The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2018, 09:22 PM
Hapcher Hapcher is offline
Registered User
Hapcher's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 961873
Hapcher Reputation: 10
Default Ridiculous memory usage from iCUE, 400-600MB is common, seen peaks of 800MB

As the title described. Ever since updating to iCUE I noticed a need to switch it off at moments.

I was already cutting it close to my max capacity with my normal routine. Having to make an effort to close as many tabs as I can just so games would run fine and that programs won't get starved.
Now as soon as I updated I have something new to worry about.

I wonder if there's anyone else out there experiencing similar memory readings.

Using a CORSAIR STRAFE RGB, no other CORSAIR peripherals that are associated with iCUE. I have 36profiles, more than half of them are static or with very basic effects.

I'm open to try potential fixes, really hoping this isn't considered normal RAM usage for something as simple as keyboard lighting.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2018, 09:43 PM
Paul S's Avatar
Paul S Paul S is offline
Registered User
Paul S's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: England
Posts: 270
POST ID # = 961874
Paul S Reputation: 10
Default

I never checked for this but thats pretty lame man, such basic software should not be using that much ram, thats just ridiculous.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2018, 11:22 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,458
POST ID # = 961888
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

I think that the memory usage is because it keeps up to 24 hours of readings in memory for graphing. When you launch iCue, it steadily increases until it hits a max and is pretty steady from there.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2018, 12:17 PM
Hapcher Hapcher is offline
Registered User
Hapcher's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 964903
Hapcher Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for shedding some light on the potential cause, DevBiker.
Wanted to reply and say that the issue still persists. iCUE and a few other programs put me over the edge, I've decided to upgrade from 12GB to 16GB.

However this doesn't look like the end of my problems, as even after restarting my PC iCUE has gotten even worse. Every few seconds memory usage goes up 1-2MB. Goes up to 1.8GB and then crashes.
https://i.imgur.com/BNwtcYP.gifv

I haven't even done anything inside iCUE. It starts in the background, stays untouched and eats RAM worse than Chrome. This is a huge problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2018, 12:36 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,458
POST ID # = 964911
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

That's more than expected.
First, can you post your system specs?
Second, are you on the latest version of iCue?
Third, and finally, can you post logs?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2018, 01:00 PM
Hapcher Hapcher is offline
Registered User
Hapcher's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 964918
Hapcher Reputation: 10
Default

Copied from my forum profile.

Motherboard ASRock Z97 Pro3
Processor i5-4690K @4.5GHz
Memory 16GB DDR3 Corsair VENGEANCE LP, CL9, 1600MHz (2x4, 2x4),
Video Card # 1 GIGABYTE AORUS GTX 1060 6GB
Hard Drive # 1 WB Blue 1TB 7200RPM
Hard Drive # 2 Samsung SSD 860 EVO 250GB
Hard Drive # 3 PNY SSD 120GB
Power Supply Cooler Master 650W 80+Gold
Case Cooler Master K280 Mid Tower
Operating System Windows 7 64bit

First time encountering the issue it was the latest version. 3.4.95
After you mentioned it, I updated to 3.5.111

Here are all the logs I could export. I updated prior to exporting logs, worried that might've removed the older logs.

2018-07-22T18-26-37.log
2018-07-22T18-46-18.log
2018-07-22T19-12-14.log
2018-07-22T19-16-55.log
2018-07-22T19-47-26.log

In-case you wanted more specifics on the specs, here's what I found along with the logs.
SystemInfo.txt
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2018, 01:14 PM
Hapcher Hapcher is offline
Registered User
Hapcher's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 964925
Hapcher Reputation: 10
Default

I should mention that this happens on and off. After crashing twice I ran iCUE manually, it then hovered close to 300MB, now after a restart - it hovers around 200MB.

It's very irregular to spike as high as it did last time. But 300-800MB happens every now and then.

I used to think it spiked after going through most of the options inside iCUE, but after having those 1.8GB memory usage crashes with just about 20 minutes of system uptime, I'm starting to doubt that's the case.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2018, 01:20 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,458
POST ID # = 964927
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Well, since you just updated, let us know if you continue to see this with 3.5. The latest version has been pretty solid for me so they may have already fixed that leak. No point in having them chase after something that isn't an issue with the current version, ya know?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-22-2018, 01:34 PM
Hapcher Hapcher is offline
Registered User
Hapcher's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 964933
Hapcher Reputation: 10
Default

I spoke too soon. 12 minutes uptime and it's climbing again 400MB. 16 minutes 580MB, went afk for a few minutes, found it crashed.

Seems the issue still exists. Hope the logs can help you pin down the cause.

Here are some more logs:
2018-07-22T20-02-29.log
2018-07-22T20-19-06.log
2018-07-22T20-20-11.log
2018-07-22T20-21-06.log
2018-07-22T20-27-59.log

(edit) When it's stable it can be using up anywhere between 77-300MB. Most commonly ~160MB. After it starts climbing it either stops at 800MB or goes all the way until it crashes.

Last edited by Hapcher; 07-22-2018 at 01:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-22-2018, 01:45 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,458
POST ID # = 964937
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hapcher View Post
I spoke too soon. 12 minutes uptime and it's climbing again 400MB. 16 minutes 580MB, went afk for a few minutes, found it crashed.

Seems the issue still exists. Hope the logs can help you pin down the cause.

Here are some more logs:
2018-07-22T20-02-29.log
2018-07-22T20-19-06.log
2018-07-22T20-20-11.log
2018-07-22T20-21-06.log
2018-07-22T20-27-59.log
Ugh. OK, still an issue. I've reported to Corsair and will let you know if I hear anything, if they don't jump on and respond.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-24-2018, 07:00 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,505
POST ID # = 965324
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Do me a favor, when you see high memory usage, stop the Corsair Service in Services. See if that reduces memory. Most memory usage consumption is because of how our CPUID SDK is polling for system data.

On a side note, for Windows 7, we are a little limited on what we can do as the newer version of the CPUID SDK uses a Extended Validation certificate to sign drivers (which is only compatible with Win 8 and up). Therefore any improvements that CPUID releases won't be applied to iCUE running on Windows 7 systems. We are trying to see what we can do for workarounds.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.