The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2018, 03:50 PM
PsYcHoKiLLa's Avatar
PsYcHoKiLLa PsYcHoKiLLa is offline
Registered User
PsYcHoKiLLa's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 962582
PsYcHoKiLLa Reputation: 10
Default Help with H100i and push pull please?

Hi guys/gals,

I have the H110i GT with the 2 pre-installed fans.

I fancy moving to a push/pull cooling setup so I've purchased 4 ML140 fans to use with the radiator.

I also have a Corsair Commander Pro.

The H110i comes with a default 2 fan connectors so my question is, what would you recommend for the push/pull setup?
  1. Connecting all 4 fans to the Commander Pro as well as the front 200mm fan and the rear exhaust fan
  2. Connecting 2 ML140s to the H110i's own connectors (push set) and leave the other 2 ML140s on the Commander Pro (pull set)
  3. Use splitters to connect 2 fans to each of the 2 outputs of the H110i

Would using the Commander Pro for all 4 radiator cooling fans cause a problem with the H110i saying there's no cooling running?

Thanks for your advice
Attached Files
File Type: txt AIDA64-SystemReport.txt (46.0 KB, 128 views)

Last edited by PsYcHoKiLLa; 07-07-2018 at 04:36 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-07-2018, 03:59 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,505
POST ID # = 962583
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

DO NOT use splitters with that cooler. You don't have enough power to do it as it's powered off of the fan header.

Either option 1 or 2 will work. I would suggest option 2. But option 1 won't cause a problem with the h100 saying that there isn't any cooling ... but it'll show zero fan speed. That's OK because it actually reports 1/2 the pump speed to the fan header.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-07-2018, 04:29 PM
PsYcHoKiLLa's Avatar
PsYcHoKiLLa PsYcHoKiLLa is offline
Registered User
PsYcHoKiLLa's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 962586
PsYcHoKiLLa Reputation: 10
Thumbs up

Yeah, I thought that would be the case. Think I might go for option 2. Started using iCue, hopefully it will be intelligent enough to cope with the setup, seems a little buggy just now though.

Just noticed it's actually the H110i GT I've got too.

Thanks for the reply

Last edited by PsYcHoKiLLa; 07-07-2018 at 04:35 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-07-2018, 06:40 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,192
POST ID # = 962598
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PsYcHoKiLLa View Post
Just noticed it's actually the H110i GT I've got too.
That changes the danger level quite a bit. The H100i GTX/v2 has a 1.0A current limit. Very easy to surpass with 4 fans. The H110i is 2.0A. Not going to get there with 4xML140. The H110i has 2 independent fans channels and my preference would still be two put on it and two more on the Commander Pro assuming you can spare 2 headers from the C-Pro. That will give you independent readings for each fan. You don't really need that, but it does let you play around with the values and have a higher degree of control. They can all run from coolant temp and it might be cleaner than double splitters up top.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-07-2018, 09:05 PM
PsYcHoKiLLa's Avatar
PsYcHoKiLLa PsYcHoKiLLa is offline
Registered User
PsYcHoKiLLa's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 962607
PsYcHoKiLLa Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah, I thought the commander might give more control over individual fans, just worried about the system thinking the CPU isn't being cooled cos the fans aren't talking to the H110i.

It's also a Commander Mini unfortunately, still has the 6 fan headers but I do fancy the Commander Pro with the extra LED port and the 2 USB headers, more possibilities.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-08-2018, 09:56 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,192
POST ID # = 962642
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

The H110i has a dummy motherboard lead that also reports pump speed to the BIOS. That goes on CPU fan and will prevent the typical boot error. As for actual control, the C-Pro makes the integration easy since you can set the control variable to whatever you want and directly copy fan curves. You can set all 4 fans to identical curves (or deliberately not) from within Link/iCUE on the desktop. No jumping in and out of the BIOS to make tiny fan tweaks.

The Commander Mini has somewhat been left out of the new generation of things. I don't use one, but it has limited purpose these days.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-09-2018, 10:19 AM
snapper69 snapper69 is offline
Registered User
snapper69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,771
POST ID # = 962741
snapper69 Reputation: 32
Default

Shame really, I have a Commander Mini, which I have been using without a problem for quite some time, I also have a Commander Pro (still in it's box). The C mini is useful for controlling the old led strips and perfectly ok for controlling case fans. It's a shame that it's no longer supported.

Looking at the number of parts that are still in their boxes, I'm beginning to think that buying computer parts and actually using them are 2 different hobbies.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
h100i, ml140, push/pull

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.