The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2019, 02:19 PM
chourmovs chourmovs is offline
Registered User
chourmovs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1027364
chourmovs Reputation: 10
Exclamation MP510 NVME RAID mode or AHCI: low speed

Hi
I'm new to this forum
I just bought a corsair SSD MP510 (FW 13 up to date) and my post install problem is sum-up by two following screenshots (in french sorry)





My config :Windows 10 64 up to date and see my signature, i5 9600hK, MSI Z390-A-PRO
All drivers up-to-date
I tried AHCI mode then reinstall in raid mode : no improvement, very similar performance equivalent to SATA3 :(

Please help
Attached Images
File Type: png as-ssd-bench NVMe Force MP510 13.12.2019 19-09-59.png (32.4 KB, 158 views)
File Type: png Capture.PNG (25.7 KB, 168 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-13-2019, 05:02 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 197
POST ID # = 1027375
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Is it a single drive? If you installed NVMe RAID drivers, you can try opening Device Manager, then expanding "Storage Controllers" and uninstalling the "RAID" driver if, and only if, you're certain it's the driver for that drive
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-13-2019, 05:25 PM
chourmovs chourmovs is offline
Registered User
chourmovs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1027378
chourmovs Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Kevin View Post
Is it a single drive?
yes it is

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Kevin View Post
If you installed NVMe RAID drivers, you can try opening Device Manager, then expanding "Storage Controllers" and uninstalling the "RAID" driver if, and only if, you're certain it's the driver for that drive
Not sure to understand what are raid drivers

I did the test on a fresh install of windows 1909 with pre installed whql drivers : 800mb/s max
after updating intel platform management and intel RST to the latest : still 800 mb/s max





And as a reminder, with bios in AHCI mode, i get the same
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture 2.PNG (12.0 KB, 148 views)
File Type: png Capture 3.PNG (6.8 KB, 143 views)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-15-2019, 11:04 AM
Yemble Yemble is offline
Registered User
Yemble's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)
Posts: 106
POST ID # = 1027585
Yemble Reputation: 11
Default

RAID makes sense for spinning disks, where the performance gains are measurable, however, I'm not convinced about using RAID with SSDs, certainly in PCs.

I have two MP510 860Gb drives and I have had them running in both RAID and AHCI modes on my PC. RAID was a PITA to set up on my Aorus Master mobo as it involves several BIOS tweaks. Performance wise, the RAID setup was slightly faster on writes than ACHI, but not so significantly as to justify the risks associated with running RAID. AHCI is a far simpler operating mode with less risks attached and far less hassle to set up. RAID requires specific drivers which are not typically integrated into the OS (eg. Windows 10). In an Intel based system, these are usually the Intel RST drivers, which must be available to the OS before enabling RAID mode in the BIOS. AHCI drivers are native to Windows 10, so everything should just work out of the box.

IMHO, unless you need the combined space of two SSD drives in a single volume, I would stick with AHCI as the overall performance is pretty similar to RAID, but the hassle and risks are far less.

Last edited by Yemble; 12-15-2019 at 11:11 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-15-2019, 01:02 PM
chourmovs chourmovs is offline
Registered User
chourmovs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1027599
chourmovs Reputation: 10
Confused

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yemble View Post
RAID makes sense for spinning disks, where the performance gains are measurable, however, I'm not convinced about using RAID with SSDs, certainly in PCs.
....

IMHO, unless you need the combined space of two SSD drives in a single volume, I would stick with AHCI as the overall performance is pretty similar to RAID, but the hassle and risks are far less.
Very interesting but unfortunately slightly off topic

My today's concern is how a recent SSD given for 3000MB/s when plugged on a m.2 PCIE 4x slot of a recent gaming motherboard can be limited to a little 800MB/s, whatever the configuration is , i.e. AHCI or RAID, default drivers or up-to-date ones

To make progress on investigation, it's noticeable that 800MB/s is the faster you can wait of a sata 3 slot, maybe it can serve the mental construction.

To be honest, I thought i faced a very common issue but I now realize it's maybe not the case

PS : I've tried also with PCIE/SATA motherboard power connector plugged or unplugged, it didn't make any difference but it worked in both case
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-16-2019, 08:33 AM
Yemble Yemble is offline
Registered User
Yemble's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)
Posts: 106
POST ID # = 1027688
Yemble Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chourmovs View Post
Very interesting but unfortunately slightly off topic

My today's concern is how a recent SSD given for 3000MB/s when plugged on a m.2 PCIE 4x slot of a recent gaming motherboard can be limited to a little 800MB/s, whatever the configuration is , i.e. AHCI or RAID, default drivers or up-to-date ones

To make progress on investigation, it's noticeable that 800MB/s is the faster you can wait of a sata 3 slot, maybe it can serve the mental construction.

To be honest, I thought i faced a very common issue but I now realize it's maybe not the case

PS : I've tried also with PCIE/SATA motherboard power connector plugged or unplugged, it didn't make any difference but it worked in both case
Hmmm... My MP510 860Gb performs as shown in my Aorus Z390 Master mobo. Two obvious differences, first the NVMe drive size, second the storage driver being used...

What other storage devices have you got plugged into your mobo? Perhaps you have a bus conflict?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MP510.jpg (106.8 KB, 28 views)

Last edited by Yemble; 12-16-2019 at 08:37 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.