The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2019, 01:36 AM
TQM888 TQM888 is offline
Registered User
TQM888's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 996571
TQM888 Reputation: 10
Exclamation Commander Pro Malfunction

Hey guys,

So I built my first Gaming PC recently, and everything seems to be working right. Except the other day, my commander Pro suddenly stopped working.

I was downloading the drivers for my motherboard at the time, when all of a sudden I noticed all the fans hand stopped dead and the LED’s where no longer working. The CP was no longer showing up in Corsair Link or ICUE either.

I have 6 SP120 fans plugged into the CP and LED hub. I’ve tried all the troubleshooting I can think of/have seen on here:

- Tried a different USB header.
- Reset and shut down the PC.
- Uninstalled and reinstalled both Corsair Link and iCUE.
- Pressed and held the reset button on the CP, etc.

The USB ports on the CP still seem to be working, which have my PSU (Corsair rm850i) and AIO pump (Corsair H100i Pro) plugged into them.

I did read on here that you shouldn’t hot swap fans on the CP while the system is on. Which I did and now wonder if that caused it to stop working?
I noticed the CP was very hot when I touched it to swap the fan plugs over, before it stopped working. But the room temperature was very hot as well, so I didn’t really think much of it. Is it possible it over heated?

I had it plugged into one of the plugs on the SATA x4 cord I got with my PSU. The other 3 SATA plugs have the LED hub, pump and the Corsair LED light on the 570x case plugged into the cord. Was this maybe to much power going through the cord or something?

I also wonder if it is possible that one of the drivers I download is effecting the CP? Since it happened while I was downloading the drivers. I had no idea what drivers I really needed so I just downloaded all of them. https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard...-10#support-dl

Sorry for the long post, but I just wanted to try and narrow down if I did something wrong before I get another CP and make the same mistake.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!
Thanks in advance ! :)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-06-2019, 01:59 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,391
POST ID # = 996572
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Well, that's certainly odd. Nothing that you mentioned strikes me as something that should cause the CoPro just just die on you.
I would contact Corsair Support and start an RMA rather than going out and buying a new one.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-06-2019, 11:10 PM
TQM888 TQM888 is offline
Registered User
TQM888's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 996693
TQM888 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply. I’ve contacted Corsair and they suggested an RMA as well, so I’ll get started on that.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
commander pro, malfunction

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.