The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Enthusiasts Section > Overclocking and Benchmarking

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2008, 11:17 AM
brenbren brenbren is offline
Registered User
brenbren's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 350163
brenbren Reputation: 10
Default Overclock problem c4 6400 xms2

so i've got it running at stock speeds; 400mhz freq, 4-4-4-12 and 2T at +0.3v (which is 2.1v according to everest) on a GA P35C DS3R. also at a 1:1 ratio with my q6600 at 3.2ghz.

i'm having some problems with windows start up, it's saying memory dump and black screens of death.

my reasoning for the RAM problem is the tRFC setting. all the other settings (not counting timings) are at auto. apart from the tRFC setting, which is at the mobo's recommended setting of 42.

i just want to find out the recommended setting for tRFC, when it's at stock speeds. thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-26-2008, 02:33 PM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 350186
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Can you please document the exact model and revision of the DRAM.

ie.
TWIN2X2048-6400C4 v2.2
TWIN2X4096-6400C4 v1.1
I would set the tRFC to Auto as well. There should be no motherboard recommended setting for any of these values. There should be Auto which reads from the SPD or manual which you personally insert.

Last edited by DerekT; 05-26-2008 at 02:35 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-26-2008, 06:46 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,193
POST ID # = 350217
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

How To Read the Memory Label
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-27-2008, 06:29 AM
brenbren brenbren is offline
Registered User
brenbren's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 350284
brenbren Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekT View Post
Can you please document the exact model and revision of the DRAM.

ie.
TWIN2X2048-6400C4 v2.2
TWIN2X4096-6400C4 v1.1
I would set the tRFC to Auto as well. There should be no motherboard recommended setting for any of these values. There should be Auto which reads from the SPD or manual which you personally insert.
it's the 1024 6400c4 v2.1

i'm going to try the BIOS optimized defaults. see what setting the mobo places on it.

i can't actually set one of the settings to auto :/
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-27-2008, 06:39 AM
brenbren brenbren is offline
Registered User
brenbren's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 350287
brenbren Reputation: 10
Default

set the mobo to optimized defaults. and saw that it had changed the setting to 0.

i wrote it down this time, it was called the refresh to ACT delay. if that means anything.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-27-2008, 10:29 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 350313
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brenbren View Post
set the mobo to optimized defaults. and saw that it had changed the setting to 0.

i wrote it down this time, it was called the refresh to ACT delay. if that means anything.
0 is correct. I would perform a fresh install of the OS to clear up any file corruption.
Download memtest from---> Here
and extract the ISO image. Burn the ISO image to an CD-ROM disk.

Enter your BIOS. On the main BIOS screen press Ctrl + F1. You will see the screen flicker. Next select the MB Intelligent Tweaker option. On that screen you will see many additional settings that were not there before.

Quote:
MIB Intelligent Tweaker (M.I.T.)
CPU Clock Ratio = 9
CPU Host Clock Control = Enabled
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) = 357Mhz
PCI Express Frequency = 100Mhz
C.I.A.2 = Disabled
System Memory Multiplier = 2.3
DRAM Timing Selectable = Manual
CAS Latency Time = 4
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay = 4
RAS# Precharge = 4
Precharge Delay (tRAS) = 12
ACT to ACT delay = Auto
Bank Write To READ Delay = Auto
Refresh to ACT Delay = 0
Read to Precharge Delay = Auto
Memory Performance Enhance = Normal
Dimm OverVoltage Control = +.3V
PCI-e OverVoltage Control = Normal
(G)MCH OverVoltage Control = +.02
CPU Voltage Control = Auto
Robust Graphics Booster = Auto
Run Memtest for two full passes, then (If Stable), enter Windows and post screenshots of CPU-z's CPU, Memory and SPD tabs.

Last edited by DerekT; 05-27-2008 at 10:34 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-27-2008, 01:15 PM
brenbren brenbren is offline
Registered User
brenbren's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 350367
brenbren Reputation: 10
Default

thanks, those are the settings i put on a few hours back. surprised it was 0..

i'll get memtest when i can fine some CD's..

well, thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-27-2008, 06:22 PM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 350437
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Sure thing
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.