The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 31 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 10-04-2011, 07:11 PM
HellraiserUK HellraiserUK is offline
Hardware God
HellraiserUK's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 532395
HellraiserUK Reputation: 10
Default

Hi,

The file may or may not have a .ROM extension - this was just to highlight the file needs to be a raw binary dump of the BIOS, not a zipped one or a self-extracting BIOS which contains the ROM and the installer. I'm pretty sure that motherboard BIOS is only available from ASrock as a self-installing executable, which is a tad annoying. The only option is to run it, let it flash the BIOS for you, then create a boot disk with amiflash on and use that to read the BIOS to a file.

Sorry this is a little generic, but I don't have that particular board :(

Hellraiser............>
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 11-19-2011, 06:18 AM
Shidapu Shidapu is offline
Registered User
Shidapu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Gothenburg - Sweden
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 542461
Shidapu Reputation: 10
Default

Im sorry for refreshing this, but im jus wondering, any chance the SB900.bin will work with SB950? i recently bought a new mainboard 990FX.

Edit:

Couldn't edit my bios file with MMtools sadly, might be too new. :)

ASUS Sabertooth AM3+.

Edit2:

Anyone knows of any other Bios editor tool?.. i really need to implement this SB900.bin file into my bios rom, so that i can boot into AHCI and flash an earlier version of my firmware, as 1.3.3 is reducing my speed on the SSD :(


Late Edit:

Found a newer version of MMTool 4.50.0.23, tried opening up my bios file with that and it seems to work, but i havn't tried implementing the SB900.bin yet, because the layout isn't the same as with the old version.. So im way too confused/scared to try atm. :P
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 12-11-2011, 06:13 AM
HellraiserUK HellraiserUK is offline
Hardware God
HellraiserUK's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 547000
HellraiserUK Reputation: 10
Default

Apologies for the delay, I've moved across to a Core i5 system now, so no longer have the AMD board. The SB900.bin is for the later Southbridges and should integrate in much the same way as previously, although the PCI ID may be different - it may be worth googling the PCI IDs you have listed under MMTool and find out which equates to IDE, AHCI and RAID controller modes. Other than that, if you flash the option ROM and it doesn't work, it shouldn't affect the BIOS itself so you would still be able to revert to your original ROM - I am assuming you have backed up the original ROM first?

Hellraiser..........>
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.