The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2019, 03:56 PM
Chymerix Chymerix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 1011922
Chymerix Reputation: 10
Default MP600 2 TB Slow Performance

Hi,

I'm running a 2 TB MP600 drive with latest firmware (11.1) on an Aorus Xtreme X570 motherboard also with the latest firmware (F3e).

I seem to be getting performance readings that are notably worse than others in CrystalDiskMark especially on the seq write and 4K Q8T8 writes (almost a factor of 2 off).

mp600 benchmark.png

Compare this to reviews at these locations:
- https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Force...ustomerReviews

- https://www.guru3d.com/articles_page...review,14.html

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-25-2019, 08:28 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 177
POST ID # = 1012542
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Have you downloaded our SSD Toolbox yet? https://www.corsair.com/us/en/downloads and search "toolbox"

Try to update the firmware on the SSD and report back. Out of curiosity, do you have other data reading/writing processes running at the time of the benchmark? Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-26-2019, 02:51 PM
Chymerix Chymerix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 1012635
Chymerix Reputation: 10
Default

Hi, as noted I am running the latest firmware - I upgraded using the SSD toolbox.

I just ran the test again after confirming there are no other reading or writing processes. Similar result. See attached.

Any suggestions? Should I return the drive?

MP600 Benchmark 2.jpg
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-26-2019, 03:25 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 177
POST ID # = 1012644
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

What CPU are you using?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-26-2019, 03:25 PM
Chymerix Chymerix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 1012645
Chymerix Reputation: 10
Default

Ryzen 3900x
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-26-2019, 03:38 PM
Chymerix Chymerix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 1012647
Chymerix Reputation: 10
Default

64GB of RAM

4x Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB DDR4-3200 PC4-25600 CL16
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-26-2019, 05:18 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 177
POST ID # = 1012656
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Hm, with that CPU, the 4K performance should be much better. I was wondering if you were potentially running running a 3600.

If it's not too much trouble, hang tight, I'm going to see if I can get some more information.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-26-2019, 05:30 PM
Farbrormelker Farbrormelker is offline
Registered User
Farbrormelker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1012659
Farbrormelker Reputation: 10
Default

Hi i also recently bought an mp600 and my problem is instead that you can see thermal pad sticking out of heatsink by around 1 cm is this a problem ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190725_194052.jpg (2.81 MB, 90 views)

Last edited by Farbrormelker; 07-26-2019 at 05:36 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-26-2019, 05:43 PM
Hamerson Hamerson is offline
Registered User
Hamerson's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1012668
Hamerson Reputation: 10
Default Poor performance

I was I was getting the performance you are getting Chymerix. I am only getting only 54% of the advertised performance. Nothing using HDD at the time of the test. Any insight would be nice.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot (3).png (129.2 KB, 97 views)

Last edited by Hamerson; 07-26-2019 at 05:47 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-29-2019, 07:01 PM
Chymerix Chymerix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 1013012
Chymerix Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Kevin View Post
Hm, with that CPU, the 4K performance should be much better. I was wondering if you were potentially running running a 3600.

If it's not too much trouble, hang tight, I'm going to see if I can get some more information.
Hi Kevin - any updates for us? My return window closes in a few days. Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-30-2019, 01:54 AM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 177
POST ID # = 1013029
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

OP, can you try running the 4KiB as Q32T8 rather than Q8T8? We'd like to see the results of that test. Thank you.

Sorry for the delay. I returned to the office today.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 07-30-2019, 07:31 AM
Chymerix Chymerix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 1013047
Chymerix Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Kevin View Post
OP, can you try running the 4KiB as Q32T8 rather than Q8T8? We'd like to see the results of that test. Thank you.

Sorry for the delay. I returned to the office today.
No problem. Please see attached - not much difference.

MP600 Benchmark 3.jpg
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 07-30-2019, 03:23 PM
Hamerson Hamerson is offline
Registered User
Hamerson's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1013126
Hamerson Reputation: 10
Default

Kevin and Chymerix. Well I figured out one part of my problem. For some odd reason my BIOS was defaulting the CPU yo 800Mhz. I changed the setting to Auto and it now sees the CPU at 3.6Ghz and will boost clock now. I reran the test and got solid solid numbers (see The attached). I was curious about the test Kevin had you run Chymerix so I ran the test as well and have attached the results as well for reference.

Kevin I would also appreciate any feedback to let me know my test numbers look on par to you as well. Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot (5).png (118.7 KB, 69 views)
File Type: png Screenshot (7).png (127.4 KB, 59 views)
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 08-01-2019, 01:24 PM
Chymerix Chymerix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 1013379
Chymerix Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Kevin View Post
OP, can you try running the 4KiB as Q32T8 rather than Q8T8? We'd like to see the results of that test. Thank you.

Sorry for the delay. I returned to the office today.
Hi Kevin, any updates?
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 08-02-2019, 01:12 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 177
POST ID # = 1013502
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Chymerix,
Can you share screenshots of your BIOS? I'm interested to see what the configuration(s) look like.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.