The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2020, 02:41 PM
Blindsay04 Blindsay04 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: MA
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1061991
Blindsay04 Reputation: 10
Default Connecting 8 QL fans to a commander pro

Hey all,

About to do a new build and I think I have the RGB sorted but just want to make sure this will actually work.

I already own a Commander Pro (As well as one RGB Fan led hub). I will be buying 8x QL120 fans and I already have 4 of the LED strips

I see the 3 pack of the QL's come with a Lighting node core. Can I just plug 2 of those lighting node core's into the commander pros usb headers (I have nothing else that requires them) and then plug the LED strips into channel 1 of the commander pro. I know for power the commander pro only has 6 headers so I would just use a power splitter on 2 of them

That sound ok?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-19-2020, 07:57 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12,674
POST ID # = 1062008
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 122
Default

Yes, that will work and you can pass the USB connections from the Core(s) through the Commander. You don't have to use the Core and the QL will work on the Commander + RGB Lighting hub like other fans. However, you will need at least one core because of the numbers of fans (8) and the need to save 1 RGB channel on the Commander for the strips. The Core devices are fans only.

FYI - When using two of any device, they don't always load in the same order. Sometimes Core A is first. Sometimes Core B. The only way around that is to dump some of the QL back onto the Commander Channel 1. That would then define the global lighting order as Core -> Commander RGB 1 -> Commander RGB 2. The only reason to worry about that is if you are keen on using the Lighting Link Visor or Color Wave effects where order matters. 8 fans could be a 680x, but then it likely doesn't matter as you are running 6 + 2.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-19-2020, 08:55 PM
Blindsay04 Blindsay04 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: MA
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1062015
Blindsay04 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Yes, that will work and you can pass the USB connections from the Core(s) through the Commander. You don't have to use the Core and the QL will work on the Commander + RGB Lighting hub like other fans. However, you will need at least one core because of the numbers of fans (8) and the need to save 1 RGB channel on the Commander for the strips. The Core devices are fans only.

FYI - When using two of any device, they don't always load in the same order. Sometimes Core A is first. Sometimes Core B. The only way around that is to dump some of the QL back onto the Commander Channel 1. That would then define the global lighting order as Core -> Commander RGB 1 -> Commander RGB 2. The only reason to worry about that is if you are keen on using the Lighting Link Visor or Color Wave effects where order matters. 8 fans could be a 680x, but then it likely doesn't matter as you are running 6 + 2.

Great, Thanks for the help and tips. I will just be doing a static color so I should be ok there. Case will be a Phanteks Enthoo Pro II as I will be doing a dual system build and the 1000D was a bit much for me (especially with the ek distro plate and all these QL fans lol)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.