The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software > Motherboard Integration

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-29-2020, 11:08 AM
ksj4477 ksj4477 is offline
Registered User
ksj4477's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 1036390
ksj4477 Reputation: 10
Default How to get rid of iCUE motherboard integration?

The last iCue Update it integrated my motherboard without me wanting iCUE to do it. I didn't want to integrate the motherboard because I have an Asus graphics card and I'd rather just control the MB and graphics card in Aura until I can control everything in iCue someday. After the last update I can't control the graphics card light in Aura and it blinks orange. This is annoying. How do I get rid of the MB integration in iCue and hopefully be able to control graphics card light again?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-29-2020, 11:13 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,680
POST ID # = 1036391
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

There are two ways.
1) Disable plugins. This may prevent other stuff from working tho.
2) Delete the Asus plugin folder under C:\Program Files (x86)\Corsair\CORSAIR iCUE Software\plugins. The downside here is that you'll need to do this with every update.

Either will work. Neither is perfect. What we need is the ability to disable specific plugins.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2020, 10:55 AM
ksj4477 ksj4477 is offline
Registered User
ksj4477's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 1036450
ksj4477 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks Dev,

I didn't do anything to the software and started my computer this morning, it seemed like Aura was controlling the MB and the graphics card but my Vengeance RGB ram's lighting was frozen. I tried restarting iCUE which didn't help, so I restarted my computer and now everything works as it was supposed to meaning iCUE is controlling everything except the graphics card which is being controlled by Aura. I'd be happy with it if it stayed this way and not randomly do weird things. At some point i'll want different colors and i'll have to open Aura to change the graphics card light and I fear it will go haywire again.

I have an older motherboard Maximus Hero IX Z270 so maybe that's an issue too? I didn't iCUE was supposed to run a MB that old?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2020, 11:51 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,680
POST ID # = 1036455
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

AFAIK, it won't control the Z270 series boards but I don't have one installed at the moment to confirm this. So yeah, that's odd.
Did you disable plugins and/or delete the Asus folder?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2020, 11:38 PM
Qqu Qqu is offline
Registered User
Qqu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1036522
Qqu Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
There are two ways.
1) Disable plugins. This may prevent other stuff from working tho.
2) Delete the Asus plugin folder under C:\Program Files (x86)\Corsair\CORSAIR iCUE Software\plugins. The downside here is that you'll need to do this with every update.

Either will work. Neither is perfect. What we need is the ability to disable specific plugins.
I have an Asus x570 CH8 and Vengeance PRO RGB memory in which I installed a plug-in to allow Aura Sync to control the memory lighting. As I have aRGB fans and led strips on the motherboard headers, I do not want iCue controlling lighting on this particular system but this update completely borked it all.

Will deleting this folder prevent Aura Sync from controlling the memory now? Seems short sighted not to include a way to prevent iCue from taking over the system.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-02-2020, 07:31 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,510
POST ID # = 1036611
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ksj4477 View Post
The last iCue Update it integrated my motherboard without me wanting iCUE to do it. I didn't want to integrate the motherboard because I have an Asus graphics card and I'd rather just control the MB and graphics card in Aura until I can control everything in iCue someday. After the last update I can't control the graphics card light in Aura and it blinks orange. This is annoying. How do I get rid of the MB integration in iCue and hopefully be able to control graphics card light again?

Thanks
As Devbiker mentioned, go to settings and uncheck the box "Enable plugins." This will disable the ASUS plugin from loading in iCUE. The only other plugin available is for Lenovo so this should not concern you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qqu View Post
I have an Asus x570 CH8 and Vengeance PRO RGB memory in which I installed a plug-in to allow Aura Sync to control the memory lighting. As I have aRGB fans and led strips on the motherboard headers, I do not want iCue controlling lighting on this particular system but this update completely borked it all.

Will deleting this folder prevent Aura Sync from controlling the memory now? Seems short sighted not to include a way to prevent iCue from taking over the system.
You think it is short sighted that iCUE by Corsair shouldn't control Corsair products natively?
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-02-2020, 08:36 PM
ksj4477 ksj4477 is offline
Registered User
ksj4477's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 1036616
ksj4477 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
AFAIK, it won't control the Z270 series boards but I don't have one installed at the moment to confirm this. So yeah, that's odd.
Did you disable plugins and/or delete the Asus folder?
The Z270 board is being controlled in iCUE and seems to be fully controllable at the moment. I didn't tell iCUE to control it or do anything special, after the last iCUE update it showed up in iCUE.

It seems like everything is working right so I am going to leave the plugin enabled for now. If it gets weird again I'll disable it. I really hope Corsair is planning on integrating ASUS graphics cards because it would be awesome to control everything through iCUE.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.