The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 07-15-2018, 07:08 PM
DerekAz DerekAz is offline
Registered User
DerekAz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 963653
DerekAz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekAz View Post
The worst thing of all is trying to just get the h150i box open. The only possible way appears to be like a 7 year old opening a Christmas present, just rip the **** out of it. My gawd, how do they get this thing boxed!!
HaHa...I did manage to find the end opening. But as to the original point of this thread. There are a few YouTube vids that do some decent tests regarding this subject. The instructions that come with the cooler says..."for best cooling performance, we recommend mounting the fans as air-intake to your PC case" The YouTube tests did show a significant lower CPU temps when mounted as intake but at the expense of higher GPU temps depending on what type of GPU you have. Nothing else in the case or motherboard were significantly affected by the increased temps.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 07-15-2018, 09:18 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,513
POST ID # = 963673
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Mounting the cooler as intake will provide the coolest air to cool the coolant. This, in turn, is what cools the CPU. However, this does come at a cost - it increases the internal temperature of the case including, but not limited to, the GPU.

I'd venture to guess that most folks have their coolers installed as exhaust. In many cases, it's the most practical installation option. It does, however, require that you manage the internal case temperatures pretty well ... something that we see folks having trouble with occasionally.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 07-18-2018, 01:56 AM
DerekAz DerekAz is offline
Registered User
DerekAz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 964028
DerekAz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
However, this does come at a cost - it increases the internal temperature of the case including, but not limited to, the GPU.
But where is all the hot air going with a conventional cpu mounted air cooler? I would suggest that an aio being used as intake does not increase the internal air temps. As long of course there is still a sufficient amount of fresh intake\exhaust nothing changes except that NOW you're using outside, generally cooler air, to cool your CPU.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 07-18-2018, 02:07 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,044
POST ID # = 964031
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Got my H150i mounted in the front of the 570x as intake. my intake temp is 27.2. the airflow from my rad is at 27.8. I also have my top fans as intake. I suffer no heat issues what so ever because of how the h150i is mounted GPU rarely goes over 60c when gaming.... and very little dust and fluff as all intake is filter and indeed the case is running positive pressure.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #20  
Old 07-18-2018, 03:23 PM
Cowboy10uk Cowboy10uk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 964164
Cowboy10uk Reputation: 10
Default

I just purchased this today, personally I found the info ref only the pump being RGB very clear indeed, hence why I’ve also grabbed 6 LL120s.

However one thing I can’t find is whether or not the RGB header on the H150I can be controlled with Icue or not?

I know my 6 LL120s can, and I’m pretty sure my Vengeance RGB Ram can be, even though it’s not the pro version.

Can anyone answer about the pump header? It’s no big deal if not, but it would be nice to get everything synced in together.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 07-18-2018, 03:37 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,513
POST ID # = 964169
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Yes, it can be controlled in iCue.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 07-19-2018, 07:30 AM
snapper69 snapper69 is offline
Registered User
snapper69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,771
POST ID # = 964271
snapper69 Reputation: 32
Default

It can also be controlled by Link, if you don't want to install iCue, which is, after all, a BETA release, rather than the eventual full fat, all singing and dancing version that we will eventually get.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 07-19-2018, 09:32 AM
Cowboy10uk Cowboy10uk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 964298
Cowboy10uk Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for quick answer guys, much appreciated. Gave in to the new Vengence RGB Pro memory as well, so just managed to change my order and swap out the Vengence rgb I had chosen to the new pro versions, which should look rather nice alongside the H150 cooler head
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 07-19-2018, 07:29 PM
Greybeard's Avatar
Greybeard Greybeard is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,317
POST ID # = 964427
Greybeard Reputation: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy10uk View Post
Thanks for quick answer guys, much appreciated. Gave in to the new Vengence RGB Pro memory as well, so just managed to change my order and swap out the Vengence rgb I had chosen to the new pro versions, which should look rather nice alongside the H150 cooler head
I'm with you on this one, the Vengeance RGB PRO was too much for me to ignore.. gotta have it You wont regret it!
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 07-20-2018, 06:06 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,044
POST ID # = 964658
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snapper69 View Post
It can also be controlled by Link, if you don't want to install iCue, which is, after all, a BETA release, rather than the eventual full fat, all singing and dancing version that we will eventually get.
the latest version (iCue 3.5.111) is actually pretty solid tbf (imho of course )
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.