The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2014, 06:16 AM
skeppy skeppy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 724898
skeppy Reputation: 10
Default SSD not initialized after reboot.

I have a Corsair Nova 30 GB SSD (CSSD-V30GB2A) which I can no longer boot from.

I recieved the no operating system found error after restarting my laptop when it froze. I tried the drive in another laptop, got to the Xubuntu login screen and it froze. From then on, I recieve the no operating system found or the laptop hangs as soon as its powered on.

When I attach the SSD via USB, dmesg in Ubuntu reports:

Quote:
[ 343.133162] usb 3-3: new high-speed USB device number 2 using xhci_hcd
[ 343.150881] usb 3-3: New USB device found, idVendor=152d, idProduct=2338
[ 343.150887] usb 3-3: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=5
[ 343.150891] usb 3-3: Product: USB to ATA/ATAPI Bridge
[ 343.150894] usb 3-3: Manufacturer: JMicron
[ 343.150897] usb 3-3: SerialNumber: 152D203380B6
[ 343.189535] usb-storage 3-3:1.0: USB Mass Storage device detected
[ 343.189637] scsi6 : usb-storage 3-3:1.0
[ 343.189720] usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
[ 344.190837] scsi 6:0:0:0: Direct-Access PQ: 0 ANSI: 2 CCS
[ 344.191333] sd 6:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg2 type 0
[ 344.196672] sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Test WP failed, assume Write Enabled
[ 344.197168] sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Asking for cache data failed
[ 344.197175] sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
[ 344.199537] sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Test WP failed, assume Write Enabled
[ 344.200262] sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Asking for cache data failed
[ 344.200270] sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
[ 344.200277] sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Attached SCSI disk
I have tried testdisk, gparted, grub-rescue, fdisk, hdparm, smartctl but it doesn't show up.

The SATA/USB adapter does work as I am able to boot other SSDs from it.

I tried it on Windows 8 however it says it not initialised as shown here:

http://i.imgur.com/L8wAUJ2.jpg

What can I do?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-30-2014, 08:11 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 725139
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Have you tried secure erasing the SSD with Parted Magic or something similar?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-31-2014, 03:55 PM
skeppy skeppy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 725207
skeppy Reputation: 10
Default

How can I even do that when it doesn't show up using hdparm or any other program! I want to salvage the data on the drive.

Last edited by skeppy; 08-31-2014 at 04:04 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
initialised, initialized, offline, ssd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.