The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #91  
Old 11-28-2013, 07:06 AM
shuffl2me shuffl2me is offline
Registered User
shuffl2me's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 37
POST ID # = 684821
shuffl2me Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
It sounds like the service is not running.

Go to the options tab and see if the service is running.
If it's not, try start it and see if it helps.
thanks Toasted, your help is much appreciated.

the service was already running, tried restarting it but nothing changes.

also tried resetting the firmware on my H100 as you suggested but no change from that either :(


  #92  
Old 11-28-2013, 11:22 AM
Scotty_Two Scotty_Two is offline
Registered User
Scotty_Two's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 684849
Scotty_Two Reputation: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shuffl2me View Post
the problem seems to be with the link software, it shows the fans and pump in the software just at 0RPM and my temp probes show 0c in the software's main window. the fans appear to be working fine, i can hear them spinning and my CPU temp is around 22c.
This sounds like the exact problem with 8.1. To help me out, if you go to the Options tab, delete any saved profiles and click the "Reset to Default" button. Now go back to the System tab and tell me what's there. If it's the standard 8.1 problem, then there will be no Corsair products there at all. But if they're still there and still reading zeros, then there might be a bigger problem.


  #93  
Old 11-28-2013, 11:53 AM
shuffl2me shuffl2me is offline
Registered User
shuffl2me's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 37
POST ID # = 684857
shuffl2me Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scotty_Two View Post
This sounds like the exact problem with 8.1. To help me out, if you go to the Options tab, delete any saved profiles and click the "Reset to Default" button. Now go back to the System tab and tell me what's there. If it's the standard 8.1 problem, then there will be no Corsair products there at all. But if they're still there and still reading zeros, then there might be a bigger problem.
nope no devices shown, and now the fans and pump do not show up at all

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scotty_Two View Post
If it's the standard 8.1 problem, then there will be no Corsair products there at all.
this is what i suspected it to be so i tried the above mentions workaround but with no luck.

Last edited by shuffl2me; 11-28-2013 at 12:42 PM.


  #94  
Old 11-28-2013, 01:36 PM
Scotty_Two Scotty_Two is offline
Registered User
Scotty_Two's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 684866
Scotty_Two Reputation: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shuffl2me View Post
nope no devices shown, and now the fans and pump do not show up at all

this is what i suspected it to be so i tried the above mentions workaround but with no luck.
Have you tried the old method listed in the OP? Try the manual workaround before jumping into the automated method to see if it will get your stuff to show up. Also, an easy test for the manual way is to open up your case while the system is still booted up, physically unplug the Corsair stuff from the USB header(s), restart your system, and then plug everything back in. Everything should show up then.


  #95  
Old 11-28-2013, 08:25 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 684927
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scotty_Two View Post
Have you tried the old method listed in the OP? Try the manual workaround before jumping into the automated method to see if it will get your stuff to show up. Also, an easy test for the manual way is to open up your case while the system is still booted up, physically unplug the Corsair stuff from the USB header(s), restart your system, and then plug everything back in. Everything should show up then.
honestly unplugging hot components is the worse thing to do.
i highly suggest against doing this
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1


  #96  
Old 12-02-2013, 06:01 PM
shuffl2me shuffl2me is offline
Registered User
shuffl2me's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 37
POST ID # = 685449
shuffl2me Reputation: 15
Default

yet another week gone by with absolutely nothing to show from Corsair, GJ guys GJ.

can i claim a refund if they don't release this software before Christmas?

utterly takes the piss


  #97  
Old 12-03-2013, 10:44 AM
vexed vexed is offline
Registered User
vexed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 114
POST ID # = 685555
vexed Reputation: 20
Default

An update would be nice on how the software is going, i would post in the other 8.1 thread but it has been locked and no other official place for updates has been created.

I do hope this will not be an issue when 8.2 is released


  #98  
Old 12-03-2013, 07:26 PM
ghostmedic171 ghostmedic171 is offline
Registered User
ghostmedic171's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 685645
ghostmedic171 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vexed View Post
An update would be nice on how the software is going, i would post in the other 8.1 thread but it has been locked and no other official place for updates has been created.

I do hope this will not be an issue when 8.2 is released
Normally? I'd just join the chorus of people urging patience and understanding.

But I agree %100 - The clock just keeps ticking without a word on progress.

I understand this stuff happens, and that Corsair isn't exactly alone regarding issues with 8.1 - but communication counts - most of us have been quite patient. Not like we're waiting for you to patch an EA title.

You're well within your right to disagree, but imho - if you don't have an update? It's still better to hear that, rather than hear nothing at all.


And if they have updated their progress, well then I apologize - but to me, if it's not relatively easy for an average customer to find, then it may as well not exist.

Keep up the hard work - hopefully we can see something sooner than later!

Last edited by ghostmedic171; 12-03-2013 at 07:30 PM.


  #99  
Old 12-04-2013, 04:42 AM
Sottti's Avatar
Sottti Sottti is offline
Gamer
Sottti's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 685727
Sottti Reputation: 10
Happy

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostmedic171 View Post
Normally? I'd just join the chorus of people urging patience and understanding.

But I agree %100 - The clock just keeps ticking without a word on progress.

I understand this stuff happens, and that Corsair isn't exactly alone regarding issues with 8.1 - but communication counts - most of us have been quite patient. Not like we're waiting for you to patch an EA title.

You're well within your right to disagree, but imho - if you don't have an update? It's still better to hear that, rather than hear nothing at all.


And if they have updated their progress, well then I apologize - but to me, if it's not relatively easy for an average customer to find, then it may as well not exist.

Keep up the hard work - hopefully we can see something sooner than later!
Wait is what left us...

I bought a brand new rig based on 4770k on july. The 4770k was not supported for serveral weeks, and when it was suppported windows 8.1 just came out.

I spent a lot of money in corsair link (3 lightning nodes and 5 cooling nodes) ALL of them with corsair fans, and since July it doesn't work a week in a row...

Windows 8.2 is coming


  #100  
Old 12-04-2013, 09:48 AM
vexed vexed is offline
Registered User
vexed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 114
POST ID # = 685762
vexed Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostmedic171 View Post
Normally? I'd just join the chorus of people urging patience and understanding.

But I agree %100 - The clock just keeps ticking without a word on progress.

I understand this stuff happens, and that Corsair isn't exactly alone regarding issues with 8.1 - but communication counts - most of us have been quite patient. Not like we're waiting for you to patch an EA title.

You're well within your right to disagree, but imho - if you don't have an update? It's still better to hear that, rather than hear nothing at all.


And if they have updated their progress, well then I apologize - but to me, if it's not relatively easy for an average customer to find, then it may as well not exist.

Keep up the hard work - hopefully we can see something sooner than later!


I think majority of people have so far been very patient in waiting for updates / software. I could solve the issue by fiddling with my registry but a voice says "why should i". I am not comfortable in editing the registry not because i can't more i cant be bothered with the hassle if for some reason it went wrong and its not my job to fix a product i baught.

Atm i'd settle with a official place where updates are posted since the last one got locked & and a rough time frame where i can expect this software to be released. Since upgrading to 8.1 every time i've got paranoid that whenever i turn on my pc i half expect it to shoot flames out the back because something to do with link has broken something .

I will say this however, when 8.2 is released i will not be holding off getting the update on the pure basis of "oh i best wait incase link doesn't work" its not worked so far since 8.1 was released and its not been an issue *fingers crossed*


  #101  
Old 12-04-2013, 02:01 PM
txfeinbergs txfeinbergs is offline
Registered User
txfeinbergs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 685792
txfeinbergs Reputation: 8
Default

We were given a rough timeframe of 4 to 6 weeks for the software to be released. We are beyond that now. At the least, an update should be made to all of their customers as it would be the morally right thing to do. Corsair has really let me down on this product (so much so that I will not be buying anymore of their cooling solutions ever again). There is too much competition in this industry for them to take a complacent attitude.


  #102  
Old 12-05-2013, 02:10 PM
shuffl2me shuffl2me is offline
Registered User
shuffl2me's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 37
POST ID # = 685985
shuffl2me Reputation: 15
Default

so after waiting 3 days now for my support ticket to be answered, asking for a rough estimate of when the software firmware needed will be available. i still had no answer, so i tried their live chat service to try and get an answer for anywhere possible, this was the thoroughly unhelpful answer i got:



so back to square one with no answers from anywhere you can ask. GJ Corsair GJ.


  #103  
Old 12-05-2013, 06:40 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 686035
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

corsair doesnt/cant give an exact time on releases as testing is impossible to set a time frame on,,while this is understandable i know it doesnt help those that need it...
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1


  #104  
Old 12-06-2013, 12:31 AM
txfeinbergs txfeinbergs is offline
Registered User
txfeinbergs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 686103
txfeinbergs Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wytnyt View Post
corsair doesnt/cant give an exact time on releases as testing is impossible to set a time frame on,,while this is understandable i know it doesnt help those that need it...
Testing is "impossible to set a time frame on". I have 20 years in the software verification field in cellular switch hardware which I guarantee you is a exponential increase in complexity over Corsair Link SW and if I told my boss that I couldn't give him a schedule because "testing is impossible to set a time frame on" I would be fired.


  #105  
Old 12-06-2013, 12:35 AM
txfeinbergs txfeinbergs is offline
Registered User
txfeinbergs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 686104
txfeinbergs Reputation: 8
Default

And I have to add another point to that. Our two largest customers, Sprint and Verizon, would have no problem telling us what they thought of us if we gave them that answer. That is the reason I am not cutting Corsair any slack at all on this. As a professional SW project manager, this is completely ridiculous and someone's head should roll at Corsair for this level of incompetence.


Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.