The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Hydro X Custom Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2020, 09:57 PM
exuQ's Avatar
exuQ exuQ is offline
Godly
exuQ's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1029832
exuQ Reputation: 10
Default H100i Platinum SE Problem

Hey yall,
i just bought the Corsair Crystal 680X case and some fans.
uh yeah and the Hydro 100i Platinum SE.
Setup is White on White !

So i just noticed the Fans didnt came with any Y cables or something so i can actually put them all on my Motherboard.
Well thats not the problem. My problem is actually with the AIO Cooler!!

I just did everything 1 - 1 like in the guidebook.

SO the 3pin cable which has actually only 1 Cable in it, it says head it to the "CPU FAN" slot. Well okay but my Fans didnt spin faster if i put load on the system.

Can someone help me?

iCue says my Pump is on 2340RPM???? constant doesnt change at all.

My fans are around 900-1000ish doesnt matter what i do.

Im kinda lost.

Kind Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2020, 10:21 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,098
POST ID # = 1029836
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

You bought a software controlled cooler. You need to download the software.

iCUE 3.23 https://www.corsair.com/us/en/downloads

Within the application are all your lighting, cooler, and any other linked devices. This does require a USB 2 connection to the motherboard. X570 can be a bit picky.

Also, just FYI, Hydro X is the custom water cooling section. "Cooling" is where most of the AIO questions are addressed, although it really doesn't matter between iCUE vs cooling as often the issues overlap.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2020, 10:57 PM
exuQ's Avatar
exuQ exuQ is offline
Godly
exuQ's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1029837
exuQ Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for ur fast answer!

Yeah i already have the iCue Software.
And thats the point. I can change between Quiet, Balanced, Extreme or i can put the Fans from the Radiator on 100%.

So the System doesnt work like this sample:

No Load = Low RPM on Radiator Fans / Load/Full Load = High/Max RPM on Radiator Fans?

Shouldnt it be like that?

My old AIO did that on his own without me doin anything in a software.

And YES my x570 has 2 - USB 2 Ports.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2020, 12:14 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,098
POST ID # = 1029848
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by exuQ View Post
So the System doesnt work like this sample:

No Load = Low RPM on Radiator Fans / Load/Full Load = High/Max RPM on Radiator Fans?

Shouldnt it be like that?
.
No, that’s not how the cooling works. Heat created at the CPU pins as a result of voltage applied. That is conducted through the cpu, TIM, cold plate, and then into the cooling system. You can’t control any of that, except by altering voltage.

The cooling system takes the heat conducted into it and dumps it somewhere else. When you add more to the cooling system then it releases, coolant temp goes up. When it realess more heat than is put in, it goes down. Fan speed governs the rate of heat release (and to a much lesser extent pump speed). If the coolant temp doesn’t go up, then all the heat dumped in being released and you don’t need more fan speed. People are accustomed to the rapid rise and fall of cpu air coolers. Those type of coolers don’t really work like that either, but there is no way to reliably measure the heat capacity and it is drastically lower capacity than a water cooler. They need to dump all the heat as gas it can. Water coolers do not.

The general rule is +1C coolant temperature = +1C CPU temp. Small numbers. Don’t blast the fans to reduce coolant/cpu temp by 1C. It’s a bad trade. Voltage will always prevent you from running the clocks as high as you’d like. Nothing you can do about that. 10 x 360mm radiators in a loop won’t let you run 1.50v. It’s still too hot at the cpu. Getting rid of the heat is not the problem. It’s too hot at the origination point.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.