: 10
Default

Hey just so y'all know I was having exactly the same issues and I solved it by:

- connect PSU to USB
- installing iCUE
- create custom performance profile and apply it to the device
- proportionally raise custom curve for AX1200i Temp so that the lowest point (20deg) is about 54% fan speed instead of the default 40%
- in settings, enable OCP for all channels, make sure max amps are set to 40A for each

Thanks to all of the people who posted ideas on how to fix it and allowed me to compile a solution. Hope it works for you too, I was about to return this thing (I have a brand new unit)
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 01-07-2020, 05:02 AM
jengrlinla jengrlinla is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1030159
jengrlinla Reputation: 10
Default

I should note that when I link the AX1200i to its factory default profile, the fan effectively stops moving. With the new custom profile it seems that the fan is always moving which is what I want!

I think the suggestion that the fan stopping is causing some sort of overheating or something is probably it.

Godspeed.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 01-07-2020, 10:44 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,249
POST ID # = 1030194
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jengrlinla View Post
I should note that when I link the AX1200i to its factory default profile, the fan effectively stops moving. With the new custom profile it seems that the fan is always moving which is what I want!

I think the suggestion that the fan stopping is causing some sort of overheating or something is probably it.
No, this PSU like most every recent version has a zero-fan mode at low power and temperature levels. The thresholds are different for different models. It is a combination of PSU temp and/or watts in use. It's not suppose to run at lower levels, but it's fine if you choose to. I do as well for reasons not related to the PSU.

However, be aware the AX1200i has a bug where you will revert back to the default fan curve after putting the PC into S3 sleep and then waking it. iCUE may show you as being on your custom fan profile, but a quick physical check will show the fan not spinning. It has reverted to the default profile. There is nothing you can do in iCUE to resolve this. It requires a disconnect of the USB connection somewhere along the AX1200i path. I use sleep mode a lot and was not about to open up the case every time for this. I ran an internal 9 pin to USB connection to the rear I/O panel so I can quickly reset the PSU when needed. It will also self correct on restart. If you don't use sleep, then this will not occur.
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 01-13-2020, 02:17 AM
jengrlinla jengrlinla is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1031154
jengrlinla Reputation: 10
Default

I came here wondering what had caused my profile to reset, and you had already answered the question! Thank you! S3 sleep has been disabled.

It had turned out this time though that my PSU (or iCUE) was causing BSOD's in some fashion instead of doing the "turning off and won't turn back on" act.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 01-13-2020, 02:07 PM
jengrlinla jengrlinla is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1031202
jengrlinla Reputation: 10
Default

Not sure why but it's still losing its fan profile which in turn causes repeated & random BSOD's

I'm returning this hunk of junk and going with a different brand.

Last edited by jengrlinla; 01-13-2020 at 02:11 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 02-14-2020, 07:27 AM
sfdmark sfdmark is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1035007
sfdmark Reputation: 10
Default

Although I am reading tech forums regularly and especially if there is a hardware problem I encounter, I don't usually write my thoughts or experiences. However this time Corsair made me really angry.
To cut the long story sort, by December of 2019 I decided to build a new PC based on AMD ryzen 9 3950X with Asus Croshair formula VIII x570 32 GB Trident Z neo 3600 CL 16 kit, Corsair Obsidian 1000D case and custom made EK waterblocks solution for cooling. All the pieces were very carefully selected and I am really happy from the performance of the system which is way above my expectations regarding its performance, silence and appearance due to RGB
One problem I have it comes from the obsidian 1000D embedded Commander pro which is denying to work with the internal USB connector of my M/B properly From what I have learned there is some miss compatibility of the internal A GL525G chip which controls the internal USB connectors and the Commander pro. A workaround used to fix the problem by running an external USB cable inside the chassis. The internal usb header works perfectly well with anything else connected to it. Only commander pro has problem and although initially works at random times it drops the connection. I am pretty sure it some design flaw of the commander pro and not the motherboard itself.
Anyway, with that said system is fine as mentioned and then I though it would be good time to replace my aging Enermax 1000DXII psu. An amazingly good psu of 1000w power working night and day for more than 10 years without giving me slightest problem ever. For the sake of long term performance and aesthetics I decided to replace it and use it in my secondary PC build. And that is the point where all starting messing up.
After many hours of reading and digging reviews in order to find the proper psu replacement I found that all major (not to say 100%) reviewing sites recommended Corsair AX1200i. I was aware that this was good PSU since its release but I thought that 9 years have past and there might be something else good out there but not. Still the reference PSU is this one and anything else compared to it is inferior. So I 've ordered one and after 20 days I got it. Pretty happy with all except the PSU was shutting off my system randomly without real load on it. The problem was happening constantly : every time the system turned on, it was 100% sure that it will shut and no adjustment through Icue helped either. So I decided to pull it off my system and test it on the bench using the "paper clip" method since the self test worked fine. And yes the PSU did exactly the same, worked for few minutes and then red light appears and shuts off. As a result I returned the psu to the retailer and after 10 days of debate and arguments with them I 've got a refund since their replacement was the same model but with an opened seal and thus I dined it.
Yesterday afternoon I went to another retailer and got my hands on a brand new PSU again AX1200i sealed and all. Luckily enough for me, since it was late night, I decided to make the installation next morning but I opened the packaging and the psu was fine. So yes, I put it on the mains plug, connected to it, pressed and self test button and nothing, zero no light no fan speed not
a thing. Checked the plug and was fine.... recheck the psu and nothing.
So yes, here we are with 2x AX1200i "exceptionally and phenomenal" and reference model PSUs broken AND Dead On Arrival. Of course I red all the available comments of people using this model in the past and there is a lot 100% justified negativity, but I was like " is not going to happen to me..." . Looks like though the problem with these PSU and especially CORSAIR PSU dpt is so big that is almost certain that you will face it sooner or later.
It is pity cause I was aiming for this PSU for so long now as a result of the good reviews and all. It is pity because I was kind of "corsair funboy"... I like their products, fans and cases and K/Bs I am using them so to speak. However, something is really wrong with their products or their quality control methods.
I have had problems with the original non rgb K95 K/B with lights burning out really fast in 3 k/b replacements I 've got (4 in total) till I got the RGB model as a replacement which still works fine. However what happened to me with the PSU was beyond my imagination.
So guys I know people here come to whine after their purchase and not before, but if it is to buy a new PSU and to put it in a nice manner, think twice if it is Corsair especially the digital series (AXi).

Last edited by sfdmark; 02-14-2020 at 01:50 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.