The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2019, 05:51 PM
Shonk Shonk is offline
Registered User
Shonk's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 43
POST ID # = 1022340
Shonk Reputation: 10
Default PSU Cable Compatibility

Hi

I currently have a Corsair HX Series™ HX750 Power Supply — 750 Watt 80 PLUS® Gold
SKU CP-9020031

https://www.corsair.com/uk/en/Catego.../CP-9020031-UK


and am replacing it with a Corsair HXi Series™ HX1200i High-Performance ATX Power Supply — 1200 Watt 80 Plus® PLATINUM
SKU CP-9020070

https://www.corsair.com/uk/en/Catego.../CP-9020070-UK


I have looked at
https://www.corsair.com/uk/en/psu-cable-compatibility

but its confusing at best and want to make sure 100%

Are my PSU Cables interchangeable

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-25-2019, 07:25 PM
Shonk Shonk is offline
Registered User
Shonk's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 43
POST ID # = 1022347
Shonk Reputation: 10
Default

The way i am reading it is
they both accept type 3 and type 4
so its fine?

Why does the HX1200i only use 1 x 8 pin on the psu for 2 x 8 pin for the gpu

I Would be better using 2 x spare single ones from my HX750 being as im only using 1 gpu would i not?

my gpu is very greedy and pulls upto 350W so would rather not use a shared cable (GPU only Power Draw e.g its higher at the psu after hbm2 and pcb)

Also can i go the other way and use an 8-pin EPS12V cable from the hx1200i and plug it into a spare blue 8 pin port on the back of my hx750 to populate both of my 8-pin EPS12V Sockets on my motherboard?

Last edited by Shonk; 10-25-2019 at 07:39 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-25-2019, 10:58 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,846
POST ID # = 1022357
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

350W is only about 30A. You should actually be OK with that on a single connector (OCP is at 40A).
The HX1200 only comes with two EPS/ATX (CPU) cables. It also has 6 total outputs for PCIe/CPU cables. So there's no need to plug it into the HX750.

BTW - I have an HX1200i. It's powering a ThreadRipper 2950X, an 1080Ti and a Vega56 plus a boat load of RGB. It doesn't even breath hard.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-26-2019, 09:20 AM
Shonk Shonk is offline
Registered User
Shonk's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 43
POST ID # = 1022372
Shonk Reputation: 10
Default

Hi im mainly asking for confirmation from corsair to 100% cover myself
but thanks for replying

Im not asking if they should be able to handle it corsair included them with the HX1200i so they must think they are upto it but graphics cards supply 2 8 pins for a reason
and using the included split off 8 pin is just the same as plugging in 1 8 pin into the gpu

I have 4 x Spare Single HX/TXM PCIE Braided cables sitting here doing nothing (As i have 2 HX750 PSU's)

they also look far higher wire gauge than the ones that come with the HX1200i

so I Would be better using 2 x spare single ones from my HX750 for the HX1200i would i not?

with regards to
"Also can i go the other way and use an 8-pin EPS12V cable from the hx1200i and plug it into a spare blue 8 pin port on the back of my hx750 to populate both of my 8-pin EPS12V Sockets on my motherboard? "

I know the HX1200i comes with 2 8-pin EPS12V cables so thats fine
But the HX750 Gold only comes with 1 x 8-pinEPS12V Non Modular
i was just curios if i could if desired use one of my 8-pin EPS12V modular from the HX1200i cables on the HX750 Gold to add a second EPS12V for my motherboard
(e.g. in another pc) (im not going to do this but want to know if i could which i suspect is yes)

with regards to power my HX750 Gold covers my build just fine and is 100% stable
but is on the high end of its use case when fully loaded on the gpu and cpu

the reasoning behind upgrading to the HX1200i Plat is for monitoring and hitting the sweet spot for noise/efficiency

if i fully load my cpu with an avx load it uses well over 200w on its own
fully loaded gpu is around 400w for the whole graphics card
then add the ssd's,motherboard,ram,fans and such you looking well over 700w

Last edited by Shonk; 10-26-2019 at 09:38 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-27-2019, 09:58 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,846
POST ID # = 1022439
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The 2 8 pin connectors are because the power delivery side has limitations on the current that can be delivered via the connector. It can still be on a single line from the PSU, which has a different (and higher) current limit.
If you want each one on separate rails, there's no problem with that. It's just not necessary.
The HXi and the HX Gold are compatible. See https://www.corsair.com/us/en/psu-cable-compatibility.

And ... if you want "official" confirmation from Corsair, submit a support ticket. This is a user's forum. While Corsair employees do answer some questions here, that's not the main purpose of this forum.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.