The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2016, 01:05 AM
nitrousable nitrousable is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 858834
nitrousable Reputation: 10
Important I think I've figured out the cause of background noise issue with VOID

I've seen a lot of threads on this forums with users complaining about Void's background noise when turning up the volume >50%+
I've done a lot of testing to try and figure out what the issue was. First thing I did was uninstalling CUE. It completely fixed the problem and the background noise disappeared but that's not a very good solution since you need CUE for dolby surround.

Today I've tried disabling shadow play and it made the sound go away! I now can turn up the volume to 100% without any sort of background noise going on. As soon as I turn the shadow play back on it starts to hiss again.

To the guys with the same problem: try disabling ShadowPlay or any sort of recording program that you're using and see if it fixes the issue for you.

I'm pretty sure it's some sort of incompatibility between CUE and ShadowPlay. Devs need to look into that
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-20-2016, 05:55 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,449
POST ID # = 858951
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Is the background noise related to Dolby? If you disable Dolby, its no different than quitting CUE. It could just be reverb related to Shadowplay and Dolby but we can check.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-20-2016, 06:20 PM
nitrousable nitrousable is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 858958
nitrousable Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
Is the background noise related to Dolby? If you disable Dolby, its no different than quitting CUE. It could just be reverb related to Shadowplay and Dolby but we can check.
I don't think so. If I disable dolby the sound is still there. Even if I completely turn off CUE the sound is still there. It only disappears after I uninstall CUE/or disable ShadowPlay. The only way I can use the headset with ShadowPlay without having to deal with background noise is if I uninstall CUE

Last edited by nitrousable; 06-20-2016 at 06:40 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-20-2016, 06:41 PM
nitrousable nitrousable is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 858961
nitrousable Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
Is the background noise related to Dolby? If you disable Dolby, its no different than quitting CUE. It could just be reverb related to Shadowplay and Dolby but we can check.
Btw you could be right about reverb. Sometimes, very rarely when I say something in my VOID mic I can hear myself in the headset with a little delay. Even though the sidetone and listen to this device is disabled. I wasn't sure what to make of this until you mentioned reverb and that seems like a decent explanation
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-20-2016, 09:29 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,449
POST ID # = 858980
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

I just checked with the systems in the lab and I can't reproduce this with Shadowplay. I had the guys try to hear it as well in case maybe its a sound I can't hear, but nothing. I'll keep an eye out though.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-20-2016, 09:59 PM
nitrousable nitrousable is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 858983
nitrousable Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
I just checked with the systems in the lab and I can't reproduce this with Shadowplay. I had the guys try to hear it as well in case maybe its a sound I can't hear, but nothing. I'll keep an eye out though.
Damn it. I wish there was a way to show you how it is on my system. Other people had this problem too so I'm surely not the only one. I'm at a loss why is this happening

I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling CUE. It got rid of the hissing sound only to be swapped by some very high ultra sound. It was much more annoying than just hissing so I had to use system restore to go back to the point where I still had my previous CUE installation intact. Hissing returned

Last edited by nitrousable; 06-20-2016 at 10:06 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-20-2016, 10:18 PM
nitrousable nitrousable is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 858984
nitrousable Reputation: 10
Default

One more thing: make sure you check "Allow desktop capture" in ShadowPlay settings. If you don't then ShadowPlay won't work outside of games and there will be no hissing sound

Last edited by nitrousable; 06-21-2016 at 12:49 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
background, corsair, noise, shadow, void

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.