The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-02-2017, 05:05 PM
mosclofri mosclofri is offline
Registered User
mosclofri's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 901661
mosclofri Reputation: 10
Sad Corsair Force LE SSDs are working slow

Hello,

I am using two Corsair Force Le SSD drive which are 120GB and 240GB. I bought them 6 months ago, so they are not much old but now both of them working slower than my HDD while transferring data. Access times are seems fine.

- I am sure they are working as SATA3
- My sata cables are fine
- My both SSDs and motherboard using up to date firmware and BIOS
- No S.M.A.R.T error is shown for both of them
- Booted Linux live image (normally using Windows 10) to make sure that issue is not related with OS. Linux benchmark still same.
- 120GB one has %77 free storage, 240GB one has %100 free storage (recently formatted entire disk).

I am still suspicious because both of them having same problem.
May there something that i am missing or it is time to rma?

ATTO results can be found in attachment
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Force LE 120GB.JPG (95.6 KB, 341 views)
File Type: jpg Force LE 240GB.JPG (94.9 KB, 299 views)

Last edited by mosclofri; 05-02-2017 at 05:21 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-02-2017, 06:28 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 901671
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

For the 240 GB, did you format - or secure erase?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-02-2017, 06:50 PM
mosclofri mosclofri is offline
Registered User
mosclofri's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 901673
mosclofri Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
For the 240 GB, did you format - or secure erase?
Formatted it with Window's builtin format tool without checking "Quick Format"
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-03-2017, 07:35 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 901749
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Secure erase the drive via Corsair's SSD toolbox or via Parted Magic and do another benchmark again.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-03-2017, 09:02 AM
mosclofri mosclofri is offline
Registered User
mosclofri's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 901771
mosclofri Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Secure erase the drive via Corsair's SSD toolbox or via Parted Magic and do another benchmark again.
Tried using Corsair's SSD Toolbox but no change. Then I also tried "secure wipe" function that found in my Asus motherboard's BIOS, still no change.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-04-2017, 07:04 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 901880
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Are you able to test the drives on another computer or a different SATA data port? Do you get the same results?

Try secure erasing the drive with Parted Magic, If that does not resolve the issue, put in a support ticket with Corsair as its possible the drive may need to be replaced.
https://corsair.secure.force.com/
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-04-2017, 09:43 AM
mosclofri mosclofri is offline
Registered User
mosclofri's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 901897
mosclofri Reputation: 10
Default

Today I took the 240GB disk to work.
We use MacBook Pros for work. So there are just some old PC's that i can put my SSD on.
Anyway i tried with a computer but it uses SATA2 (couldn't find any which support SATA3) and I had to try with linux live image due to none of them have OS installed.

Although it uses SATA2, it's still working faster than my home pc. Test results can be found in attachment.

Can we say this "something bottleneck SSDs on my home pc"?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SATA2 Old PC.jpg (2.60 MB, 262 views)
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-05-2017, 07:12 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 902044
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

You will want to check your SATA settings in the UEFI, make sure your chipset drivers are up to date, try a different SATA data cable, etc.

Have you tried comparing the results with CDM as well?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-09-2017, 07:23 AM
mosclofri mosclofri is offline
Registered User
mosclofri's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 902491
mosclofri Reputation: 10
Default

So i found another PC with SATA 3 support. Seems like my SSDs are pretty fine. There is a clearly issue with my computer.

My mobo is: https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Z170I-PRO-GAMING/

I am sure with these:
- I have latest BIOS
- My sata cables are fine
- Installed latest drivers from Asus website.
- Also this shouldn't be windows driver issue since i am having same results with Linux as well.

So whats else might be the reason? Any suggestion.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20170504_183408955_HDR.jpg (1.10 MB, 202 views)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-09-2017, 08:56 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 902499
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

You will want to contact ASUS Support and see what they recommend now, it's possible there may be a problem with the motherboard.

https://corsair.secure.force.com/
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
benchmark, read, slow, ssd, write

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.