The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Hydro X Custom Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2020, 12:54 PM
dsbello dsbello is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1035811
dsbello Reputation: 10
Default XG7 GPU Water Block Design Flaw

Issue:
If the tubing is applying a bit too much force on the manifold (where the ports are at) a leak might develop. Other GPU blocks in the market use 3 screws to hold the manifold whereas the XG7 uses only 2.

Workarounds:
*Try to tighten the screws, they may still be loose.
*Limit unnecessary weight on ports

Reddit Thread:
https://www.reddit.com/r/watercoolin..._x_gpu_blocks/

Youtube Video:
Leak can be seen here:
Code:
https://youtu.be/WNQpa2rAbzU?t=210
Youtube Video (LinusTechTips had the same leak):
Code:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wQMCvQ01e80&feature=youtu.be&t=704
Linus tightened the screws
Code:
https://youtu.be/wQMCvQ01e80?t=842

Last edited by dsbello; 02-23-2020 at 01:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2020, 11:03 AM
Cruxiaer Cruxiaer is offline
Registered User
Cruxiaer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 42
POST ID # = 1035898
Cruxiaer Reputation: 10
Default

Was gonna post this too. Hopefully Corsair can do a silent fix on this and I will finally Hydro X my rig.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2020, 02:34 PM
polypusher polypusher is offline
Registered User
polypusher's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1035917
polypusher Reputation: 10
Default

My Watercool gpu blocks only have 2 screws and they don't leak. I would really check for a damaged O ring first possibly a sharp edge etc. Just because it has only 2 screws does not mean that it will leak.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2020, 03:10 AM
BlaiseP's Avatar
BlaiseP BlaiseP is offline
Registered User
BlaiseP's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 289
POST ID # = 1035980
BlaiseP Reputation: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by polypusher View Post
My Watercool gpu blocks only have 2 screws and they don't leak. I would really check for a damaged O ring first possibly a sharp edge etc. Just because it has only 2 screws does not mean that it will leak.
The leak is occurring at middle of the manifold midway between the two inlets/outlets t the top of the block proper so I doubt the O-rings play a part. I saw a video of this the other day and I believe the problem comes from tubes pulling downward when the card/block is traditionally mounted in a case. Vertical mounting (or mounting in a test bench) doesn't seem to invite the problem described in the video.

Additionally, if you over-tighten the 2 screws, you end up bowing the manifold in the middle and thus greatly increase the risk of a leak. I use EK blocks and they have 3 screws holding down the manifold which is the case for a number of other manufacturers.

Last edited by BlaiseP; 02-25-2020 at 03:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-27-2020, 06:32 AM
skyteam78 skyteam78 is offline
Registered User
skyteam78's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 68
POST ID # = 1036178
skyteam78 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by polypusher View Post
My Watercool gpu blocks only have 2 screws and they don't leak. I would really check for a damaged O ring first possibly a sharp edge etc. Just because it has only 2 screws does not mean that it will leak.
Same here. no issues
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2020, 12:27 PM
QuaZar-Kid's Avatar
QuaZar-Kid QuaZar-Kid is offline
Registered User
QuaZar-Kid's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Seattle Based
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 1036299
QuaZar-Kid Reputation: 10
Default

This whole thread seems a little "click bait" ish....
More accurately than "XG7 GPU LEAKS..!!!"
I think you could say " XG7 GPU can be broken if installed wrong"

I wouldn't say its delicate but it can be broken pretty easily
all that said - it doesn't leak when installed properly and in working order

Last edited by QuaZar-Kid; 02-28-2020 at 12:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-28-2020, 04:55 PM
acemaninwa871 acemaninwa871 is offline
Registered User
acemaninwa871's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Lynnwood, Wa
Posts: 90
POST ID # = 1036327
acemaninwa871 Reputation: 10
Default

I think I might tend to agree here. I now a guy using soft tubing and he has not had a single problem with this. So I agree, installing it wrong will cause a leak. More fear mongering as far as I am concerned. Heck the guy in the video might be paid buy EK to try and discredit Corsair. I think this is probably an extreme thought, but ya never know in todays world. But most certainly installing it wrong is going to break it. That's just kind of a duhh thing.


Quote:
Originally Posted by QuaZar-Kid View Post
This whole thread seems a little "click bait" ish....
More accurately than "XG7 GPU LEAKS..!!!"
I think you could say " XG7 GPU can be broken if installed wrong"

I wouldn't say its delicate but it can be broken pretty easily
all that said - it doesn't leak when installed properly and in working order
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-2020, 07:26 PM
alphamachina alphamachina is offline
Registered User
alphamachina's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1039645
alphamachina Reputation: 10
Default

But the guy in the video is using soft tubing.. Doesn't look like it's installed incorrectly to me. If it's so delicate that putting the typical amount of tension on it that is inherent in running hard tubing that it causes it to leak, then it's definitely a design flaw. The Corsair stuff has decent materials being used, but not where it counts.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-22-2020, 02:23 AM
jchambers2586 jchambers2586 is offline
Registered User
jchambers2586's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 1047347
jchambers2586 Reputation: 7
Default GPU water blocks leaking

GPU water blocks leaking


Last edited by Technobeard; 05-22-2020 at 06:17 AM. Reason: removed duplicate video - already in OP
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-22-2020, 02:47 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,691
POST ID # = 1047348
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Fake News... watch him Flexing it from 3.30 on wards. he wanted it to leak.. he made it leak.. EK is his God now!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-22-2020, 07:42 AM
Infin1tum Infin1tum is offline
Registered User
Infin1tum's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 1047364
Infin1tum Reputation: 10
Default

Regardless whether it's forced or not, it looks like a weakpoint nevertheless. And since reports have been coming in from different people before that video as it seems in this thread, it should definately be a concern. Corsair equals quality and imho that means if there's a potential flaw then they should at least look into it and not shrug it off as "dude is shilling EK".

just my 2 cents
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-22-2020, 08:17 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,691
POST ID # = 1047371
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infin1tum View Post
looks
that's all most have will have done is look at that video and decided... its instantly created sales for EK.

i have several of these blocks my self.. and indeed have witnessed a lot of people fit them through Discord/Here/Reddit/Facebook.. gotta be honest. not seen a single one leak.

Bottom line.

Force anything with a seal enough and it will leak.

shame y'all are feeding that channel with views now...

here's a theory

his original leak was caused by him flexing it while fitting the 3d printed tube supports he has around his soft tubing. i am calling user error all the way.. and he knows it. hence he fails so miserably at hiding how hard he is forcing that block as he unboxes it.. my thumb doesnt bend that far!. and then when it doesnt leak he picks it up while running and flexes it again.. clearly.. in front of your eyes lol. if you can't see that you must be blind.

and this whole thread is scripted by said youtuber.. Pawns in his game of views we are

Last edited by Zotty; 05-22-2020 at 08:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-22-2020, 12:32 PM
brandonb21 brandonb21 is offline
Registered User
brandonb21's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 1047398
brandonb21 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
that's all most have will have done is look at that video and decided... its instantly created sales for EK.

i have several of these blocks my self.. and indeed have witnessed a lot of people fit them through Discord/Here/Reddit/Facebook.. gotta be honest. not seen a single one leak.

Bottom line.

Force anything with a seal enough and it will leak.

shame y'all are feeding that channel with views now...

here's a theory

his original leak was caused by him flexing it while fitting the 3d printed tube supports he has around his soft tubing. i am calling user error all the way.. and he knows it. hence he fails so miserably at hiding how hard he is forcing that block as he unboxes it.. my thumb doesnt bend that far!. and then when it doesnt leak he picks it up while running and flexes it again.. clearly.. in front of your eyes lol. if you can't see that you must be blind.

and this whole thread is scripted by said youtuber.. Pawns in his game of views we are
you sound very cranky and there is real no reason for it. Hes showing a design flaw so it can be fixed in the future.

JayZTwoCents just posted a video regarding this today:

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-22-2020, 01:29 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,207
POST ID # = 1047408
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandonb21 View Post
Hes showing a design flaw so it can be fixed in the future.

JayZTwoCents just posted a video regarding this today:
No, that is absolutely not what the first guy is doing. Jay's approach is more thorough, has some basic scientific merit to it, and his intent is clear.

You can have separate conversation as to whether the phrase "design flaw" means "something is breakable", "not idiot-proof", or "happens with normal use". Thus far the only people seeing this have done it deliberately and those most concerned don't seem to actually have the product in question.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-22-2020, 02:13 PM
LeDoyen LeDoyen is offline
Registered User
LeDoyen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 71
POST ID # = 1047413
LeDoyen Reputation: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
No, that is absolutely not what the first guy is doing. Jay's approach is more thorough, has some basic scientific merit to it, and his intent is clear.

You can have separate conversation as to whether the phrase "design flaw" means "something is breakable", "not idiot-proof", or "happens with normal use". Thus far the only people seeing this have done it deliberately and those most concerned don't seem to actually have the product in question.
Major Hardware actually started the whole leak investigation because he found his XG7 leaking in his rig.. just sitting there.

It's true for 99.9% of people it will work okay, but nonetheless it's a slightly flimsy design, just because the manifold is not stiff enough to work perfectly with just two screws.
Because it's molded, they can't make it thick because of deformations when the plastic cools (the constant thickness rule), so it would require 3 screws to deal with the inherent flex of a thin plastic piece.

They did not point at a scandal or a monstruous hidden flaw.. it's a weak point of this block, and unless people point at it, it won't be resolved.
In the PC enthusiast world, "Good enough" is not enough :) at least not at this price point. I would be very reluctant about installing a potentially leaky block on a 1200$ card. It has to be sturdy, and work, no matter what.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.