The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2019, 08:33 PM
James1966 James1966 is offline
Registered User
James1966's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 1010640
James1966 Reputation: 10
Default HX-1000 Watt 80 PLUS PLATINUM

Question about power supply 12v rail selection switch as to where it should be set to and why to choose that setting over the other? SINGLE VS MULTIPLE

Multiple seems like the choice but I left it at default single setting when I bought the power supply


Reason for asking as my PC is having lock-up issues as it would randomly lock up and I have to do a hard shutdown.

thanks
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-08-2019, 09:59 PM
Waukeen Waukeen is offline
Banned
Waukeen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 263
POST ID # = 1010641
Waukeen Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James1966 View Post
Question about power supply 12v rail selection switch as to where it should be set to and why to choose that setting over the other? SINGLE VS MULTIPLE

Multiple seems like the choice but I left it at default single setting when I bought the power supply


Reason for asking as my PC is having lock-up issues as it would randomly lock up and I have to do a hard shutdown.

thanks
Multiple is safer but the PSU should handle the single fine. Unless you are really pushing the hardware in OC you shouldn't worry about single. And even then it should do fine.

What exactly is happening?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-09-2019, 01:52 AM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,882
POST ID # = 1010648
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James1966 View Post
Question about power supply 12v rail selection switch as to where it should be set to and why to choose that setting over the other? SINGLE VS MULTIPLE

Multiple seems like the choice but I left it at default single setting when I bought the power supply
Weird. Default should be multiple +12V rail. This is because it's a "safety feature", since it's possible someone can short something out when the PC is being built.

Quote:
Originally Posted by James1966 View Post
Reason for asking as my PC is having lock-up issues as it would randomly lock up and I have to do a hard shutdown.

thanks
That would have nothing to do with the PSU. If the OCP for the +12V rail was being surpassed, the PSU would shut down. The PSU isn't going to "lock up" your system.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-09-2019, 06:48 PM
James1966 James1966 is offline
Registered User
James1966's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 1010722
James1966 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply as I may have found the problem as my system been running for the last close to 24 hours without a crash.
What it looks like as it could be Mystic Light that is causing the crash as I have a MSI motherboard with a MSI 2080 Gaming X Trio which has to use Mystic lights own software to control it's RGB. Mystic Light and iCUE always got along with each other so I can not say if it's Mystic Light or Corsair is the blame as every time I install iCUE the system would crash. I really didn't look if it was Mystic Light as even the mother board has a Corsair RGB link so it never crossed my mind. My wish would be this companies got together and talked as it's the end users that pay the price for who controls what in your system. I guess I will have to live with no control on my video card rgb till a future update that address the problem or Corsair adds MSI video cards to iCUE
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-09-2019, 07:09 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,993
POST ID # = 1010725
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

Make sure you kill both the Mystic Light App first, then the LED Keeper process before attempting to install iCUE. Once iCUE has successfully installed, you can launch Mystic Light again. This is a good idea for installation, but I am running similar hardware and have not had any massive lockups like what you are describing. It is possible the underlying cause is something else.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-17-2019, 08:40 PM
James1966 James1966 is offline
Registered User
James1966's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 1011647
James1966 Reputation: 10
Default

thanks for the reply... I remove the Audio Card ... ran a few days crashed.. so not audio card.. I ran a Intel CPU test and all came back fine. Next I going to remove the HX1000 Power Supply and put back in the HX850 that was originally I replaced and watch.

there would be only so many other things that would cause a lockup... motherboard? who knows ..
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-22-2019, 07:56 PM
James1966 James1966 is offline
Registered User
James1966's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 1012142
James1966 Reputation: 10
Default

Update

It was my Motherboard that was the issue as I found a thread on MSI site with the same issues I am having so I am sending it back for a replacement and I went on a gamble to prove it was the board as I replaced my MSI MEG Z390 ACE to a Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER as I am pleased on how well this one preforms :)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.