The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Systems > CORSAIR ONE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2019, 08:06 PM
Spizzi Spizzi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 32
POST ID # = 1007580
Spizzi Reputation: 10
Default On my second i160 brand new from Corsair - unit shut itself off today and now dead?

Wow, I don't know what to say. This is my second brand new unit from Corsair for the i160.

My current unit decided to shut itself off today unexpectedly. I suspect (although I'm not certain because I was in another room when this happened) that the system shifting into "display/screen sleep" mode (not to be confused with system sleep mode) triggered this shutdown as the i160 tends to "click" when the display shifts to sleep mode, yet the unit itself will still stay powered on. I know that my system does this "shift" because my iCue LED strips change from my custom "red" color to the standard i160 system "blue" LED color on the strips when my display goes into sleep mode.

The only workload I had going was Microsoft Office. I press the front-side power button. Nothing. I go to the rear of the unit and the only thing lighting up is the ethernet port (solid orange indicator) so I know there is some sort of power going to the unit. So I press the CMOS reset and press the front-side power button. I hear the usual "click" from the unit to power itself on but nothing..no LED light-up, no signal sent to my monitor. I look at the back and no longer see the ethernet blinking. I turn switch off the power at the back side of the unit then turn it back on. Now I see the light on the ethernet port light up indicating to me there is power to the unit but still no other lights lighting up on the unit. I press the front-side of the unit. "click" but still nothing.

Anyone else experience this??

The great news is Corsair support has been fantastic for me.

Last edited by Spizzi; 06-11-2019 at 02:46 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-11-2019, 01:15 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 564
POST ID # = 1007653
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spizzi View Post
Wow, I don't know what to say. This is my second brand new unit from Corsair for the i160.

My current unit decided to shut itself off today unexpectedly. I suspect (although I'm not certain because I was in another room when this happened) that the system shifting into "display/screen sleep" mode (not to be confused with system sleep mode) triggered this shutdown as the i160 tends to "click" when the display shifts to sleep mode, yet the unit itself will still stay powered on. I know that my system does this "shift" because my iCue LED strips change from my custom "red" color to the standard i160 system "blue" LED color on the strips when my display goes into sleep mode.

The only workload I had going was Microsoft Office. I press the front-side power button. Nothing. I go to the rear of the unit and the only thing lighting up is the ethernet port (solid orange indicator) so I know there is some sort of power going to the unit. So I press the CMOS reset and press the front-side power button. I hear the usual "click" from the unit to power itself on but nothing..no LED light-up, no signal sent to my monitor. I look at the back and no longer see the ethernet blinking. I turn switch off the power at the back side of the unit then turn it back on. Now I see the light on the ethernet port light up indicating to me there is power to the unit but still no other lights lighting up on the unit. I press the front-side of the unit. "click" but still nothing.

Anyone else experience this??

The great news is Corsair support has been fantastic for me.
What monitor are you using? If it's a Dell, we have found them to be quite troublesome with the Corsair One for some odd reasons.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-12-2019, 04:11 PM
Spizzi Spizzi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 32
POST ID # = 1007800
Spizzi Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair StormShadow View Post
What monitor are you using? If it's a Dell, we have found them to be quite troublesome with the Corsair One for some odd reasons.
It's an NEC MultiSync
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-17-2019, 04:49 PM
Corsair Mint's Avatar
Corsair Mint Corsair Mint is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 857
POST ID # = 1008333
Corsair Mint Reputation: 31
Default

Hey Spizzi,

After you clear the CMOS and press the power button, do the system show any movement or signs of activity besides the click? If it doesn't, something doesn't seem right here with the system. Do you have it connected directly to a wall outlet or to a UPS?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-19-2019, 02:03 PM
Spizzi Spizzi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 32
POST ID # = 1011811
Spizzi Reputation: 10
Default

It's connected directly to a surge protector. Never had a problem in the past with other power-hungry machines.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-25-2019, 03:34 PM
Corsair Mint's Avatar
Corsair Mint Corsair Mint is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 857
POST ID # = 1012521
Corsair Mint Reputation: 31
Default

Were you able to test it direct just in case?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.