The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2020, 03:54 PM
swarfega's Avatar
swarfega swarfega is offline
Registered User
swarfega's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 147
POST ID # = 1035824
swarfega Reputation: 13
Default Loud bottom fans

I have a Corsair 680x case and have two fans on the bottom where the dust filter is. I have tried both LL120s and SP140s in both intake and exhaust and they're both rather loud. I am wondering if there's anything I could do to alleviate this. I have tried various fan configurations in BIOS including manual.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-24-2020, 08:56 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,682
POST ID # = 1035889
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Loudness is usually due to RPMs. What speed are the fans running at?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-24-2020, 12:00 PM
swarfega's Avatar
swarfega swarfega is offline
Registered User
swarfega's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 147
POST ID # = 1035905
swarfega Reputation: 13
Default

Thats the trouble, iCue isn't reporting rpm for the SP120 RGBs.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-24-2020, 12:34 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,682
POST ID # = 1035908
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Well, they are connected to the motherboard. If iCUE can report them, it'll be on the dashboard. But iCUE won't be able to control them. You'll need to do that from the BIOS or the motherboard software.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-24-2020, 01:17 PM
swarfega's Avatar
swarfega swarfega is offline
Registered User
swarfega's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 147
POST ID # = 1035914
swarfega Reputation: 13
Default

I'll take a look and report back, thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-25-2020, 04:28 AM
swarfega's Avatar
swarfega swarfega is offline
Registered User
swarfega's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 147
POST ID # = 1035984
swarfega Reputation: 13
Default

These are screenshots from the BIOS.


Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-25-2020, 07:08 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,257
POST ID # = 1035994
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 116
Default

Do you actually have them connected to the CPU fan header? That would make them very reactive. That header is designed for cpu air coolers and cpu temp is not a good variable for case fans. Other headers may have different control variable choices.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-25-2020, 08:47 AM
swarfega's Avatar
swarfega swarfega is offline
Registered User
swarfega's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 147
POST ID # = 1035997
swarfega Reputation: 13
Default

I have the split connector from the sata cable from the pump on the pump fan header on the mobo. The two bottom fans are plugged into the sys_fan connectors on the right side of the mobo.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-25-2020, 11:17 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,682
POST ID # = 1036012
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

That's the CPU_FAN header curve - which, by the way, is very aggressive.
You'll need the fan curve for the SYS_FAN connectors that you are using.
This is going to be Gigabyte-specific and has nothing to do with Corsair - any fan that you put on those connectors would behave the same way.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-25-2020, 11:28 AM
swarfega's Avatar
swarfega swarfega is offline
Registered User
swarfega's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 147
POST ID # = 1036014
swarfega Reputation: 13
Default

Should I have a separate custom curve for the two bottom fans?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.