The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Customer Service > Warranty and RMA Questions

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2014, 12:45 PM
Pling Pling is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 697941
Pling Reputation: 10
Default RMA Enquiry From the UK

Hi, New to the forums and would just like to know i have some corsair Corsair Vengeance 2 x 4 GB 8GB Total 1600MHz Ram which is over a year old. I am getting faults with them causing the computer to crash. The question i would like to know is i no longer have the receipt as the company i bought them from (Comet). Closing down so unable to recover an invoice i am wondering will this be a problem in trying to get these repaired or should i just start looking to buy some replacement ram now.
  #2  
Old 02-18-2014, 02:44 PM
NTCosa NTCosa is offline
Registered User
NTCosa's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 99
POST ID # = 697964
NTCosa Reputation: 17
Default

Did you purchase online? If so, does your e-mail have any sort of confirmation? Or was Comet a store front you went into?

You should always keep receipts in a safe place for anything that is under warranty. I have had Corsair ask me for the receipts or invoice before, and I have also had them not ask for them and just process the RMA regardless.

Did you run Memtest and did the RAM fail within the test?

Are you sure they are running at correct speeds? A lot of motherboards will run RAM at 1333MHz even though it's rated for 1600MHz. Have you tried changing settings in BIOS to run RAM at appropriate speeds?

Good luck to you.
  #3  
Old 02-18-2014, 03:31 PM
Pling Pling is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 697967
Pling Reputation: 10
Default

I have tried running at different speeds tried changing it to a spare motherboard from another machine what is happening is some sort of short, where at random intervals the blue screen of death comes up and the error code keeps telling me that their was a failure in primary memory, looking that up it shows that is slow 1 and 2 on my mother board with secondary memory being slots 3 and 4. I haven't run Memtest as didn't know that was a diagnostic test, thought it was more of a over clocking test. I bought it in store but because they printed on cheap thermal paper rather than a proper inkjet paper the receipt has completely faded away, the only thing that makes me think it is that receipt is the date and the large price i paid.
  #4  
Old 02-18-2014, 03:35 PM
NTCosa NTCosa is offline
Registered User
NTCosa's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 99
POST ID # = 697968
NTCosa Reputation: 17
Default

Ok.. I see.. if it failed with a second motherboard it's most likely going to be the RAM. Hopefully Corsair will honor the warranty without receipt. Again good luck to you Pling.
  #5  
Old 02-18-2014, 03:42 PM
Pling Pling is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 697969
Pling Reputation: 10
Default

The only other thing it could be is that the second motherboard was also tested within a work environment and i believe that the motherboard is set to an over clock spec unfortunately due to nature of my work i can't really take this machine off line to reset for me my livelihood is all online the only thing i can think of is maybe testing on a store bought computer but might take a while. Can anyone provide me with any information on why the memory would fail randomly sometime it works for a period of time and then fail and sometimes not at all. Could it be a software issue contributing to this ?
  #6  
Old 02-18-2014, 04:28 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 697973
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

I definitely suggest Memtest.
  #7  
Old 02-18-2014, 05:28 PM
Pling Pling is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 697985
Pling Reputation: 10
Default

But what are the odds that if the ram are the problem that i can get them replaced despite the fact that i don't have the receipt anymore. Would i have better luck at buying new ones?
  #8  
Old 02-18-2014, 05:35 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 697986
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Only a customer service person can make that decision. Once you file a support ticket using the link, they will tell you the options and requirements.

Again, if you have not tested with Memtest, I suggest you try it first.
  #9  
Old 02-18-2014, 05:37 PM
Pling Pling is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 697987
Pling Reputation: 10
Default

k thanks will do that as soon as i can, anyone know where the closest corsair facility that handles replacements and repairs is i don't really want to wait and pay the price of sending it to america anyone know if their is a european facility or sub contractor?
  #10  
Old 02-18-2014, 05:45 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 697991
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pling View Post
k thanks will do that as soon as i can, anyone know where the closest corsair facility that handles replacements and repairs is i don't really want to wait and pay the price of sending it to america anyone know if their is a european facility or sub contractor?
Again, PLEASE address your RMA questions in a support ticket. Only CSG can give you the appropriate answers for these types of questions. It is all processed and handled thru the support ticket system.
Closed Thread

Tags
no receipt, ram, uk, warranty

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.