The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2018, 06:07 AM
MrSirenz MrSirenz is offline
Registered User
MrSirenz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 957987
MrSirenz Reputation: 10
Question ML140 PRO FAN Issues

I bought a 120mm ML140 for the exhaust (back) area of my case which is a NZXT H440.

The RPMs operate really high for no reason at random times. Especially while running Rainbow Six Siege via Steam for some reason. It stays silent during light use and even while playing other high demanding games.

I've set a lower fan curve in the BIOS as well as many other different settings and it hasn't changed a thing.

I also installed AI Suite Suite 3, optimized all fans and even used the RPM fix option, still no change.

Any ideas? It's driving me insane at this stage!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-07-2018, 09:50 AM
Cosmocalypse Cosmocalypse is offline
Registered User
Cosmocalypse's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 958012
Cosmocalypse Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSirenz View Post
I bought a 120mm ML140 for the exhaust (back) area of my case which is a NZXT H440.

The RPMs operate really high for no reason at random times. Especially while running Rainbow Six Siege via Steam for some reason. It stays silent during light use and even while playing other high demanding games.

I've set a lower fan curve in the BIOS as well as many other different settings and it hasn't changed a thing.

I also installed AI Suite Suite 3, optimized all fans and even used the RPM fix option, still no change.

Any ideas? It's driving me insane at this stage!
How do you have the fan connected? Sys_Fan?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-07-2018, 12:28 PM
MrSirenz MrSirenz is offline
Registered User
MrSirenz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 958032
MrSirenz Reputation: 10
Default

It's connected straight into the Motherboard, Chassis Fan 3.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-07-2018, 12:45 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,246
POST ID # = 958034
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

And what are the settings for Chassis Fan 3? Is it set to PWM or DC? What's the source temperature? Any hysteresis?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-07-2018, 01:03 PM
MrSirenz MrSirenz is offline
Registered User
MrSirenz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 958039
MrSirenz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
And what are the settings for Chassis Fan 3? Is it set to PWM or DC? What's the source temperature? Any hysteresis?
It's set to PWM, just ran Speed Fan and the fan is reading at 50c temp which is very high?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-07-2018, 01:19 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,246
POST ID # = 958044
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSirenz View Post
It's set to PWM, just ran Speed Fan and the fan is reading at 50c temp which is very high?
Fans don't provide temperatures. There will be a source temperature for the fan curve - either CPU or one of the motherboard's onboard temperature sensors.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-07-2018, 02:05 PM
Cosmocalypse Cosmocalypse is offline
Registered User
Cosmocalypse's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 958059
Cosmocalypse Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSirenz View Post
It's set to PWM, just ran Speed Fan and the fan is reading at 50c temp which is very high?
I recommend setting the fan speed in your BIOS instead of a program. I would set it to whatever noise you are comfortable with and don't tie it to CPU temp.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-07-2018, 03:38 PM
MrSirenz MrSirenz is offline
Registered User
MrSirenz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 958084
MrSirenz Reputation: 10
Default

I have already tried setting to desired levels in the BIOS but the rpms still go high randomly? Any other suggestions?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-07-2018, 03:45 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,246
POST ID # = 958086
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Anything you set in AISuite will override the BIOS.

And, in all honesty, it sounds more like an issue with your BIOS or AISuite. The fan responds to the PWM signal and/or voltage supplied from the fan header. It doesn't control the fan header.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-07-2018, 04:19 PM
MrSirenz MrSirenz is offline
Registered User
MrSirenz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 958089
MrSirenz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmocalypse View Post
I recommend setting the fan speed in your BIOS instead of a program. I would set it to whatever noise you are comfortable with and don't tie it to CPU temp.
Just discovered that it was tied to the CPU so I set it to the motherboard and now it's silent. Thank you so much!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
fan, ml140, rpm

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.