The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2013, 07:52 AM
Fingers Fingers is offline
Registered User
Fingers's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 654655
Fingers Reputation: 10
Default Corsair gaming keyboard compatibility with Aten KVM switches

Hi all,

I thought I would post this to share my experience as I haven't found anything similar posted already.

Problem
Corsair gaming keyboards, in my case a K60, require two USB connections to function properly. Aten KVM switches, in my case an Aten CS-682, only have one USB port for each of the keyboard and mouse.

Whilst you can plug both K60 USB cables into the Aten KVM and your mouse into the K60 USB port, I found problems with this.

Plugging the Corsair USB keyboard cable into the Aten USB keyboard port, then the Corsair USB pass through cable into the Aten USB mouse port, the keyboard would not work. This is because apparently the Corsair gaming keyboards utilise a 16 bit signal and nearly all KVM switch USB keyboard ports are 8 bit (I found out from another post in this forum) with the Aten USB keyboard port providing this 8 bit emulation.

By connecting the Corsair K60 USB keyboard cable into the Aten USB mouse port, with mouse emulation disabled, and the Corsair USB pass through cable into the Aten USB keyboard port, you get full functionality of the K60. However, you then need to plug your mouse into the K60 USB port. This led to problems with my system in detecting my Logitech gaming mouse (MX518) and caused all sorts of sensitivity and disconnection issues for me whilst gaming, including erratic behaviour - not the kind of thing you want whilst gaming.

Solution
Aten KVM switches have a function that allows you to turn off the mouse emulation of the USB mouse port so that it can work as a normal USB connection.

This allows you to plug in a standard USB hub to that mouse port. Details of how to turn off the mouse port emulation can be found in the manual for your Aten KVM or on the Aten website.

By turning off the mouse emulation, plugging in a USB hub to the Aten mouse port then connecting the Corsair keyboard AND your gaming mouse to the USB hub allows you to continue using your KVM as intended as well as utilise whatever software your mouse requires without problems.

Caveats
This worked for me with a Corsair K60, Aten CS-682 and a Logitech MX-518. Whilst I am fairly sure it will work with all Aten KVM switches that have the ability to disable the mouse port emulation, I cannot be 100% sure. If your KVM switch has this functionality, irrespective of the make/model, it should work but your mileage may vary.

This means that there is no guarantee that this will work with your particular Corsair gaming keyboard, mouse and KVM combination.

Good luck.

Update
After some testing, I found intermittent disconnects with the solution above. To solve it all I had to do was switch the KVM focus from one PC to another then back again and I had k/b & mouse control back - but it was a pain.

Alternative Solution
What I did next was to plug in the Corsair k/b USB cable into the Aten USB mouse port (which still has mouse emulation disabled). I then plugged my mouse into the Aten keyboard USB port - it works.

It means that you can't use the USB port on the Corsair k/b as the cable isn't plugged in and your mouse is likely to be not detected as it's proper model - it will simply be a 3 button USB mouse - but I have not had any more disconnects since.

As before, good luck.

Last edited by Fingers; 05-22-2013 at 08:15 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-21-2013, 12:55 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 654683
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

All of our new keyboards now have a BIOS setting which allows them to work with KVM switches. Thank you though for sharing this with us.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-21-2013, 04:29 PM
Fingers Fingers is offline
Registered User
Fingers's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 654713
Fingers Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
All of our new keyboards now have a BIOS setting which allows them to work with KVM switches. Thank you though for sharing this with us.
Is there such a BIOS setting for the K60 or doesn't it qualify as a new keyboard?

I have v1.31 installed.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-21-2013, 08:07 PM
Falkentyne Falkentyne is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 56
POST ID # = 654755
Falkentyne Reputation: 10
Default

K70/K95 have a bios compatibility switch. K60 doesn't; such a thing can't be added by a firmware update, as its a hardware change.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-22-2013, 08:10 PM
Fingers Fingers is offline
Registered User
Fingers's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 654981
Fingers Reputation: 10
Default

Okay, sort of guessed that would be the case.

In other news, I found problems with my solution in the OP, I've updated it with another solution that works for me.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-27-2013, 10:45 AM
johnashdown123 johnashdown123 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 655823
johnashdown123 Reputation: 10
Default

I am not familiar with Aten products. I have used a few KVM Switch solutions from KVMSwitchTech and they work well.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-25-2013, 12:56 PM
Rahabib Rahabib is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 661483
Rahabib Reputation: 10
Default

dang it. guess I gotta return my keyboard.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-25-2013, 05:06 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 661556
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Our new firmware updates to K60 and K90 will now enable a "BIOS mode" through a keypress combination.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-01-2014, 04:33 PM
nomaam22 nomaam22 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 690359
nomaam22 Reputation: 10
Default

I am trying to use the K95 / M95 with an Aten KVM & Aten Extender. What BIOS setting did you use to get this setup to work? I've had no luck at all getting either item to function.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.