The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2012, 09:24 PM
midniteboss midniteboss is offline
Registered User
midniteboss's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 603704
midniteboss Reputation: 10
Default H100 BROKE! RMA?!? Please Help!

Since last month, I've been using my H100 on my i7 3770k with a 4.5 ghz and its been running fine. Temperatures would never go over 75 after 5-6 hours of running prime95.

But when I turned on my computer today and checked my temperatures, I noticed that my idle temperatures were a bit too high on idle. Usually they sit at around 18-25 degrees Celsius but today this time they were sitting at around 35-42 degrees.

I checked all my cables and they were fine because I haven't even touched the thing in a month since I installed it and immediately overclocked it.

I decided to run prime95 and immediately my temperatures hit TJ Max and my system shut off.

I cleared my cmos and went back into windows and checked my temperatures again. Surprisingly they were still the same at idle.

So I decided to run prime95 once again and after 20 seconds, my temperatures reached 100 degrees so I exited prime quickly before I hit TJ Max again.

I turned off my system and uninstalled the h100 and checked the thermal paste and it was fine. I even tried reapplying a new set of thermal paste but it didn't solve the problem.

So I took the H100 out of my system and installed the intel heat sink.

When I turned on my computer to check temperatures, it was idling at around 24-30c which is really good for the intel heat sink.

I even ran prime95 and the highest temperatures it reached was 60-65 which is completely normal for the intel heat sink and I think that's even considered low in some cases as well.

So there is definitely a problem with the H100.
Im thinking that I just got unlucky.
I still have my receipt and the box that it came with so what can I do now?

Will you guys be able to replace the H100 with a new one if I ship it out to you? It was purchased on the 17th of August.

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-21-2012, 05:53 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 603756
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Check the molex connection and the pump's RPM in the BIOS.

The 3-pin header should be plugged into the CPU_FAN header.
If it is, The BIOS should read the CPU_FAN RPM around 2000-2200RPM.

If it is under 2000RPM, request an RMA to replace the H100.

Yes, Corsair will send you a new unit to replace your faulty one.
If you need your H100 quickly, call customer service by phone and ask for a Advanced RMA. If you are outside US, You can use Skype to call Corsair's toll-free number.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
3770k, h100, high, i7, temperatures

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.