The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2018, 12:10 AM
dnelsonn dnelsonn is offline
Registered User
dnelsonn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 987525
dnelsonn Reputation: 10
Default iCue stops detecting LL fans after I shut down and Rgb not working

So I just got the LL120 fans in the 3x pack. everything is plugged in correct and the fans spin but the lights won't turn on. found a hotfix that solves the issue, but every time I shut down my computer the lighting will no longer be working. iCue will sometimes recognize the lighting node pro, but if i try an update it will just disconnect and will no longer recognize the device.

is this a problem with iCue? the lighting node pro? is there any permanent fix to this? I'm already tired of opening up my PC to flash firmware onto the lighting node pro every single day since i've gotten the fans. there's got to be an actual fix to this
here's a link to the usbdeview, and attached is the system info log if that helps

https://imgur.com/a/MJNMN8X
Attached Files
File Type: zip corsair sys info log.zip (36.7 KB, 32 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2018, 12:33 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,514
POST ID # = 987527
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Try a couple of things.
1) Disable Windows Fast Startup (https://www.windowscentral.com/how-d...0-fast-startup)
2) Disable Fast Boot in your BIOS
3) Enable or Disable XHCI Handoff, again in the BIOS.

Rather than going through the firmware update via the pinhole, as a troubleshooting step, disconnect and reconnect the USB cable to the Lighting Node Pro instead. If that fixes things, then it does confirm that it's a USB initialization issue, which the above should address.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2018, 05:30 AM
dnelsonn dnelsonn is offline
Registered User
dnelsonn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 987657
dnelsonn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Try a couple of things.
1) Disable Windows Fast Startup (https://www.windowscentral.com/how-d...0-fast-startup)
2) Disable Fast Boot in your BIOS
3) Enable or Disable XHCI Handoff, again in the BIOS.

Rather than going through the firmware update via the pinhole, as a troubleshooting step, disconnect and reconnect the USB cable to the Lighting Node Pro instead. If that fixes things, then it does confirm that it's a USB initialization issue, which the above should address.
So I tried all of that, and it didn't fix the lighting. Is the light node pro just bad and would getting the commander pro potentially fix the issue? I disabled the first 2 and tried it with XHCI enabled and disabled with nothing changing. Fans spin but no RGB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2018, 10:49 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,514
POST ID # = 987683
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Did you disconnect and reconnect the USB cable? And, to confirm, iCUE doesn't recognize the LNP at all, correct?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2018, 12:37 PM
dnelsonn dnelsonn is offline
Registered User
dnelsonn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 987695
dnelsonn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Did you disconnect and reconnect the USB cable? And, to confirm, iCUE doesn't recognize the LNP at all, correct?
I did. Should I disconnect while the pc is on or off? I'll try again both ways to make sure. And yes icue does not recognize the LNP at all.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2018, 12:41 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,514
POST ID # = 987696
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

You should try this while it's on. This forces a reset/reconnect on the USB port.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2018, 01:57 PM
dnelsonn dnelsonn is offline
Registered User
dnelsonn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 987703
dnelsonn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
You should try this while it's on. This forces a reset/reconnect on the USB port.
Okay that's what I did and nothing had happened
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2018, 03:32 PM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 707
POST ID # = 987713
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

Stupid question, did you configure the the LL-120 in Lighting Setup on the Lighting Node Pro?
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2018, 05:32 PM
dnelsonn dnelsonn is offline
Registered User
dnelsonn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 987724
dnelsonn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarity View Post
Stupid question, did you configure the the LL-120 in Lighting Setup on the Lighting Node Pro?
When icue actually detected the LNP I did yes.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-31-2018, 06:47 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,514
POST ID # = 987728
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

OK. Next thing ... if you have a mini USB cable laying around, can you connect that to the LNP and then route it around to the back of the case? I'd like to see if we can determine if it's the cable or if it's the LNP itself. Either way, you will likely want to contact support.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-31-2018, 09:41 PM
dnelsonn dnelsonn is offline
Registered User
dnelsonn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 987741
dnelsonn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
OK. Next thing ... if you have a mini USB cable laying around, can you connect that to the LNP and then route it around to the back of the case? I'd like to see if we can determine if it's the cable or if it's the LNP itself. Either way, you will likely want to contact support.
unfortunately i don't think i have any mini usb cables lying around. I know it's not either of my usb headers as I had my nzxt cooler plugged into both since i tried to see if one of my headers was bad but both worked with the cooler just fine. seems to just be an issue with the LNP. yeah at this point i think i'll just have to do that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fans, icue, ll120

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.