The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Ambient Lighting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-03-2019, 04:33 PM
kreasu kreasu is offline
Registered User
kreasu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1026153
kreasu Reputation: 10
Default LS100 Ultrawide Support

Right now there are dual monitor and single monitor modes, and they're exclusively set to:
Single Mode 4 Strips in Video Mode Only one Monitor
Dual Mode 6 Strips in Video Mode Only for Two Monitors

I bought an extension kit to use on my superultrawide

You can't use 6 strips on a single monitor, which really kills my new 32:9 ultrawide setup...


Does anyone have any suggestions?

I'm also having issues with Free Sync flickering input lag and incorrect colors, they also seem really dim compared to the regular Node Pro strips
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-03-2019, 05:27 PM
forst forst is offline
Registered User
forst's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1026159
forst Reputation: 10
Default

I asked the same request that you .
I think it would be nice to add a custom type of monitor instead single 'or 'dual' in the ICue parameter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-2019, 05:51 PM
ocmi_teddy ocmi_teddy is offline
Registered User
ocmi_teddy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1026162
ocmi_teddy Reputation: 10
Default

That's a bummer. I was really excited when I saw the demos for it on single monitors. Hopefully its just a software patch to fix? I'd love to put it on my CRG9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-2019, 11:49 PM
kreasu kreasu is offline
Registered User
kreasu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1026191
kreasu Reputation: 10
Default

I'm sure corsair can patch it in an ICUE update, for now I'll stick to the ambient lighting
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2019, 09:01 PM
mpoffo mpoffo is offline
Registered User
mpoffo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 197
POST ID # = 1026477
mpoffo Reputation: 17
Default

I want to add my name to this list. I bought it but have an ultra-wide. I was so excited since I have been waiting for Corsair to add this. I will wait a bit before installing it. It would be nice to be able to customize the layout of the strips to fit on an ultra-wide.

I estimate for my monitor I could use two of the shorter strips for top and bottom or a large and smaller one for better coverage.

What does the 2 monitor set-up support? What arrangement is that (2 longer ones)? Could you use that setting but just on 1 monitor and get the ambient lighting setting to work?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2019, 09:30 PM
Spyro01 Spyro01 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1026482
Spyro01 Reputation: 10
Default Icue ls100 request

The 4 strips that comes with the ls100 isnt enough to go nor work around my ultrawide monitor.

How i think software should work is it should have option where u have a selection where u can select how many strips that go along top, bottom and sides.. Example... Should have selection for where can input how many strips on left and what strips..

Left select 1 strip then select short then select top then select add strip and have drop down for long or short then beside it, have add another strip and have long or short in that select and then have a third box for top.. Then have another selection for the other side and repeat same as top for bottom.

So basically have a picture of a screen with drop down boxes around screen where u can specify what the strips are and how there connected.

With this above setup, we can be more custom if we have a small monitor ( use 4 250mm strips all the way around) or a ultra wide (8 strips being 2x250mm on sides and 4x450mm and 2x250mm for top and bottom! )
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-06-2019, 07:07 PM
kreasu kreasu is offline
Registered User
kreasu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1026566
kreasu Reputation: 10
Default

I believe it's any six strips of any size

my 32:9 1440p ultrawide uses 2 short strips on the side and 2 long strips on the top and 2 on the bottom

for a 21:9 you could prob use 4 short and 2 long
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-06-2019, 07:24 PM
Spyro01 Spyro01 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1026569
Spyro01 Reputation: 10
Default

Yea i agree with everyone here.. I have a 3 monitor setup which pretty much same as a ultrawide hence windows detects all 3 as 1 big wide monitor and shurely it going to take at least 3 long across the top and 3 along the bottom.. I bought the kit and 2 exspansion kitss cause corsair themselves via phone told me it would work via phonecall!! Would like to have the video sync to work ith my "super ultra wide"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-06-2019, 07:30 PM
Spyro01 Spyro01 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1026570
Spyro01 Reputation: 10
Default

Thought about it.. To bad the one strips are odd count cause the regular corsair light strips does work but the number count is off. My thinking was the 450mm was 27 led and the old regular led which is 1 foot long and only 10 leds per strip.. If the 450 was 30 leds, i could of took 3 of the regular led strips and ran them along the top and 3 along bottom! I know the old led strips will work cause i had them plugged in to expiriment.. But wont light correctally due to the count of leds on the different strips..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-26-2019, 12:21 PM
mpoffo mpoffo is offline
Registered User
mpoffo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 197
POST ID # = 1028709
mpoffo Reputation: 17
Default

Any update from Corsair on this? Will ICUE or the LS100 be updated to allow support for Ultra Widescreen monitors? It seems like an oversight as I would guess many of the people interested in using these would have or be potientially interested in getting an ultra wide.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-28-2019, 10:15 PM
Spyro01 Spyro01 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1028980
Spyro01 Reputation: 10
Default

I havnt herd anything nor any firmware or updates in software yet.. Hopfully soon cause as it stands i got a very exspensive item that i have no use for. I certainly not going to go to a single 16x9 monitor thought about a ultrawide and this isnt going to work on it so it as of right now i have no use for it!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-06-2020, 07:59 AM
forst forst is offline
Registered User
forst's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1029994
forst Reputation: 10
Default

always no update at this time ???
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-06-2020, 05:59 PM
mgrenier25 mgrenier25 is offline
Registered User
mgrenier25's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 1030065
mgrenier25 Reputation: 10
Default

Same situation here on a 50 in tv, the short strips are on each side and the 2 longer ones up top. I already contacted Corsair support about this, they said they were working on it but could not provide an eta.... Hope fully soon **fingers crossed**
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-20-2020, 07:56 PM
kreasu kreasu is offline
Registered User
kreasu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1032169
kreasu Reputation: 10
Default

I'm very upset that there is still no reply I'm not sure if this feature is planned or not
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-25-2020, 08:52 AM
pierod pierod is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1032748
pierod Reputation: 10
Default

Hopefully this may help some of you, I'm not sure exactly what problems you're encountering or whether you're making incorrect assumptions about how these work/don't work on an ultrawide. Just thought I'd share my experience.

I recently installed the LS100 starter kit + 450mm expansion on a 21:9 monitor (LG 34GK950F). Although it's very fiddly to set up, it works as I hoped and as promised.

My main issue with it was to get the strips to stay on with the magnets. The back of my monitor isn't flat so it was a struggle to get everything in place and stay there. In the end I used the included cable management hooks to give the strips some extra support. Not their purpose, but it worked. I also flexed the strips a bit to make them a little more pliable/less stiff.

So, firstly the 2 x 250mm strips: easy, they go vertically on the left and right sides of the back of monitor.

Then, the 4 x 450mm, a bit more complicated: easy bit is they go horizontally along the top and bottom of the monitor. But wait, my monitor is only 21:9 and 820mm wide, so how the heck did I fit 900mm of strip horizontally?? There's an overlap of around 100mm where one strip starts and the other ends. It actually works fine and there's no visible indication from the front that the strips "double up" for 100mm (though you can tell a little when you have a "visor" setting, it still looks great). The cable extensions also come in very handy.

You might ask why I didn't go for the 250mm expansion instead. I heard it doesn't work in the same way - that 250mm are just for vertical - and didn't want to take the chance. That could be incorrect.

In iCue you setup as a dual monitor, but it doesn't matter, it behaves exactly as I'd expect in a single monitor setup. Video Lighting setting works great though I do occasionally have to reset iCue when coming out of a game to get it working again.

Hope this is some help, any questions fire away. As I said, v happy with the product and how I've set it up. Admittedly it isn't pretty when you look behind the monitor but that's not what this is about.

My general feeling about them once I had them installed was that it's a subtle effect (I wondered whether it was worth the bother). Then you turn them off and realise how much of a difference it's making. I don't think I could go back, I'd really miss not have the effect behind the monitor and it definitely helps with eye strain particularly at evening/night.

Sorry for long first post. Cheers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
corsair, ls100, superultrawide, ultrawide

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.