The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2020, 04:11 AM
Salsiccia Salsiccia is offline
Registered User
Salsiccia's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 294
POST ID # = 1034337
Salsiccia Reputation: 29
Default HX1200i vs AX1200i

I know that you should never mix 'n' match cables from different PSUs, hence me asking here first !!

I wanted to get the AX1200i PSU for my new build, but when I went to order my Cablemod cables, the AX1200i was Out of Stock with no ETA on coming back at my usual retailer. I went ahead and ordered cables for the HX1200i instead, being my second choice which was readily available and also $200 cheaper than the AX. Now I see that the AX1200i is available again and I have already received my Cablemod cables.

So my question is will those cables still work if I go ahead and order an AX1200i now or should I go with the HX1200i for best compatibility.

Last edited by Salsiccia; 02-08-2020 at 04:12 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-08-2020, 01:23 PM
acemaninwa871 acemaninwa871 is offline
Registered User
acemaninwa871's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Lynnwood, Wa
Posts: 89
POST ID # = 1034408
acemaninwa871 Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah, hxi and axi both use the same cable sets. I know, because I did the same thing. Had the hxi and didn't like it, got the axi, but my cablemode cables are still the right ones for both.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-08-2020, 09:24 PM
Salsiccia Salsiccia is offline
Registered User
Salsiccia's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 294
POST ID # = 1034465
Salsiccia Reputation: 29
Default

Excellent, thanks aceman.

Out of interest, what didn't you like about the HXi?
I've got an HX1000i in my daily drive and have no issue with it and also have an HX1000 sitting around as a spare. I am keen to try the AXi though, but not through any issue with HXi so I'm curious what you may have found.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-09-2020, 12:54 AM
acemaninwa871 acemaninwa871 is offline
Registered User
acemaninwa871's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Lynnwood, Wa
Posts: 89
POST ID # = 1034485
acemaninwa871 Reputation: 10
Default

Well, it's a bit of a long story. But here goes. I like to run a piece of software called HwMonitor by cpuid. Well once I connected the HX1200i's usb monitoring interface to my computer. Hwmonitor would freeze every couple of seconds. I mean ever 2 seconds it would freeze. The only way to make it stop was to remove the usb driver that the power supply used. Then hwmonitor would work fine. But no monitoring. Prior to this I had a AX860i and it never did it. It uses a little usb adapter that does not seem to interfere with hwmonitor. I spend hours troubleshooting this. Unplugging, and replugging it into different usb headers. But it always froze hwmonitor for 2 seconds, then would run, then freeze, etc. So, I just elected to go with the AX1200i. I prefer it anyway. The HXi is not pure digital like the AXi is. So imo the AXi is a better power supply.

But that was the reason I returned it. As I said, even if I just removed the driver for the usb device for the power supply hwmonitor would work fine.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-10-2020, 05:57 PM
Salsiccia Salsiccia is offline
Registered User
Salsiccia's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 294
POST ID # = 1034675
Salsiccia Reputation: 29
Default

Ouch. I hate random crap like that !
I have used hwmonitor in the past, its not a bad bit of kit, but I don't use it now as I'm wary of having anything else clash with iCue at that level and for me iCue reports the stuff I care about for day to day.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-16-2020, 02:14 PM
sfdmark sfdmark is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1035194
sfdmark Reputation: 10
Default

@acemaninwa871
In theory and on paper yes the AXi should be better but you are very lucky considering you have one that actually works. Not that HXi is any better imho.... Anyway, one question: when you running HWmonitor do you have Icue running in the background ? If you do you should know that those 2 cannot work together at the same time... HWmonitor for some reason is forcing Icue to stop working without any obvious error message.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-16-2020, 03:43 PM
acemaninwa871 acemaninwa871 is offline
Registered User
acemaninwa871's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Lynnwood, Wa
Posts: 89
POST ID # = 1035205
acemaninwa871 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfdmark View Post
@acemaninwa871
In theory and on paper yes the AXi should be better but you are very lucky considering you have one that actually works. Not that HXi is any better imho.... Anyway, one question: when you running HWmonitor do you have Icue running in the background ? If you do you should know that those 2 cannot work together at the same time... HWmonitor for some reason is forcing Icue to stop working without any obvious error message.
Well I am not sure I believe this. I have icue running all the time now. And have never had a problem running hwmonitor along side it, until I had the HX1200i. It's usb interface has problems. I even reinstalled a clean copy of windows and it still did it. The dongle seems to work better with the AX1200i. I have read others have had issues with the AX series of power supplies. My 860 and 1200 seem to work fine. But I always obey the 80% rule in power supplies.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-16-2020, 04:40 PM
sfdmark sfdmark is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1035208
sfdmark Reputation: 10
Default

Yes 80% rules makes sense. But having 2x ax1200i dead on arrival is another story. That's why I said you are lucky.
Anyway back to topic, I have Icue running with a commander pro attached to a usb port, a K95 RGB k/b, lighting pro for LL fans and for a few hours I also had ax1200i. Everything worked fine even PSU in Icue. However every time I use HW monitor looks like Icue is stopping. I need to restart Icue service and Icue software itself to make it work properly again. Maybe is commander pro that's causing it but in any case I thought to share it with you in case you have the same symptoms.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-16-2020, 05:45 PM
acemaninwa871 acemaninwa871 is offline
Registered User
acemaninwa871's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Lynnwood, Wa
Posts: 89
POST ID # = 1035214
acemaninwa871 Reputation: 10
Default

I have them both running side by side right now and they seem to be working fine.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-18-2020, 12:18 AM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games™
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 294
POST ID # = 1035338
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

I use an HX1000i but I use Link instead of iCue as I can change the fan profile to a custom one. iCue cannot do that.
__________________

Cooler Master HAF 932 chassis with the Corsair HX1000i PSU

Hardcore Games™ - Legendary of the Only Way to Play™

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 02-18-2020, 01:20 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,679
POST ID # = 1035345
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegan View Post
I use an HX1000i but I use Link instead of iCue as I can change the fan profile to a custom one. iCue cannot do that.
With the HX1200i, at least, it can.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 02-22-2020, 02:28 AM
Salsiccia Salsiccia is offline
Registered User
Salsiccia's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 294
POST ID # = 1035701
Salsiccia Reputation: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegan View Post
I use an HX1000i but I use Link instead of iCue as I can change the fan profile to a custom one. iCue cannot do that.
I have a custom fan curve on my HX1000i in iCue.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 02-22-2020, 10:06 PM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games™
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 294
POST ID # = 1035768
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

My HX1000i has a Link logo graphic printed on it, so I use what the PSU likes
__________________

Cooler Master HAF 932 chassis with the Corsair HX1000i PSU

Hardcore Games™ - Legendary of the Only Way to Play™

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 02-26-2020, 06:02 AM
H100iuser H100iuser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1036077
H100iuser Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegan View Post
I use an HX1000i but I use Link instead of iCue as I can change the fan profile to a custom one. iCue cannot do that.
You can do that now with the latest ICUE:
https://i.imgur.com/wJxgeio.png

I have Corsair Link Logo printed on it too :)
https://i.imgur.com/wbhIGeE.jpg

Last edited by H100iuser; 02-26-2020 at 06:26 AM.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #15  
Old 03-01-2020, 04:28 AM
Salsiccia Salsiccia is offline
Registered User
Salsiccia's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 294
POST ID # = 1036431
Salsiccia Reputation: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegan View Post
My HX1000i has a Link logo graphic printed on it, so I use what the PSU likes
which is perfectly fair enough, but describes a different scenario to "iCue cannot do that" :-)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.