The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Customer Service > Warranty and RMA Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 15 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 11-09-2009, 10:24 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 425579
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

XMP only auto-configures settings. If it runs fine @ the rated speed / timings / voltage then you've gotten what you paid for and are good to go.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-10-2009, 03:45 AM
techietav techietav is offline
Registered User
techietav's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 425608
techietav Reputation: 10
Default

That's a relief. I might stick with the 2nd lot seeing as they are all the same. I'll put in 3 of the 1st lot to double check the XMP settings before I return them.
Without some that support XMP how would I have ever found out the correct settings for the BIOS?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-10-2009, 04:20 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 425613
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

They're printed on the memory label :)
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-10-2009, 04:39 AM
techietav techietav is offline
Registered User
techietav's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 425618
techietav Reputation: 10
Default

Don't want to be rude, but I did see those... To configure the advanced settings I also need tRC, tRRD, tWTR, QPIv etc. as per my earlier post. The instability I experienced with the first lot was becuase I simply used the basic settings. The reason they bothered to program XMP to configure the advanced settings is because they worked out the most stable @1600. Shame they are not posted on a web site / pdf anywhere.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-10-2009, 06:00 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 425630
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Those aren't strictly memory timings though, and aren't included in the official specs.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11-10-2009, 08:37 AM
techietav techietav is offline
Registered User
techietav's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 425646
techietav Reputation: 10
Default

Seems that XMP does configure them all though, so Corsair must have found these to be the right combination for stability.

I had trouble getting any of the sticks to run again @1600 and found that I had to completely clear the BIOS and reset all of the values by hand again to get it to run stable. I kept getting an error about voltages and it reset the speed back to defaults.

Using the 2nd lot of sticks that don't have XMP I'm now 90% through an hour memtest run without any errors, so it's looking good.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-10-2009, 01:40 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 425698
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please post a screen shot of the CPU-Z SPD tab for each module and let me know the lot number off of the modules please.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-10-2009, 04:12 PM
techietav techietav is offline
Registered User
techietav's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 425731
techietav Reputation: 10
Default

All six new sticks are lot number 09361017 and report they have no XMP and just JEDEC#1-4 support. Pic of CPU-Z showing one of the slots and the CPU-Z memory tab.
lot_09361017.jpg
lot_09361017_slot1.jpg
One of the first ones in lot number 09380765 does not support XMP and reports identical to the others in lot 09361017, the rest do support XMP as shown in the 3rd pic.
memory LOT 09380765.jpg

It was running @1333 for about 30 mins on standard voltages with manual 9-9-9-24 and the rest at auto, then crashed so I've upt the vDIMM/QPI to 1.6/1.275 to see if it can last longer.

Ideally I'd love someone to tell me how on earth to get the 1600 sticks to work @1600 on this board as it seems like a waste of money so far.

Appreciate any and all advice/tips, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-10-2009, 05:09 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 425742
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

What is the part number that is printed on the modules? The SPD shows them as HX3X121333C9 modules.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-10-2009, 05:30 PM
techietav techietav is offline
Registered User
techietav's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 425745
techietav Reputation: 10
Default

The module labels show HX3X12G1600C9 1600Mhz 12GB (6x2GB) 9-9-9-24 1.60v ver9.1 the only difference being the lot number on the two sets.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-10-2009, 05:33 PM
techietav techietav is offline
Registered User
techietav's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 425746
techietav Reputation: 10
Default

The 2nd lot were delivered in a Corsair printed box labelled with the same part code, lot number 09361017 and stamped with small red quality control mark QCB7 if that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-10-2009, 05:43 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 425749
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

It would appear the modules SPD's are not programmed properly, I would suggest talking to the reseller and if they will not help you then please contact our customer service and see if they can help you.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-10-2009, 05:45 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 425751
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

All 6 sticks from a HX3X12G1600C9 kit should be the same lot code and should be packaged together. Are you saying some of the sticks came separately from the rest?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-10-2009, 06:50 PM
techietav techietav is offline
Registered User
techietav's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 425766
techietav Reputation: 10
Default

Each set of 6 sticks were delivered as separate items so they weren't split up. The lot numbers on each set of six tie them together, just seems that they were not programmed correctly. 5 out of 12 with the correct SPD is not a number to be proud of though it it! I might have to RMA both lots back to ebuyer then and get yet another set. But I have no confidence they will be correct, I asked the ebuyer tech support whether they could check them before sending, but the items are dispatched from a warehouse so I'm likely to get the same again. I think I would rather send the 2nd lot to Corsair direct with the added assurance they would be tested before being sent out.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-11-2009, 01:09 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 425914
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I am sorry about that and I have reported that to our production staff.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hx3x12g1600c9, i7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.