The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2019, 11:19 AM
jjds123 jjds123 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1008788
jjds123 Reputation: 10
Default iCue fan Control vs Motherboard PWM Control

I'm currently looking at buying some LL120s for my new build.

My question to someone who has experience with both PWM control from a motherboard and control in Corsair software - which do you prefer for controlling fan speeds?

As far as I can tell, the commander pro only really offers the ability to control the fan speeds compared to using a lighting node, so i'm trying to figure out whether it's going to be worth it for me.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-21-2019, 11:27 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,028
POST ID # = 1008789
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

iCUE + a Commander Pro is desktop software control across a large number of control variables. Motherboard controls are BIOS based and with a very limited number of control variables. Some motherboard vendors offer a desktop software control program that overrides the BIOS controls, but also tends to interfere with other programs. Typically is does not offer any more control choices than the BIOS. You haven't listed your motherboard make and model or any other Corsair devices that might be included in the iCUE control system, so its hard to be more precise than that.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-21-2019, 11:34 AM
jjds123 jjds123 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1008792
jjds123 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
iCUE + a Commander Pro is desktop software control across a large number of control variables. Motherboard controls are BIOS based and with a very limited number of control variables. Some motherboard vendors offer a desktop software control program that overrides the BIOS controls, but also tends to interfere with other programs. Typically is does not offer any more control choices than the BIOS. You haven't listed your motherboard make and model or any other Corsair devices that might be included in the iCUE control system, so its hard to be more precise than that.
Thanks. I haven't purchased anything yet, but i'm looking at the Gigabyte B450 AORUS M.

I havne't built a new rig since before PWM was mainstream so I haven't really had any experience with either which makes things a bit trickier.

Sounds like controlling in desktop software might be preferable.. I don't much like the idea of going into the BIOS to tweak things if needed.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-21-2019, 08:37 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,028
POST ID # = 1008848
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

The main limitation is control variables. Choices are very limited, except sometimes on the top tier boards that have add in temp sensors, etc. (like a Commander Pro). Running your case fans from CPU temp in these days of highly reactive processors is really maddening. Obviously making changes from the desktop is a lot easier and you can make subtle tweaks as you go. Always super helpful when putting together a new system.

If you want to look at it from a narrow perspective, check the number of available fan headers on your board versus number of fans you plan to use and if those can be paired via splitters.

Also, just FYI... the Commander Pro can set each of the 6 control headers individually for PWM or DC control. You are not locked into one fan type. This is true for 99% of motherboard headers as well, although every now and then CPU Fan (and OPT) might be PWM only.

You will get a LNP in the triple pack of LL120s along with a RGB lighting hub. That is all you need to make it work. The LNPs are not wasted if not used. They can be chained into the Commander Pro to create more RGB channels. I always thought that was excessive, but here I am with fans, strips, a CPU block, and water pump that all need one. That's a C-Pro's 2 channels and another 2 from a LNP.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-22-2019, 12:53 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,074
POST ID # = 1008866
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Let me also add ... Gigabyte does have software to control the fans from the desktop. As c-attack noted, the control variables are limited ... plus the software is horrendous. The hardware is great though.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.