The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2015, 02:43 PM
hyrtuer hyrtuer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 813882
hyrtuer Reputation: 10
Question New Strafe Keyboard is recognized as malfunction

Hello.

I bought this keyboard today. Its a brand new one. I have just installed the Corsair Utility Engine. However, it appears like this:



Full image

Is the keyboard faulty?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-13-2015, 03:27 PM
terabyte's Avatar
terabyte terabyte is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
terabyte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,360
POST ID # = 813894
terabyte Reputation: 44
Default

Try using a different USB port and see what happens.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-17-2015, 07:42 AM
hyrtuer hyrtuer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 814812
hyrtuer Reputation: 10
Default

Hello.

Thanks for your reply terabyte.

However, I already tried it.

Here is the ticket I opened on Corsair Official Support webpage, read from the end.

Quote:
Created By: Technical Support Rep (10/14/2015 12:05 PM)
There are some limitations to using outdated hardware that we cannot account for.

Created By: Michael Trullas Garcia (10/14/2015 11:07 AM)
Hello.

I have been able to update the firmware of the keyboard on another computer. In that one, the keyboard is recognized well and the lights wave and all seems to be working well. However I don not understand why on my computer it dosen't work well. Why? Is it the chipset or what is the problem? Is not this keyboard supposed to work with usb 2.0 on all computers?

Created By: Technical Support Rep (10/14/2015 9:16 AM)
If you get the same errors on other computers, please initiate an exchange through your retailer.

Created By: Michael Trullas Garcia (10/14/2015 9:06 AM)
Hello, Technical Support Rep

Thanks for the answer.

I have tried all the USB ports I have. It does the same. All the ports are USB 2.0, I do not have USB 3.0 or other versions. I am using the 1.11.85 version of CUE.

I will try the keyboard with other computer/computers and I will post the results.

Created By: Technical Support Rep (10/14/2015 8:39 AM)
Our apologies for the inconvenience Michael. Does unplugging/replugging reset the status? Is it plugged into a USB 2.0/3.0? Is the issue replicated on a different computer? Which version of CUE are you using?

My message:

I bought a a brand new Corsair Strafe Keyboard some days ago. The part number is CH-9000088-ES. It was bought in Spain. I have been forced to select CH-9000088-UK because my model is not on the list.

My problem with the keyboard is that it is recognized as malfunction in the Corsair Utility Engine software.
So the problem is my computer, but no problem because I'll change it early :D
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-20-2015, 01:33 AM
megallag65 megallag65 is offline
Registered User
megallag65's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 815295
megallag65 Reputation: 10
Confused Strafe RGB - Recognized As Malfunction

I have the same problem. I have to reboot about 90% of the time multiple times (1 to 4 times) to get the keyboard NOT be "recognized as malfunction". Once the Strafe RGB is recognized properly, the lighting profile automatically starts as normal. I have tried clean installs of the latest driver, tried different USB ports (mine are 3.0 ports), installed as 1 connector, and later 2 connector to see if that would help, booted full boot (not quick boot), enabled legacy USB support, that's it. Nothing changes this behavior.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-20-2015, 11:55 AM
Corsair Henry's Avatar
Corsair Henry Corsair Henry is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Henry's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,403
POST ID # = 815377
Corsair Henry Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by megallag65 View Post
I have the same problem. I have to reboot about 90% of the time multiple times (1 to 4 times) to get the keyboard NOT be "recognized as malfunction". Once the Strafe RGB is recognized properly, the lighting profile automatically starts as normal. I have tried clean installs of the latest driver, tried different USB ports (mine are 3.0 ports), installed as 1 connector, and later 2 connector to see if that would help, booted full boot (not quick boot), enabled legacy USB support, that's it. Nothing changes this behavior.
When was the last time you updated your BIOS or USB drivers? Do you have another computer where you can plug the keyboard to see if it behaves the same? If it doesn't, then this indicates it's not the hardware.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-08-2017, 11:09 AM
Justiful Justiful is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 925722
Justiful Reputation: 10
Default

Figured out this exact issue for myself. I realize this post is old. But it shows up near first in google.

USB 3.1 gen 2 ports don't work. I tried many computers. It comes down to USB 3.1 gen 2 having some form of issue. On three different computers. I don't know why. I don't know how. I just know I was able to get it to work on 2.0 and 3.0 and 3.1 gen 1 ports.

So essentially plug it into different ports. Just to add to this, these where MSI motherboards. No idea if that makes a difference.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
corsair, keyboard, malfunction, strafe

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.