The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2014, 10:14 AM
SusiBiker SusiBiker is offline
Registered User
SusiBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: London UK
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 700893
SusiBiker Reputation: 10
Question Disable K95 Caps Lock? (Disabled User)

Hi.
I cannot tell you how happy I am to have a decent keyboard (K95) at long last. I am so happy I had to return the Logitech 510 thing I originally ordered as it had a sticking Ctrl key straight out of the box.

OK. Here's the problem -
I have to type pretty much 90% of the time with my right hand only (my left wrist was crippled in a nasty motorcycle accident years ago).
As for the most part, my right hand is flying backwards and forwards across the keyboard when typing, I am forever catching the Caps Lock key when I wanted just the 'a' key.
As this is a momentary-type switch (not a mechanical latch), I have to assume the Caps Lock function is implemented in the keyboard's driver (or firmware).
Can anyone tell me how to turn the Caps Lock key into an ordinary shift key, or to disable it altogether?

There are a couple of brutal options I know that would work -
Cut the right-hand-side of the key off to give me more space between it and the 'a' key, or remove the key cap completely (as I have done in the past with the incredibly annoying 'Insert' keys).
The trouble with these methods are that they ruin a gorgeous-looking keyboard.

Any ideas?

Sorry my questions are somewhat verbose - I don't get out much since the accident
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-10-2014, 02:55 PM
thenosbod's Avatar
thenosbod thenosbod is offline
Homo sapien
thenosbod's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Earth UK
Posts: 565
POST ID # = 700915
thenosbod Reputation: 60
Default

hope this helps

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...windows-vista/
__________________
I do not work for Corsair and I am not an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #3  
Old 03-10-2014, 06:14 PM
SusiBiker SusiBiker is offline
Registered User
SusiBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: London UK
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 700938
SusiBiker Reputation: 10
Thumbs up

Thanks loads thenosbod.
Problem now sorted!

I hadn't even considered messing with the keyboard Scan Codes. For some reason I thought that the Caps Lock and its indicator LED would be controlled by the Corsair driver or internal to the keyboard via hardware/BIOS.

And now you've mentioned it - Years ago I remember remapping an MS keyboard for use with games: I had forgotten that.
You know... I really am dumber than a bag of spanners these days!

Many thanks,
Susi xx
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-11-2014, 01:02 AM
thenosbod's Avatar
thenosbod thenosbod is offline
Homo sapien
thenosbod's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Earth UK
Posts: 565
POST ID # = 700979
thenosbod Reputation: 60
Default

you are welcome
__________________
I do not work for Corsair and I am not an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-26-2018, 07:57 AM
eshamusi eshamusi is offline
Registered User
eshamusi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 982152
eshamusi Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks thenosbod,
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-27-2018, 05:06 PM
dwjp90 dwjp90 is offline
Registered User
dwjp90's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 982422
dwjp90 Reputation: 10
Default

If you use icue you can also do cool things

I have a macro assigned to my capslock called better capslock

It looks like this

sleep 350ms
send capslock

I then have the macro only run while the key is held down, so i have to hold capslock for a moment in order to use capslock
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
caps lock, disable, k95

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.