The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2019, 08:12 AM
paridoth paridoth is offline
Registered User
paridoth's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1016965
paridoth Reputation: 10
Default Vengeance LPX 3200 C16 ver. 4.32 overclocking (cmk16gx4m2b3200c16)

So, I got these thinking they got that yummy, overclockable Samsung B-die. Mind you, it is actually ver. 4.32 and not 4.31. These are not on the QVL of my B450 Tomahawk max :(
While they do run just fine on XMP settings, they don't seem to be willing to go a single step beyond that. I was wondering if anyone had achieved a significant OC on these. If so, I would appreciate some tips!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-05-2019, 09:18 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 170
POST ID # = 1017048
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

I also have a kit of 4.32 ram (different model, size, and dual rank) and found it didn't like tRC timings (and some lower tRFC) out of the box and were a bit problematic to get working. I needed to reconfigure ProcODT, RTT, and SOC to push over DDR4-3200 successfully.

When using DRAM Calculator for Ryzen I also discovered their timings more closely matched the "Samsung OEM" profile so that may be the info that might really help you out the most if you use that utility.
I recommend using the most recent version of DRAM Calculator. And read this article https://www.techpowerup.com/review/a...locking-guide/

Assuming your chips are the same kind of Samsung as mine (based on version) it may exhibit similar properties to mine.

Note BIOS/UEFI updates can have a massive effect. I had a successful up to DDR4-3600 overclock at one point, sadly now broken.

Below I'll give you a small snapshot comparison of my overclocking journey.
The chart below might help give you some configuration ideas but likely start with Dram Calculator first and expect any BIOS/UEFI update to have the potential to break any overclock you might get.

https://imgur.com/a/pmQFwpX

Last edited by A Computer Guy; 09-05-2019 at 09:38 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-06-2019, 03:19 AM
paridoth paridoth is offline
Registered User
paridoth's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1017076
paridoth Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you! I will try it out tonight!
My mobo is the Tomahawk max so the Bios is fairly new as it is a new mobo. There is a beta out (whose patch notes mention additional memory compatibility, incidentally), but I wasnt so keen on using a beta since everything workes as intended (apart memory overclocking, obviously). I'll try it out anyway.
I am more interested in tightening the timings than augmenting frequencies, so my efforts will be centered on that.
Thnx again
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-06-2019, 08:07 PM
paridoth paridoth is offline
Registered User
paridoth's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1017190
paridoth Reputation: 10
Default

So, I installed the latest BIOS (dont know if that mattered, but at least the beta BIOS is not broken).
I used the import feature from Thaiphoon because I noticed that even though I put in the correct specifications in all the main fields like rank, number of modules, frequency etc the timings still changed when I used the imported file in DRAM calculator. I left Samsung b-die instead of Samsung OEM, as you suggested, because that would give me invalid numbers. Then I heard about what you said about tRFC and I set the alternative setting (432) as well as the tWRRD (3).
Glad to report that the system did POST and everything seems to be working smoothly. Did some mem testing for around 10 minutes and it didnt crash, so I guess the pc is usable for now. I will stress test and benchmark tomorrow, too tired now.

PS. out of curiosity, I ran the "apply & test" in Ryzen master in PCO mode and the best cores peaked at 4.17 Ghz as opposed to 4.12 before (everything else stock on a Ryzen 3600). So that looks promising!
PS2. I will also try giving the b-die timings I got from not importing the Thaiphoon specifications as I recall they were tighter and again try to setting both tRFC and tWRRD to the alternative settings, see if that works. Assuming I have already found stability with the looser timings.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-07-2019, 08:18 AM
paridoth paridoth is offline
Registered User
paridoth's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1017244
paridoth Reputation: 10
Default

So, quick update: Everything was working fine and I had significant gains in benchmarks, around 7%! I then tried to push frequency (or transfers, whatever) and my OS was corrupted after BSOD. Since I am too old for this ***** and can no longer be bothered spending time and energy re-installing windows every time, I think I will just leave things here! I hope this thread helps someone!
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-07-2019, 11:00 AM
Padoo Padoo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1017259
Padoo Reputation: 10
Default

Could someone that successfully overclocks these version 4.32 post there results , i had a awful time using the ryzen calculator
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-07-2019, 01:16 PM
paridoth paridoth is offline
Registered User
paridoth's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1017271
paridoth Reputation: 10
Default

As I said, just use the export option in Thaiphoon and make a html page of the full results of the read. Dont forget to transform the timings in ns in the report page. Import the file in DRAM calculator and then, when you copy the values in the BIOS, choose the alternative values for tRFC (432) and tWRRD (3). The gains are quite impressive, I must say. I will not bother with increasing the frequency as it is less important that timings for games.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-07-2019, 01:23 PM
paridoth paridoth is offline
Registered User
paridoth's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1017273
paridoth Reputation: 10
Default

Here are my values: https://imgur.com/nygDmwU
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-07-2019, 08:28 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 170
POST ID # = 1017298
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paridoth View Post
So, quick update: Everything was working fine and I had significant gains in benchmarks, around 7%! I then tried to push frequency (or transfers, whatever) and my OS was corrupted after BSOD. Since I am too old for this ***** and can no longer be bothered spending time and energy re-installing windows every time, I think I will just leave things here! I hope this thread helps someone!
Typically first I use the bootable memtest86 USB and don't event bother booting into windows unless at least one pass is successful.

Secondly that is why I tend to use a scratch disk OS for testing to avoid corrupting my working installed OS.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-07-2019, 08:53 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 170
POST ID # = 1017301
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Padoo View Post
Could someone that successfully overclocks these version 4.32 post there results , i had a awful time using the ryzen calculator
My screenshot showed a successful DDR4-3600 overclock and DDR4-3200 with tightened timings with my dual-rank kit. It was successful until I updated my BIOS to AGESA 1.0.0.3ABB and I am back to recomputing and retesting again and now it seems trying to scale above DDR4-3200 isn't working well for me anymore at all.

With my kit going from DDR4-3200 to DDR4-3400 it wasn't worth it with the looser timings I couldn't seem to trim down, but to my surprise (on the older BIOS) it did allow DDR4-3600 and that fit better with the scaled up timings I had to use anyway.

Generally I've had good results when enabling GearDown and disabling PowerDown with both my LPX and RGB kits and Zen+ and Zen2 CPU's. Keeping DRAM voltage near 1.35v seemed to be a sweet spot as using higher voltages didn't seem to have any improving effects for my RGB kit and keeping SOC between 1.0v and 1.1v.

AMD will be releasing a new AGESA in a few days so I'm going to wait until ASRock catches up with that before trying to attempt DDR4-3600 again although somehow I doubt I will be able to achieve that again.

Last edited by A Computer Guy; 09-07-2019 at 09:13 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-08-2019, 12:24 AM
Padoo Padoo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1017304
Padoo Reputation: 10
Default

thanks so much for the reply , could you guys keep us informed of your progress regarding overclocking these.



my timings when i import the html into ryzen from typhoon

still not able to post when i edit the settings , will give it another go at some stage , i followed paridoth setttings , but im still new to overclocking and i must be doing something wrong .

Last edited by Padoo; 09-08-2019 at 12:33 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-08-2019, 12:35 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 170
POST ID # = 1017359
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Padoo View Post
thanks so much for the reply , could you guys keep us informed of your progress regarding overclocking these.

my timings when i import the html into ryzen from typhoon

still not able to post when i edit the settings , will give it another go at some stage , i followed paridoth setttings , but im still new to overclocking and i must be doing something wrong .
If your new to memory overclocking with Ryzen CPU read this first.
https://www.techpowerup.com/review/a...locking-guide/

Ensure your ram is installed in your primary slots (typically A2 & B2 for Ryzen).

Scroll down in thiaphoon report to screenshot your XMP timings. I think the JEDEC timings are listed first in the report, then XMP after.

Like I was trying to say to paridoth I think for ver. 4.32 the memory type correlates to "Samsung OEM" in Dram Calculator.

Start with resetting everything back to AUTO and manually set your XMP required DRAM voltage and XMP frequency provided by your memory kit specification. (don't actually use the xmp profile in bios)

If your problem is you can't get your XMP kit to run at XMP frequency then start with JEDEC speeds first (2133 to 2666) with XMP DRAM voltage.

reboot. memtest86. if all good then boot into windows and get your memory settings from Ryzen Master.

In particular this is a good way to get what your motherboard decides to use by default for termination, cad bus, and misc values. This provides a base point where you know what values already work.

As you step up in frequency and you can't seem to get DRAM Calculator values to work you can revert to what did work (from the previous step) starting with ProcODT, RTT, and CAD values.

Generally I don't starting trimming timings until after I have stabilized the target frequency I'm reaching for because a really bad or problematic timing might prevent POST.

Last edited by A Computer Guy; 09-08-2019 at 12:47 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 10-01-2019, 04:04 PM
Jackzz Jackzz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1019881
Jackzz Reputation: 10
Default

So is it b-die on 4.32 or not?
Why cant someone from Corsair just tell what type of memory it is?

Want to start test out dram calculator but if thaiphoon burner is showing the wrong info I don't want to tinker with it yet, want to be sure what it really is.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 10-03-2019, 10:15 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 170
POST ID # = 1020168
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackzz View Post
So is it b-die on 4.32 or not?
Why cant someone from Corsair just tell what type of memory it is?

Want to start test out dram calculator but if thaiphoon burner is showing the wrong info I don't want to tinker with it yet, want to be sure what it really is.
I don't know. I haven't been able to confirm what that version really "is" from anywhere. I suspect it's just lower grade b-die.

If you are unsure or you think the SPD info is wrong then simply try to compare your current working/stock speed and timings with the matching speed in dram calculator.

Browse each memory type and profile in dram calculator using the calc safe settings button and compare timings button to see what best fits with your stock frequency and timing.

If you get a good match that may be what you really have if there is any doubt. Keep in mind dram calculator is suggesting what you can use. The situation may very from system to system anyway.

Last edited by A Computer Guy; 10-03-2019 at 10:23 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-04-2019, 02:06 AM
Jackzz Jackzz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1020181
Jackzz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Computer Guy View Post
I don't know. I haven't been able to confirm what that version really "is" from anywhere. I suspect it's just lower grade b-die.

If you are unsure or you think the SPD info is wrong then simply try to compare your current working/stock speed and timings with the matching speed in dram calculator.

Browse each memory type and profile in dram calculator using the calc safe settings button and compare timings button to see what best fits with your stock frequency and timing.

If you get a good match that may be what you really have if there is any doubt. Keep in mind dram calculator is suggesting what you can use. The situation may very from system to system anyway.
Hi thanks for the reply, did not get anywhere with dram calc and got so tired to reset cmos every time so funny enough I tried your values and that was the best I could get I think for 3600Mhz on my Tomahawk Max board.
CL16 was doable but it was waaay to high timings for it to be a point to use it.



EDIT: Changed to this:

Heard it was supposed to be better, still stable but no different in performance.

Last edited by Jackzz; 10-04-2019 at 04:56 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
4.32, overclock

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.