The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 04-04-2017, 06:16 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 898102
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

Try turning your polling rate down to 500Mhz/2ms.

One of the things that Corsair Utility Engine does when it activates is apply all of the settings it controls. For example, Polling Rate. So, if CUE's activation suddenly causes a disconnect, then it could be a setting which changes once CUE is on.

Please note, the driver actually changes slightly when CUE is activated. When CUE is not running, the mouse is likely using the standard Windows HID driver. When CUE is on, it is using several Corsair specific drivers in order to coordinate Macros and Lighting changes. Sudden communication issues related to the drivers could cause this issue of a sudden disconnect.

But, please remember that issues such as this can also be hard to track. Because of this, please make sure to provide a copy of your system information, and perhaps the logs generated by CUE when you open it.

Logs are located here: C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Local\Corsair\CUE\logs
DXDiag help: https://wizards.custhelp.com/app/ans...tail/a_id/1271 (ignore that this a Wizards of the Coast link. Just a good rundown)

Also, please remember to create a ticket with our technical support team so they can coordinate that information with the devs.

Thanks,

Last edited by Corsair Calico Jack; 04-04-2017 at 06:55 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 04-06-2017, 06:03 PM
blackbird7 blackbird7 is offline
Registered User
blackbird7's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 898355
blackbird7 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Victor View Post
Try turning your polling rate down to 500Mhz/2ms.

One of the things that Corsair Utility Engine does when it activates is apply all of the settings it controls. For example, Polling Rate. So, if CUE's activation suddenly causes a disconnect, then it could be a setting which changes once CUE is on.

Please note, the driver actually changes slightly when CUE is activated. When CUE is not running, the mouse is likely using the standard Windows HID driver. When CUE is on, it is using several Corsair specific drivers in order to coordinate Macros and Lighting changes. Sudden communication issues related to the drivers could cause this issue of a sudden disconnect.

But, please remember that issues such as this can also be hard to track. Because of this, please make sure to provide a copy of your system information, and perhaps the logs generated by CUE when you open it.

Logs are located here: C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Local\Corsair\CUE\logs
DXDiag help: https://wizards.custhelp.com/app/ans...tail/a_id/1271 (ignore that this a Wizards of the Coast link. Just a good rundown)

Also, please remember to create a ticket with our technical support team so they can coordinate that information with the devs.

Thanks,
Thanks for the tip. I tried polling rates of both 500 and 250 Hz, but I still receive the disconnect sound. I went ahead and submitted a ticket regarding the issue and included the logs.

I'll go ahead and mention here that the logs do contain multiple "Failed to open device..." and "Cannot find path for manifest key..." errors. I listed a few snippets from the log below.

2017-04-06T17:12:57 I cue.dev: Initializing K95 RGB PLATINUM...
2017-04-06T17:12:57 I cue.dev: Failed to open device: vid=1b1c pid=1b2d path=\\?\hid#vid_1b1c&pid_1b2d&mi_00#7&1e6dbac0&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}
2017-04-06T17:12:57 I cue.dev: Failed to open device: vid=1b1c pid=1b2d path=\\?\hid#vid_1b1c&pid_1b2d&mi_01&col01#7&b3d9e82&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}
2017-04-06T17:12:57 I cue.dev: Failed to open device: vid=1b1c pid=1b2d path=\\?\hid#vid_1b1c&pid_1b2d&mi_01&col05#7&b3d9e82&0&0004#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}
2017-04-06T17:12:57 I cue.dev: Initialized (st=1) K95 RGB PLATINUM.


I'm open to trying any other ideas you might have while awaiting a response through Corsair's support ticket mechanism.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 04-10-2017, 05:00 AM
Spiricore Spiricore is offline
Registered User
Spiricore's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Idaho, USA
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 898732
Spiricore Reputation: 10
Default

I'll be curious to see what happens. This occurs for me, too, but it haven't noticed it affect anything once all is said and done.

K70 LUX RGB
Windows 10 Pro x64

2017-04-10T02:46:00 C dev.manifest: Cannot find path for manifest key QPair(1133,49714)
2017-04-10T02:46:00 I cue.dev: Manifest for device vid=46d pid=c232 not found.
2017-04-10T02:46:00 C dev.manifest: Cannot find path for manifest key QPair(1133,49277)
2017-04-10T02:46:00 I cue.dev: Failed to open device: vid=1b1c pid=1b33 path=\\?\hid#vid_1b1c&pid_1b33&mi_01&col01#7&d7340d1&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}
2017-04-10T02:46:00 I cue.dev: Attached to device object K70 LUX RGB: b=0 a=0
2017-04-10T02:46:00 C dev.manifest: Cannot find path for manifest key QPair(1133,49713)
2017-04-10T02:46:00 I cue.dev: Manifest for device vid=46d pid=c231 not found.
2017-04-10T02:46:00 I cue.dev: Failed to open device: vid=1b1c pid=1b33 path=\\?\hid#vid_1b1c&pid_1b33&mi_00#7&314a7e93&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}
2017-04-10T02:46:00 I cue.dev: Attached to device object K70 LUX RGB: b=0 a=1
2017-04-10T02:46:00 I cue.dev: Initializing K70 LUX RGB...
2017-04-10T02:46:00 I cue.dev: Attached to device object K70 LUX RGB: b=1 a=1
2017-04-10T02:46:00 I cue.dev: Initialized (st=1) K70 LUX RGB.

Seems to work, but I was curious what the hell kept creating the USB disconnect sound to fire.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 04-12-2017, 03:11 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,456
POST ID # = 899087
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Go to the device manager. Select "Universal Serial Bus Controllers". In that sub menu, Next double click the first "USB Root Hub" entry. Next select the "Power Management" tab, and uncheck "allow the computer to turn off this device to save power".

Do this for all of them and see if you still have issues. To be more elaborate, CUE always will poll the USB ports to detect your RGB peripherals. If your USB port is using a hub for example (not physical hub but USB device hub on motherboard), youll get the disconnect sound because the hub didn't enumerate correctly to our polling request.

You can use software like USBDeview to see what is triggering the sound when it happens as well to isolate the issue: http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/usb_devices_view.html
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 04-19-2017, 11:25 AM
weeswolf weeswolf is offline
Registered User
weeswolf's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 899882
weeswolf Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
Go to the device manager. Select "Universal Serial Bus Controllers". In that sub menu, Next double click the first "USB Root Hub" entry. Next select the "Power Management" tab, and uncheck "allow the computer to turn off this device to save power".

Do this for all of them and see if you still have issues. To be more elaborate, CUE always will poll the USB ports to detect your RGB peripherals. If your USB port is using a hub for example (not physical hub but USB device hub on motherboard), youll get the disconnect sound because the hub didn't enumerate correctly to our polling request.

You can use software like USBDeview to see what is triggering the sound when it happens as well to isolate the issue: http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/usb_devices_view.html
I have exactly the same problem and have also established that the CUE software is the cause, regardless whether I run 1.xx or 2.xx on my Win 10 x64 1607 build 14393.1066 machine. The problem relates to both a K70 RGB and a Strafe RGB keyboard. I wish to add that I have also tested it with various sound cards because I thought it was a sound card issue, i.e. onboard Realtek, Sound Blaster Z, Asus Strix and a USB Sound Blaster G5, but it makes no difference.

I followed the advice above, i.e. to uncheck the "allow the computer to turn off this device to save power" option in all my root hubs but to no avail. The USB disconnect sounds still plays after a cold boot when the CUE software loads. So I downloaded the USBDeview utility and made a screenshot since I don't know how to pinpoint the cause of the problem based on the results.

Please help.

Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 04-19-2017, 04:44 PM
Aremes's Avatar
Aremes Aremes is offline
Registered User
Aremes's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 899922
Aremes Reputation: 10
Default

I too have the same issue with the startup USB device disconnect sound. My symptoms are identical to all previous posters. I have also ensured that the "allow the computer to turn off this device to save power" is disabled for all my USB hub devices.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 05-19-2017, 02:41 PM
SimondsUnchaind SimondsUnchaind is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 903933
SimondsUnchaind Reputation: 10
Default

I too am having USB DAC disconnecting issues. Schiit Jotunheim disconnects and reconnects pretty quickly but happens at random while gaming. sometimes only reconnecting once plugged into a different port. Only recently, all of USB devices will lose power for around 5 seconds. even though half of them are plugged into a en externally powered USB hub.

EDIT: I tried uninstalling Corsair CUE and after a few hours of PC-ing, I did not have a single power drop or DAC disconnect. Also, when I uninstalled the CUE client, as the drivers were being uninstalled, my Yeti mic and usb DAC disconnected and reinstalled. I tried updating the Corsair Client before the uninstall but it would only give me "errors"

I really do like my K70 keyboard and M65 mouse so hopefully this can be fixed.

EDIT #2: I still have CUE uninstalled and the complete power drops to all USB devices have stopped but my USB dac still randomly disconnects and reconnects while gaming. Still have no idea whats causing this.

EDIT #3: I still have CUE uninstalled and once again I experienced 2 power drops and my DAC is still randomly disconnecting at times. Not sure CUE can be blamed for my issues currently. Still no solution in sight.

Last edited by SimondsUnchaind; 05-26-2017 at 12:58 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 05-29-2017, 02:22 PM
mastergilgalad mastergilgalad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 906119
mastergilgalad Reputation: 10
Default

I have exact the same problem like most of the people in this thread. If CUE is activated I get this anoying disconnect sound. If it's off everything is fine, no noise at all. Even running CUE in a compatibility mode does nothing change.
Interestingly running my I5 3570 there isn't this problem.
Running my new Ryzen 1600 this problem appears first. I just changed the mainboard, RAM and CPU so the operating system (on my SSD) is exactly the same.
Another software makes a similar problem. The logitech gaming software for my g430 headset makes a "connecting usb" noise. Tooks me some time to get the point that one program (logitech) makes a connecting noise and ANOTHER program (corsair cue) makes the disconnecting noise... so maybe that is a problem with the amd USB drivers and these problems? Maybe with USB 3.0 or 3.1 or whatever these new b350 mainboards have.... But just the programs make this noise. The headset is also fine when the logitech software isn't running... really akward
Has anyone a solution? All the tips postet here didn't work. I not tried the windows hotfix cause its for a wrong windows version (I have windows 10 pro)

The one have is the K70 RGB LUX
What I also wonder is. On the webpage is a information that I need just to plut the USB with a keyboard symbol on in a USB 3.0 Port. But if I do so I can't use the USB Passthrough port. The Passthrough is just available with both USB cables pluged in. It doesnt matter if I use a 2.0, 3.0 or 3.1 Port

Last edited by mastergilgalad; 05-29-2017 at 04:13 PM. Reason: more information
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 06-23-2017, 01:45 PM
Alexxlvii Alexxlvii is offline
Registered User
Alexxlvii's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 909210
Alexxlvii Reputation: 10
Default

Hello, I just purchased a K55 and am having the same issue where my K55 keyboard keeps disconnecting over and over. Oddly enough it was fine for a week after I got it and just started happening shortly after a Windows update. I have narrowed it down to not only CUE running that crashes the keyboard, but also the lighting. If I use a static color, say just "blue", the keyboard is fine. As soon as I set the keyboard to use Rainbow lighting it will start to disconnect. . I would recommend for anyone having this similar issue to try forcing a static color to see if that helps. I'm not really happy with that being the only way to use my new keyboard, as I really was sold on the lighting options. I'm really hoping this gets fixed otherwise I will have to send it back to Amazon :/

Windows 10 x64
K55
Latest CUE
Latest firmware
Corsair Harpoon also. No issues with the mouse.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 06-23-2017, 05:17 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,456
POST ID # = 909225
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexxlvii View Post
Hello, I just purchased a K55 and am having the same issue where my K55 keyboard keeps disconnecting over and over. Oddly enough it was fine for a week after I got it and just started happening shortly after a Windows update. I have narrowed it down to not only CUE running that crashes the keyboard, but also the lighting. If I use a static color, say just "blue", the keyboard is fine. As soon as I set the keyboard to use Rainbow lighting it will start to disconnect. . I would recommend for anyone having this similar issue to try forcing a static color to see if that helps. I'm not really happy with that being the only way to use my new keyboard, as I really was sold on the lighting options. I'm really hoping this gets fixed otherwise I will have to send it back to Amazon :/

Windows 10 x64
K55
Latest CUE
Latest firmware
Corsair Harpoon also. No issues with the mouse.
We are diagnosing this issue as we speak. Can you make a RMA so we can exchange the keyboard for you and get the unit back for analysis? So far, we have found that not all keyboards exhibit this issue even on the same system. A windows update should have solved this issue too so it is odd you got it after an update.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 06-24-2017, 09:23 AM
Alexxlvii Alexxlvii is offline
Registered User
Alexxlvii's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 909296
Alexxlvii Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
We are diagnosing this issue as we speak. Can you make a RMA so we can exchange the keyboard for you and get the unit back for analysis? So far, we have found that not all keyboards exhibit this issue even on the same system. A windows update should have solved this issue too so it is odd you got it after an update.
Thank you for the reply!

Do you all think this will be fixable by an update? If so I do not mind waiting a bit for a patch. If you are saying it is a hardware defect or something that won't be resolved soon then I will RMA. I would rather not have to go through the trouble of RMA and being without a good gaming keyboard (RMA can take a bit) if a fix is on the way.

Please let me know if you need anymore info or logs from me that can help.

Last edited by Alexxlvii; 06-24-2017 at 09:56 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 06-28-2017, 04:37 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,456
POST ID # = 909806
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexxlvii View Post
Thank you for the reply!

Do you all think this will be fixable by an update? If so I do not mind waiting a bit for a patch. If you are saying it is a hardware defect or something that won't be resolved soon then I will RMA. I would rather not have to go through the trouble of RMA and being without a good gaming keyboard (RMA can take a bit) if a fix is on the way.

Please let me know if you need anymore info or logs from me that can help.
In our preliminary testing, we have seen a few possible root causes including hardware defect. In the mean time, we'll need more samples. If you contact our tech support, we can ship you a replacement via the Express RMA process so you can send yours back only after you got a new unit. Please let them know I'd like it as a FA-RMA so it physically comes to the team for inspection and analysis.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 06-29-2017, 09:28 PM
meuqsaco meuqsaco is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 909949
meuqsaco Reputation: 10
Default

Got the same issue on my new Strafe. I'm about to build my new PC in the next days, so hopefully with the new motherboard, I'll not have these USB port sounds.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 07-01-2017, 09:45 AM
Lockjaw333 Lockjaw333 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 910052
Lockjaw333 Reputation: 10
Default

Just got a k70 lux rgb and am having the same issue. All of my USB devices will drop out for a few seconds at random, only has happened while playing bf1. I have a USB DAC plugged into a powered USB hub, two mice and an Xbox wireless controller adapter plugged into the Mobo USB ports, and the k70 lux plugged into one USB 3.0 (keyboard) and one USB 2.0 (passthrough). It's a lot of usb devices, could it be a power issue?

Any help would be appreciated!

Last edited by Lockjaw333; 07-01-2017 at 09:56 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 07-02-2017, 11:44 AM
mastergilgalad mastergilgalad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 910184
mastergilgalad Reputation: 10
Default

I don't know if its related to the problem. But since the last update of software now the disconect sound is still there, but the LEDs for Capslock and Numblock stopped working from time to time. Sometimes they work, sometimes they stay black. So the software problems seems to get worse instead of getting better :/
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.