The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 33 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 05-22-2012, 02:06 PM
FHaze's Avatar
FHaze FHaze is offline
Registered User
FHaze's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 579907
FHaze Reputation: 10
Default

Well I'm very confused about that shipping price, mine RAM GUY said I should not send anything, they would just resend a new set of small speaker for me, I already got my RMA approved, but nothing more, still waiting for more information.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 05-22-2012, 02:44 PM
genious 7 genious 7 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 579908
genious 7 Reputation: 10
Default

Nah, I'm in this both because of the shipping prize (as I live in Panama, central America), and I like to take the DIY route when possible. Besides, I've heard that several people RMA'd and received another bad one, so I decided I could as well try to fix it myself.

BTW, I added the preamp and so far, so good. However, due to the intermittent nature of the issue, I'll wait a week before calling it a success. If it works, I'll post details in case anyone has the same shipping price problem (ej andyroo08).

Edit: No crackling as of a month

Last edited by genious 7; 06-29-2012 at 06:15 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 05-23-2012, 01:27 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 580082
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

It would be interesting to hear what you did and if it solved the issue you were having.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 05-23-2012, 04:29 PM
genious 7 genious 7 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 580137
genious 7 Reputation: 10
Default

So far, it has solved the issue. However, due to the intermittent nature of the issue, I'll wait a week before shouting success.

http://www.instructables.com/id/hVnB...H4gDNPETHuf7Q/
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 05-24-2012, 12:44 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 580356
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please fill out an RMA request. If the issue still remains.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 07-08-2012, 10:19 AM
Anusha Anusha is offline
Registered User
Anusha's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 589087
Anusha Reputation: 10
Default

I joined the forums because I have to same problem.

I'm in Japan and I have to ship to Hongkong according the RMA. (which got approved. so lame! I will have to pay more than the speakers are worth.) I hoped I would only have to ship within the country. I would rather buy a Logicool (Logitech in other parts of the world) Z623 setup, where they have exceptional warranty service here.


Here are the shipping charges:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/204/capturezq.jpg/

@genious_7, good work man. i will see if i can fix mine the same way.

(just in case you Corsair blokes are wondering what "exceptional" mean, i broke my G500 mouse - bought off Amazon Japan - and they (Logicool) sent me a new one after checking the bill, even without checking the broken mouse first, and only after i received the new one i had to return the broken one - cash on delivery on their burden! didn't cost me anything. i would expect such good service from a company like Corsair. why can't we do it via an agent listed on your website? links.co.jp for example)

Last edited by Anusha; 07-08-2012 at 10:29 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 07-09-2012, 02:09 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 589269
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Anusha, I recommend contacting our customer service to see if they can help you with your shipping charges.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 07-09-2012, 11:17 PM
genious 7 genious 7 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 589393
genious 7 Reputation: 10
Default

I recommend to try RMA unless you know to solder well. However, if you want to try, tell me so since I there is an easier way that I discovered after thinking some time that will make it easier. You still need to solder well though.
__________________
There is no such thing as "No User Serviceable Parts Inside"
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 07-15-2012, 08:18 AM
rogue123 rogue123 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 590375
rogue123 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi genious I to have this issue would you be able to share this easier way, I would like to fix it rather than rma which is not an option for me either. Thank you!

Last edited by rogue123; 07-15-2012 at 08:22 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 07-16-2012, 12:49 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 590541
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogue123 View Post
Hi genious I to have this issue would you be able to share this easier way, I would like to fix it rather than rma which is not an option for me either. Thank you!
Is there a reason RMA is not an option?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 07-21-2012, 09:32 PM
genious 7 genious 7 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 591723
genious 7 Reputation: 10
Default

Well, sure. The hardest part as seen in the picture was to unsolder those two zero ohm resistors and solder the tiny wire (red in my picture) between those resistors and and other two in the headphone section.

Instead, it would just be easier to cut the two wires (left and right speaker) right off from the pcb, extend them an inch or so, and solder them to the headphone amp to the part shown in the picture.

I know its hard to understand just by this wall of text, so if you have skype/messenger/a camera, time, and patience, I'm sure I could kinda guide you through the process. You still need to know how to solder, though (although the skill needed is less with this method). Can you solder?
__________________
There is no such thing as "No User Serviceable Parts Inside"
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 07-22-2012, 12:50 PM
genious 7 genious 7 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 591787
genious 7 Reputation: 10
Default

Well, regarding the questions that rogue 123 pm me (so that others know the answer), the two wires are on the left side of the pcb, marked as left and right audio. If someone can take a close up shot of that area, I can signal which of the two wires to cut.

EDIT: Reviewed some pics. The wires are labeled FL (for front left) and FR (for front right).

The part bolded in step 4 is still necessary, but unless its a laptop and you go plugging other speakers regularly, its not an issue. I just lowerer the front speaker volume on software (front speaker, not master volume, which is the software control you regularly use.)

The headphone amp is connected to r41 and r34.

I really dont recommend step 5 because I did not figure out the correct value to use. Just lower the volume on software and you'll be fine.

Before attempting to do the mod, make sure the issue is the same:
-No crackling at 0 volume
-Crackling at mid volume
-No/reduced crackling at max volume when connected to something
-Crackling on the headphone port of the speaker

Id prefer to guide the first person to attempt it step by step (either by skype, messenger, or a lot of email (with pics) forwarding), as to check what parts of my explanations are vague or unclear, and gain some feedback.

I don't check the forum regularly, so if anyone has a question, ask it in the forum but give me a heads up via a PM.
__________________
There is no such thing as "No User Serviceable Parts Inside"

Last edited by genious 7; 07-24-2012 at 04:39 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 07-26-2012, 01:15 AM
whomad15 whomad15 is offline
Registered User
whomad15's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 592545
whomad15 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Is there a reason RMA is not an option?
I would go ahead and say SHIPPING COSTS.

But I'm not the one who started the posts, simply repeating what I've seen.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 07-26-2012, 12:02 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 592645
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whomad15 View Post
I would go ahead and say SHIPPING COSTS.

But I'm not the one who started the posts, simply repeating what I've seen.
Yes, I saw that as an issue and referred the poster (or anyone else) to contact our customer service if shipping is the reason why RMA is not an option.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 07-30-2012, 07:24 PM
genious 7 genious 7 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 593470
genious 7 Reputation: 10
Default

Well, to be honest, I did it because of a combination of three reasons
-Shipping costs
-I like to DIY
-I don't trust Panama's mail system (don't ask why)

If anyone is considering to attempt it, just pm me and I'll give some help. I still recommend to request an RMA though. Its a safer alternative.

http://www.instructables.com/id/Fixing-Corsair-SP2200-Crackling/



Added a couple of pics and rephrased some parts, but I mostly post it as the URL format is now more readable. By the way, if anyone likes the guide/fix, I would appreciate if they could vote me for the fix & improvement contest in instructables. Just saying.
__________________
There is no such thing as "No User Serviceable Parts Inside"
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.