The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2019, 01:47 PM
NosGH NosGH is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1010598
NosGH Reputation: 10
Default 3200 c16 vs 3600 c18 with 3900x on x570

What difference it makes in performance?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-08-2019, 03:44 PM
tjgodin's Avatar
tjgodin tjgodin is offline
PC Gaming Enthusiast
tjgodin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 84
POST ID # = 1010605
tjgodin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosGH View Post
What difference it makes in performance?
We're early days here with the 3900x just released, but I think it will be negligible. If you already own 3200Mhz ram I'd likely stick with it and put the savings towards other components, however, if you are purchasing all new components 3600Mhz is supposed to be the sweet spot for the newly released 3000 series of CPUs according to AMD. And for around $50 more than 3200Mhz, it may be worth it considering if you're all in on purchasing the 3900x.

Tony
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-11-2019, 06:08 PM
DFM DFM is offline
Registered User
DFM's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Chi-raq
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1010868
DFM Reputation: 25
Default

I(along with others) may be running into teething problems on the new x570 and Ryzen platform, but Memory ain't one of them.

My Vengeance LPX CMK32GX4M2b3200C16 kit was the least of my OC problems.

It's currently running at the BIOS stock speed of 2133 after Flashing bios while chasing voltage issue but it held 3600@CL16 if you ignored the DOCP profile and did it manually.

Seriously, Ignore the DOCP 3200 setting, came back with CL,tRCD,tRP in the 20's.

Last edited by DFM; 07-11-2019 at 06:11 PM. Reason: 3200 not 3400
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-26-2019, 04:39 AM
Exitstrategy Exitstrategy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1012576
Exitstrategy Reputation: 10
Default

i did some benchmarking with The Division 2, Assassins Creed Odyssey and 3DMark between 3200C16 and 3600C18 Corsair Kits.

Difference is virtually non-existent.

i used CMW32GX4M4C3600C18 ver 4.31 and CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 ver 3.31 for my benches.
XMP profile was loaded. When i used the CMW32GX4M4C3600C18 kit in 3200Mhz i left the timings from 3600mhz.
i am sure those can be tweaked a lot better, but it gives you a overview about what you can expect.
Price gap between the kits is 100 USD around. I am not sure which of the 2 kits to keep, as performance is almost same...

4 modules look better in my PC but 2 modules are supposedly working better / more stable with X570 chipset due to daisy chain topology...
Attached Images
File Type: png 3d mark 2mal16 3200 C16.PNG (1.38 MB, 139 views)
File Type: png 3d mark 4mal8 3200 C18.PNG (1.38 MB, 58 views)
File Type: png 3d mark 4mal8 3600.PNG (1.38 MB, 117 views)
File Type: png Superposition_Benchmark_v1.1_8764_1563575155.png (604.8 KB, 42 views)
File Type: png Superposition_Benchmark_v1.1_8722_1563723209.png (606.4 KB, 34 views)
File Type: png Superposition_Benchmark_v1.1_8707_1563711928.png (604.7 KB, 38 views)
File Type: png ACO 3200 C16 2 modules.PNG (935.1 KB, 108 views)
File Type: png ACO 3200 C18 4 modules.PNG (917.6 KB, 80 views)
File Type: png ACO 3600 C18 4 modules.PNG (935.2 KB, 126 views)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-27-2019, 01:32 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 172
POST ID # = 1012752
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosGH View Post
What difference it makes in performance?
I had an interesting surprise with my 3200CL16 kit and was able to OC it to 3600CL18 after upgrading to 3800x and BIOS with AGESA 1.0.0.3AB.

Real world improvement probably not much but UserBenchmark seems to think I got at least 8% improvement so far after I started trimming the timings.

Getting DDR4-3600 likely not worth the price over DDR4-3200 but prices are changing quite quickly it seems. If you're buying new maybe it makes sense to go for 3600 but if your upgrading your ram maybe not. I'd try OC-ing it first to see what your kit can do before forking out the cash for such a small bump in speed.

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthre...=187175&page=2
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-07-2019, 04:33 PM
falez falez is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1014021
falez Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DFM View Post
I(along with others) may be running into teething problems on the new x570 and Ryzen platform, but Memory ain't one of them.

My Vengeance LPX CMK32GX4M2b3200C16 kit was the least of my OC problems.

It's currently running at the BIOS stock speed of 2133 after Flashing bios while chasing voltage issue but it held 3600@CL16 if you ignored the DOCP profile and did it manually.

Seriously, Ignore the DOCP 3200 setting, came back with CL,tRCD,tRP in the 20's.
So the CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 was running at advertised speeds on an X570-E before you started messing with it?

I'm considering buying this RAM, but there is no official support anywhere from any party, so I'm concerned it may not run at advertised speeds. Notably, I've never overclocked, and don't plan on it anytime in the near future.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-07-2019, 10:54 PM
NosGH NosGH is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1014043
NosGH Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falez View Post
So the CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 was running at advertised speeds on an X570-E before you started messing with it?

I'm considering buying this RAM, but there is no official support anywhere from any party, so I'm concerned it may not run at advertised speeds. Notably, I've never overclocked, and don't plan on it anytime in the near future.
I have CMW16GX4M2C3200C16 the Vengeance RGB PRO 3200MHz C16 with the ROG strix x570-E gaming. In stock it ran at 2133 with C22 not the advertised 3200. I had to enable the XMP in the bios with one click and now it runs as advertised:)
I heard, don't quote me on this one, that the advertised speed/timing is the one that the manufacturer deemed stable after testing. It doesn't mean it can not go any higher but that is the speed that they guarantee to be stable.

Last edited by NosGH; 08-07-2019 at 11:01 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 08-08-2019, 12:09 AM
zizi8862 zizi8862 is offline
Registered User
zizi8862's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1014047
zizi8862 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosGH View Post
I have CMW16GX4M2C3200C16 the Vengeance RGB PRO 3200MHz C16 with the ROG strix x570-E gaming. In stock it ran at 2133 with C22 not the advertised 3200. I had to enable the XMP in the bios with one click and now it runs as advertised:)
I heard, don't quote me on this one, that the advertised speed/timing is the one that the manufacturer deemed stable after testing. It doesn't mean it can not go any higher but that is the speed that they guarantee to be stable.
I'm using the same RAM on a rog strix x470i board, my motherboard wouldn't post with XMP or DOCP loaded, I had to change voltage to 1.4. Did you have the same problem ?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 08-08-2019, 09:07 PM
NosGH NosGH is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1014140
NosGH Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zizi8862 View Post
I'm using the same RAM on a rog strix x470i board, my motherboard wouldn't post with XMP or DOCP loaded, I had to change voltage to 1.4. Did you have the same problem ?
I moved from Intel to AMD this gen so I have no experience with the prev gen AMD motherboards. Sorry. On the x570 I didn't have any problem with XMP
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.