Corsair Community

Can't boot Win 7 64bit after installing CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9B

neuroleptick

Hi there.

This is my first forum post so be gentle with me and please forgive any Faux pas on my part :-)

The problem I have is that I cannot get my desktop PC to boot (Win 7 64 bit) after fitting the new Vengeance chips that came in the post today.

They are model CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9B Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB).

I'm running the latest BIOS for my MOBO (F7), and if I put the old DDR3 chip back in then it boots up fine, so I don't really understand what the deal is.

As you can probably gather - I'm a bit of a newbie, so any advice would be very warmly received, as I have been trying different things for about 5 hours or so, but to no avail :-(

If anyone has any suggestions, I would love to hear them.

It's just possible you could stop me from pulling what's left of my hair out!

With respect and thanks in anticipation.

Darren (neuroleptick).

What happens when you try to boot with the new modules? Nothing, just a black screen, any message or....? Are you able to boot into BIOS?

You haven´t been specific about what you have done so far in trying to solve the problem, but normally you just need to install the new modules, enable XMP in the BIOS and then restart. A good advice is to clear CMOS (use m/b jumpers or remove the battery), install the new modules, then boot into BIOS, enable XMP and reenter the other BIOS settings. After that, try to boot into Windows.

Hello Darren.

When you run computer did you see something on the screen? I mean bios informations? load screen or just black monitor? If you see just go and post for us the message/error that you see in the monitor.

And where did you buy this ram? It's new it's second hand? If you have black screen just put it in other computer and if you have the same problem that it means that ram is bad)

Hi there guys.

Thanks for the responses to my original query.

Sorry if my original post was a little vague.