The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 42 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #121  
Old 03-16-2013, 09:33 PM
batcrave's Avatar
batcrave batcrave is offline
Registered User
batcrave's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: N.E. Nowhere
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 640754
batcrave Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tyrannosaurus View Post
Thank you, batcrave. So we're in the same boat, as my only Corsair Hardware is AX1200i as well. My H80 is disconnected, as the fans ran wild.
Maybe it's just a random error with no further consequences.
I'm really hoping this is the case... There are quite enough issues to deal with already, without another one sneaking around.

In any case, I'm fairly sure the 'unable to write/verify register x' messages are all coming from Corsair's core code (rather than the new Open Hardware Monitor routines), as I'd caught them on 2.2.0 as well. So at least there's a decent chance that it originates in something one of Corsair's coders wrote, rather than something carried over from another lib, where they'd have to wait for outside help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tyrannosaurus View Post
If the error is restricted to AX1200i-owners we've to be patient as this product seems to be not in the focus of Corsairs support.
I love if everything is running fine and my rig is free for gaming. This stuff makes no fun, but that for I've built my system. :sigh!:
I'm with you on that. I've had nothing but headaches with this latest build - the Corsair software is just the latest in a string of problems stretching back to New Year's, so I'm definitely ready for everything to finally work. As for where Corsair's focus is, I think I'm going to have to refrain from comment and just hope for the best... or find the time to sit down and rip apart the software, in search of some way to work around it. Any chance anyone else has spent much time poking at the guts?


-Bats
Reply With Quote


  #122  
Old 03-20-2013, 03:15 AM
DevilSun DevilSun is offline
Registered User
DevilSun's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 641561
DevilSun Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeye1 View Post
Since I've removed Link from my system, the voltage fluctuations have stopped.
My new machine at work, running Windows 8 x64 has had these ASUS voltage fluctuations from DAY ONE and have never had Corsair Link installed on that system, as it's not running Corsair cooling product. The AI suite temperature and voltage fluctuates and reads incorrectly all day, even reporting sub-zero temperatures and zero voltage at times.
Reply With Quote


  #123  
Old 03-20-2013, 05:09 AM
Hawkeye1 Hawkeye1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 641575
Hawkeye1 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevilSun View Post
My new machine at work, running Windows 8 x64 has had these ASUS voltage fluctuations from DAY ONE and have never had Corsair Link installed on that system, as it's not running Corsair cooling product. The AI suite temperature and voltage fluctuates and reads incorrectly all day, even reporting sub-zero temperatures and zero voltage at times.
That may be a windows 8 issue. If you check my specs, I am (as many others who seem to have this issue) running windows 7 64-bit. Before Link, I had maybe one or two Vcore fluctuations over a 12-month period since I built the PC. I chalk that up to either issues with my Corsair power supply or possibly because I have my 3930K overclocked. Asus AI suite has also been updated a number of times since my PC was built and there's been no issues update to update.

Once Link 2.3 was installed, I would get an alert for voltage drops on the 3.3, 5, and 12 rails and Vcore fluctuations as well as errant temperature readings that were literally impossible unless I was a mad scientist (-61C, 100C, etc from board and CPU). I also checked Speccy when AI suite told me that the board was at 100C; Speccy also said it was at 100C, so it's not an issue with AI Suite, Link is f-ing with the sensors. Ever since I uninstalled Link (I gave it about 3 days), ALL voltage and temp issues have ceased and my fans no longer buzz (mainly my Corsair AF120s). My H100 fans (SP120s) no longer run max all the time and the H100 seems to be keeping the CPU cooler as the temps have dropped a few degrees Celsius at idle.

These weren't issues with 2.2 for me and weren't issues before Corsair Link. I've never had an issue with the Asus AI suite; I've had non-stop issues with Link. If it's not one thing, it's another. I'm done with Link and I'm done with Corsair. Between the Link software (be honest, this is a beta at best), cracking issues of my V2000 and the vaporware 1.8 drivers, and the V1300's being absolute trash, among other smaller things, I'm done with Corsair.

It's one thing to try to deduce if this is a problem with something else rather than Link, it's another for all these hopeful owners (I was one as well) to be in such ridiculous denial about Link. It's crap. It's bloated, buggy, unfinished, unpolished garbage. I only wish I could get my money back.

Last edited by Hawkeye1; 03-20-2013 at 05:23 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #124  
Old 03-20-2013, 11:08 AM
batcrave's Avatar
batcrave batcrave is offline
Registered User
batcrave's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: N.E. Nowhere
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 641657
batcrave Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevilSun View Post
My new machine at work, running Windows 8 x64 has had these ASUS voltage fluctuations from DAY ONE and have never had Corsair Link installed on that system, as it's not running Corsair cooling product. The AI suite temperature and voltage fluctuates and reads incorrectly all day, even reporting sub-zero temperatures and zero voltage at times.
I've had similar trouble with AI Suite warnings on both 7 and 8, and they've been fairly consistent (well, consistently erratic) from day one - before I even upgraded from my old hec PSU (which did have voltage fluctuations, although nothing like AIS reports). It also regularly alerts me in a panic that my PCU fans have stopped, and everything's about to explode in a fiery ball if I don't do something right now. I've never been able to spot any similar readings with any other monitoring software, however - and the fans, very audibly, have not been stopping.

That said, Hawkeye1 may also be right in blaming Link - although, if I'm right, it's not exactly a bug like some of the other problems it's having. A lot of monitoring packages (MSI Afterburner, and maybe HWiNFO or AIDA spring to mind) have warnings about potential clashes with other software trying to access the same sensors. Usually they talk about the risk of potential lockups, but it can also result in unexpected (and meaningless) values being returned.

I don't know what (if anything) else you might be running to cause conflicts on your Asus machine, DevilSun (although I suppose that's a question for troubleshooting AI Suite rather than Link), but Hawkeye1 has - at the least - Link and AIS probing his hardware sensors (which sounds dirtier than it should) and possibly fighting for control of some of the fans as well. One package or another getting the occasional nonsense value wouldn't be at all surprising, and AIS seems to have something of a hair trigger for its warnings.

Mind you, this is something that only occurred to me today, I haven't done much of any testing or research on it (I've still got a list of other headaches to troubleshoot before I worry too much about getting rid of some spurious warning popups) - but, after seeing a few other people's symptoms, it seems to fit.


-Bats
Reply With Quote


  #125  
Old 03-20-2013, 12:07 PM
batcrave's Avatar
batcrave batcrave is offline
Registered User
batcrave's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: N.E. Nowhere
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 641673
batcrave Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeye1 View Post
Once Link 2.3 was installed, I would get an alert for voltage drops on the 3.3, 5, and 12 rails and Vcore fluctuations as well as errant temperature readings that were literally impossible unless I was a mad scientist (-61C, 100C, etc from board and CPU). I also checked Speccy when AI suite told me that the board was at 100C; Speccy also said it was at 100C, so it's not an issue with AI Suite, Link is f-ing with the sensors.
I just posted my best theory (read: guess) on the issue, so I'm not going to go into that again, but this bit is interesting (read: worrying). I've seen plenty of erratic results when one monitoring suite trips over another on the same sensor - and running three separate monitoring packages could definitely increase the chances of that - but I don't recall seeing matching blips like this across multiple packages when it happens.

Wherever the cause actually is, it'd really be nice (read: absolutely essential) for the Link software to allow for disabling of unneeded sensors. For those of us running only AXi PSUs, that could well mean everything outside of the unit itself. Being able to use advertised control features on a PSU shouldn't preclude (or, really, have any impact at all on) the use of other monitors for unrelated hardware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeye1 View Post
These weren't issues with 2.2 for me and weren't issues before Corsair Link.
One of the more obvious changes between 2.2 and 2.3.x is that it's now using libraries from Open Hardware Monitor. I'm not yet sure to what extent they're being used, but I suspect it was a drop-in to handle (at least) the stock non-Link sensors. It might be worthwhile (read: a great way to waste time) to see if any of the problems can be replicated by running Open Hardware Monitor instead of CorsairLink. Any problems that can be narrowed down to that lib can be fixed or worked around without waiting for Corsair to do something about Link.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeye1 View Post
It's crap. It's bloated, buggy, unfinished, unpolished garbage. I only wish I could get my money back.
I won't argue with most of these - Link has a remarkably impressive assortment of issues - but, especially in the same breath as AI Suite, I wouldn't include 'bloated' as one of them, beyond the usual .NET tendency in that direction (and maybe the sheer size and amount of wasted space in the UI). That's one area (along with 'mostly working right', of course) where AI Suite definitely has it beat. That particular package isn't one I'd ever hold up as a paragon of clean, streamlined, or focused design, and - up until I encountered Link - it actually seemed to me like a great example of what happens when hardware companies try to do software (outsourcing, guys! it's not always a bad thing)... And then, of course, there's AI Suite's truly awful interface design - Link doesn't exactly shine in that department either, but it lacks the feel of a UI lifted from a mid-90s adventure game. Still, it does manage to usually do what it's meant to do, which is something Link is still aspiring to.
Reply With Quote


  #126  
Old 03-22-2013, 04:02 AM
Hawkeye1 Hawkeye1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 642078
Hawkeye1 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by batcrave View Post
I don't know what (if anything) else you might be running to cause conflicts on your Asus machine, DevilSun (although I suppose that's a question for troubleshooting AI Suite rather than Link), but Hawkeye1 has - at the least - Link and AIS probing his hardware sensors (which sounds dirtier than it should) and possibly fighting for control of some of the fans as well. One package or another getting the occasional nonsense value wouldn't be at all surprising, and AIS seems to have something of a hair trigger for its warnings.
Actually, I had disabled AI Suite's control of all of the fans, since none of them were plugged into the board still while running Link. It simply ran in the background monitoring temps and voltages.

Quote:
I've seen plenty of erratic results when one monitoring suite trips over another on the same sensor - and running three separate monitoring packages could definitely increase the chances of that - but I don't recall seeing matching blips like this across multiple packages when it happens.
Exactly why I checked it with Speccy as well. All the hardware temps were reading the same as AI Suite at the time, so it's doubtful that anything was problematic with either of them. While this was going on, Link was reporting normal, but slightly higher, temps (aside from the MB, since it doesn't monitor that for some reason).

Quote:
One of the more obvious changes between 2.2 and 2.3.x is that it's now using libraries from Open Hardware Monitor. I'm not yet sure to what extent they're being used, but I suspect it was a drop-in to handle (at least) the stock non-Link sensors. It might be worthwhile (read: a great way to waste time) to see if any of the problems can be replicated by running Open Hardware Monitor instead of CorsairLink. Any problems that can be narrowed down to that lib can be fixed or worked around without waiting for Corsair to do something about Link.
Someone else would have to check into this, as I've removed Link and probably won't be reinstalling it any time soon, knowing Corsair's track-record with this IP. Of course, checking into this sort of stuff would be Corsair's job in the first place, but either their software development department is understaffed or uncaring.

Quote:
I won't argue with most of these - Link has a remarkably impressive assortment of issues -
Impressive is an understatement.

Quote:
but, especially in the same breath as AI Suite, I wouldn't include 'bloated' as one of them, beyond the usual .NET tendency in that direction (and maybe the sheer size and amount of wasted space in the UI). That's one area (along with 'mostly working right', of course) where AI Suite definitely has it beat.
When I say "bloated", I mean slow, lumbering, and in other words behaves like it has far too much coding to work through just to do what it's been designed to do. Then again, I don't know anything about coding, so don't quote me on that.

Quote:
That particular package isn't one I'd ever hold up as a paragon of clean, streamlined, or focused design, and - up until I encountered Link - it actually seemed to me like a great example of what happens when hardware companies try to do software (outsourcing, guys! it's not always a bad thing)...
Before AI Suite (and this computer), I didn't have any monitoring software (aside from what Speccy provides), so I couldn't say anything about how AI Suite stands up to others. All I can say is that I found it easy to work with ever since I first opened it after starting this computer for the first time.

Quote:
And then, of course, there's AI Suite's truly awful interface design - Link doesn't exactly shine in that department either, but it lacks the feel of a UI lifted from a mid-90s adventure game. Still, it does manage to usually do what it's meant to do, which is something Link is still aspiring to.
I feel the apt word here is functional, which is all I (and many others) ask in a program like this. I rather it look like a piece of software from the 90's and work than look futuristic and be unusable. I think Corsair focused far too much on how the UI looked for Link. Sure, it's pleasing to look at, but it's barely functional, almost to the point that after months of having it installed, I grew too concerned it was going to damage something.
Reply With Quote


  #127  
Old 03-23-2013, 01:17 PM
ACP ACP is offline
Registered User
ACP's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 79
POST ID # = 642372
ACP Reputation: 10
Default

Hi ramguy

This new version is conflicting with my intel desktop utilities monitoring software .... I got a alert of 90 degrees celcious but core temp was showing max 70... Should this be a concern? Did my cpu actually hit 90? It never showed me that alert before with 2.2 .

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #128  
Old 03-23-2013, 11:38 PM
Speed's Avatar
Speed Speed is offline
Johnsonized
Speed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 364
POST ID # = 642455
Speed Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven0215 View Post
Just a Quick Update. As Hawkeye posted above I am also getting strange Voltage fluctuation warnings from my Asus AI suite program, probably not a deal breaker but being as ASUS is one of the biggest Motherboard makers around probably something corsair should look into fixing the next go around.
Actually, if you read some of the ASUS forums, you'll learn that AI Suite is problematical, itself. I happened to come across a thread today that, inexplicably, solved not only my spurious weird temp and voltage issues but more than doubled my WAN throughput! The solution was using another MB monitoring application (CoreTemp, Open Hardware Monitor or Speedfan) and preventing AI Suite and most of its Services from running -- or uninstalling it altogether.

It is not a good idea to run more than one monitoring application anyway. They can conflict with one another. Finding the sweet spot to match your particular needs is the key.

It's yet another instance of figuring that the company that makes a great product would produce rock solid software to interact with it as well. Not always the case, unfortunately.

Hardware? Great.
Software? Room for improvement.

Last edited by Speed; 03-23-2013 at 11:45 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #129  
Old 03-23-2013, 11:53 PM
Speed's Avatar
Speed Speed is offline
Johnsonized
Speed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 364
POST ID # = 642457
Speed Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevilSun View Post
My new machine at work, running Windows 8 x64 has had these ASUS voltage fluctuations from DAY ONE and have never had Corsair Link installed on that system, as it's not running Corsair cooling product. The AI suite temperature and voltage fluctuates and reads incorrectly all day, even reporting sub-zero temperatures and zero voltage at times.
I've seen this, too. That's what set me on the trail to find the culprit. Thought at first that my new MBs were bad. BUT, a P9X79 Deluxe/I7-3930K and a P8Z77-V Pro Thunderbolt/I7-3770K are different animals. Yes, they are both ASUS and both Intel but there is one common denominator: AI Suite. Running all sorts of test between various monitoring applications, and all of them reporting valid values, I came to the conclusion that AIS is the problem. See my previous post on that. Since taking it out of the mix, everything has settled down and the box is faster, to boot. Give it a shot.... couldn't get a whole lot worse, unless of course your CPU gets fried. Standard disclaimers apply but it works here.

Still have some clicking fans to RMA but that's trivial compared to 260C and -60C MB temps! AND I'm not saying that CL doesn't need major improvements; because it DOES! The demise of Sierra2 is a big step in the right direction. That darn thing hammering my SSD was really hacking me off. Keep goin', guys! Having SW that matches the finish and polish of your hardware will be a great thing! (The opening of my 650D, AX1200i, H100i and Dominator boxes were a delight, as was assembling the whole workstation. Providing software that complements and completes this operation can only be viewed as a Good Thing)

Last edited by Speed; 03-24-2013 at 12:22 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #130  
Old 03-26-2013, 04:58 AM
EJSEJS EJSEJS is offline
Registered User
EJSEJS's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 642847
EJSEJS Reputation: 16
Default

Without the Corsair Link software is my H80i much quieter and cools much better (Prime95 (4 hour ) 3770K@ 4100Mhz - Core Temp version 1.0 > idle: 23-22-23-22 Max: 67-68-68-66).
The H80i is directly connected to my Z77X-D3H motherboard, and in the bios the CPU fan speed on normal.

I'll wait until the corsair links software really works...

Last edited by EJSEJS; 03-26-2013 at 05:00 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #131  
Old 03-27-2013, 01:24 AM
Speed's Avatar
Speed Speed is offline
Johnsonized
Speed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 364
POST ID # = 643038
Speed Reputation: 10
Default

Exactly how are you hooking this up?

Do the H80i fans spin up when the CPU is under load?

I'm getting tired of the CL software hitting my SSD every second; specifically CorsairLINK_HardwareMonitor.exe. The 2.3.x version, even though Sierra2 service is no longer present, still hits the drive every second and writes to tempmap.dat. Sierra2 dlls are in the installed directory, so it is readily apparent that things have just been shuffled around and renamed but the functionality is the same. I don't want logging turned on, period. No way to shut it off and no way to even choose where the SW is installed; which any respectable SW should do. EVERYBODY has an infinite C:\ drive, don't they? NO ONE has SSDs as their C:\, do they?
Reply With Quote


  #132  
Old 03-27-2013, 02:46 AM
GTXJackBauer's Avatar
GTXJackBauer GTXJackBauer is offline
Liquid Cooling Addict
GTXJackBauer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 290
POST ID # = 643041
GTXJackBauer Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post
Exactly how are you hooking this up?

Do the H80i fans spin up when the CPU is under load?

I'm getting tired of the CL software hitting my SSD every second; specifically CorsairLINK_HardwareMonitor.exe. The 2.3.x version, even though Sierra2 service is no longer present, still hits the drive every second and writes to tempmap.dat. Sierra2 dlls are in the installed directory, so it is readily apparent that things have just been shuffled around and renamed but the functionality is the same. I don't want logging turned on, period. No way to shut it off and no way to even choose where the SW is installed; which any respectable SW should do. EVERYBODY has an infinite C:\ drive, don't they? NO ONE has SSDs as their C:\, do they?
No wonder I noticed my CPU usage as before. Thought the thrashing was gone but I guess not. I notice every second even right now at this moment my CPU usage going from 5-10% every sec on average. Still fighting for control with the Link to my fans and pumps and on and off rattling noises from the fans.
Reply With Quote


  #133  
Old 03-27-2013, 10:37 AM
EJSEJS EJSEJS is offline
Registered User
EJSEJS's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 643091
EJSEJS Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post
Exactly how are you hooking this up?
Same as with the Corsair Link software, see manual of the H80i.
I have only the CorsairLink software removed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post
Do the H80i fans spin up when the CPU is under load?
Yes

Last edited by EJSEJS; 03-28-2013 at 04:47 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #134  
Old 04-06-2013, 10:44 PM
BytesMage BytesMage is offline
Registered User
BytesMage's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 645334
BytesMage Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pieter123 View Post
I have the same problem, it seems to be running but it doesn't show up. Running this on an Asus M4A88T-I Deluxe... Edit: On Windows 8 64 bit! Edit2: It does now! Ran the hardware monitor first then started the exe!
Same here but only on my non admin users. If I log in as admin I can click the CL2 exe and it works. For some reason the CL2 exe does not call the Hardware monitor exe when started from a non admin account when using runas admin. Win 7 64 on Asus Maximus V Extreme, 3770k. Also I am still gettting SSD thrasing from the Dongle. The dongle flashes red constantly and I can see my SSD light up each time. I do not have commander. I have AX1200i PSU with dongle. I have H100 but do not have commander with it.
Reply With Quote


  #135  
Old 04-06-2013, 11:57 PM
Speed's Avatar
Speed Speed is offline
Johnsonized
Speed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 364
POST ID # = 645342
Speed Reputation: 10
Default

You can set a Junction or Symlink from the normal target location on the SSD to a standard HDD. The file it is writing to is:

%system drive%\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Corsair\tempmap.dat

Symlink or Junction from there to any location on a different drive and directory of your choice and the SSD thrashing will cease.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.