The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2019, 10:42 AM
Sacco Belmonte's Avatar
Sacco Belmonte Sacco Belmonte is offline
Registered User
Sacco Belmonte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 251
POST ID # = 1010941
Sacco Belmonte Reputation: 10
Default FYI iCUE and Ryzen 3000

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...eries_cpus_to/

Not so good news.
__________________
Do NOT mix PSU cables.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2019, 01:59 AM
DFM DFM is offline
Registered User
DFM's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Chi-raq
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1011035
DFM Reputation: 25
Default

Except he's blatantly wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2019, 09:00 AM
EnterpriseNL EnterpriseNL is offline
Registered User
EnterpriseNL's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1011785
EnterpriseNL Reputation: 10
Default

Well, he's not entirely wrong, Icue is upping the voltage of the 3000 series, I have a 3700x and with Icue off it shows a much lower voltage than with Icue on,

Currently, Voltage with Icue off is sitting on between 1.0v - 1.4v, With Icue on, Voltage is locked on 1.480

Icue is monitoring your system which is not needed in my case, I only have a STRAFE RGB keyboard and that's it, I would love to know if you can detach the monitoring service from Icue
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Voltage while Icue is off.jpg (88.0 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg Voltage while Icue is on.jpg (87.8 KB, 41 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-19-2019, 09:49 AM
Sacco Belmonte's Avatar
Sacco Belmonte Sacco Belmonte is offline
Registered User
Sacco Belmonte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 251
POST ID # = 1011791
Sacco Belmonte Reputation: 10
Default

I think it comes down to AMD. Ryzen 3000 should learn not to boost when CPU usage is below 5% or so. Such as monitoring apps.
__________________
Do NOT mix PSU cables.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-19-2019, 11:02 AM
EnterpriseNL EnterpriseNL is offline
Registered User
EnterpriseNL's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1011800
EnterpriseNL Reputation: 10
Default

Well background apps do need some love, however, I agree, but we also need an option to terminate monitoring process, I use Icue only for my STRAFE RGB keyboard, not monitoring temps, etc, etc, so both are at fault.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2019, 12:40 PM
Sacco Belmonte's Avatar
Sacco Belmonte Sacco Belmonte is offline
Registered User
Sacco Belmonte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 251
POST ID # = 1011805
Sacco Belmonte Reputation: 10
Default

So what happens if you disable the SDK and rename the related dll's?
__________________
Do NOT mix PSU cables.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-19-2019, 12:42 PM
Sacco Belmonte's Avatar
Sacco Belmonte Sacco Belmonte is offline
Registered User
Sacco Belmonte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 251
POST ID # = 1011807
Sacco Belmonte Reputation: 10
Default

I did here and even after doing that iCUE can still access and monitor my CPU / MOBO / GPU

Hmmm...yes, Corsair should add a way to totally disable monitoring.
__________________
Do NOT mix PSU cables.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-19-2019, 07:06 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 136
POST ID # = 1011840
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

I recently upgraded to 3800x and I believe this article explains what is happening.
https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...3rd_gen_ryzen/

In short the CPU is acting normally and boosting in response to activity. If you bought a 3000 series processor you got yourself a high performance processor and it's boosting to give you that performance when called upon.

Maybe the boost is too sensitive or maybe some apps are aggressive in some way using the CPU, but I think vendors and consumers are trying to figure that out in response to these newly observed behaviors, and what the balance should be given the perception that something is wrong. I think these CPU's behave much differently than anyone expected.

On the face value it seems iCue is somewhat aggressive and a user may appear to see continuous voltage and boost when in reality it's jumping up and down so fast between cores that it appears constant but it's not. One thing that cannot respond as quickly is thermals. It takes time to dissipate the heat.

It would be nice to be able to tweak iCue for a lower CPU footprint (greater efficiency) if possible and disable monitoring when not necessary.

Last edited by A Computer Guy; 07-19-2019 at 07:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-20-2019, 05:37 AM
Sacco Belmonte's Avatar
Sacco Belmonte Sacco Belmonte is offline
Registered User
Sacco Belmonte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 251
POST ID # = 1011866
Sacco Belmonte Reputation: 10
Default

Installed my 3900X using Liquid metal. (h115 i Pro with 4 fans)

I'm getting a slightly higher idle temp compared to my 1800X with NTH1 but nothing to worry about. Max spike is around 50c and lowest idle (hot summer day) is 40c

Max temp under load (CB20) 78c

All this while running at stock.

Nothing in iCUE is working differently. No hiccups or lost connections. All animations working normally.
__________________
Do NOT mix PSU cables.

Last edited by Sacco Belmonte; 07-20-2019 at 05:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-20-2019, 06:35 PM
Sacco Belmonte's Avatar
Sacco Belmonte Sacco Belmonte is offline
Registered User
Sacco Belmonte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 251
POST ID # = 1011934
Sacco Belmonte Reputation: 10
Default

OC'd my 3900X by CCX

4500
4400
4350
4350

This, or any other form of fixed freq OC will result in a very smooth operation with iCUE, iCUE will not show spikes anymore. My idle temps are now 38-40 with occasional 50c spikes. Just as normal as it gets.

Running Zen at stock is a disaster, the scores are real bad (despite how good they look against the competition) and the temps are atrocious because the BIOSes are overvolting the chip too much by default.

With this CPU and this OC. Corsair service uses less than 1% CPU 80% of the time.
__________________
Do NOT mix PSU cables.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-20-2019, 07:55 PM
NecroMan NecroMan is offline
Registered User
NecroMan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Kazan, Russia
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1011940
NecroMan Reputation: 10
Default

Confirm the problem with 3700X. 1.4+ V with iCUE working in background or foreground and < 1 V without it.
And... monitoring screen don't show CPU temperature. Maybe because of this?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-21-2019, 12:14 AM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 136
POST ID # = 1011946
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sacco Belmonte View Post
OC'd my 3900X by CCX

4500
4400
4350
4350

This, or any other form of fixed freq OC will result in a very smooth operation with iCUE, iCUE will not show spikes anymore. My idle temps are now 38-40 with occasional 50c spikes. Just as normal as it gets.

Running Zen at stock is a disaster, the scores are real bad (despite how good they look against the competition) and the temps are atrocious because the BIOSes are overvolting the chip too much by default.

With this CPU and this OC. Corsair service uses less than 1% CPU 80% of the time.
This is interesting thanks for this info!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-21-2019, 12:26 AM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 136
POST ID # = 1011947
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NecroMan View Post
Confirm the problem with 3700X. 1.4+ V with iCUE working in background or foreground and < 1 V without it.
And... monitoring screen don't show CPU temperature. Maybe because of this?
I noticed the missing CPU temp in iCue as well.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-25-2019, 12:12 PM
maboz maboz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1012501
maboz Reputation: 10
Default

I can reproduce the same problem with the old LINK software, with it open voltage is stuck to 1.45, as soon as I close LINK voltage drops to 1.2 and changes between 1.1 to 1.5 depending on the load, as it is supposed to do.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-31-2019, 12:19 AM
CanuckBrian CanuckBrian is offline
Registered User
CanuckBrian's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1013189
CanuckBrian Reputation: 10
Default

AMD released an updated chipset driver today that was supposed to address the issue of high idle voltages due to utilities monitoring the hardware. I used to have a problem with iCUE, Discord, and Steam all causing this issue. Discord and Steam no longer cause this issue, but iCUE still does. In order to get sub 1v during idle I have to uninstall iCUE. Otherwise it's locked at 1.45v almost all the time.

Would be really nice if Corsair would put their 2-cents in on this issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.