The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2019, 11:07 AM
Draugr Draugr is offline
Registered User
Draugr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Nevada
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 996471
Draugr Reputation: 10
Default Getting USB driver errors with ICUE

Hello, everyone I'm new to the forum so I hope I'm in the right area.

I just built this rig a couple of weeks ago and I began to get these system event errors once I set up all the corsair equipment.

I have a
CORSAIR Commander PRO
CORSAIR Lighting Node PRO
CORSAIR RGB LED Lighting PRO Expansion Kit x6
CORSAIR ML140 PRO RGB LED 140MM PWM x3
CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i RGB PLATINUM 240mm Liquid CPU Cooler
CORSAIR RMi Series RM1000i

Once the system boots I always here the Device manger sounds go off a couple of time but nothing malfunctions. Then once I boot up a game these events start to go off and my USB drivers for my Steelseries Artic pro headset gets effected and my Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 120 Aimo, Logitech G502 hero mouse turn on and off and become unusable for 5-20 seconds.

Then I get these errors once I look at device manger and look at system events.

Not 100% sure but I think based by the VID and PID this is ether my PSU or Hydro Series? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Kernel-PnP 400 Device USB\VID_1B1C&PID_1C0D\6&29c2ed67&0&2 was configured.
Kernel-PnP 410 Device USB\VID_1B1C&PID_1C0D\6&29c2ed67&0&2 was started
Kernel-PnP 420 Device USB\VID_1B1C&PID_1C0D\6&29C2ED67&0&2 was deleted
Kernel-PnP 442 Device Device USB\VID_1B1C&PID_1C0D\6&29c2ed67&0&2 was not migrated due to partial or ambiguous match
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2019, 11:21 AM
Glzmo's Avatar
Glzmo Glzmo is offline
A Mighty CORSAlR™
Glzmo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 996616
Glzmo Reputation: 10
Default

Your problem is likely that iCue/the platinum cooler driver crashes and causes repetitive USB disconnects/reconnects when it tries to restarts itself (this is especially common when programs that poll the USB bus are running, like Steam, hardware monitoring programs that access the cooler's sensors, etc.). When that happens (too frequently) and you have lots of USB devices connected that Windows polls all at once when your cooler driver crashes and you'll get the error. This is a known bug with iCue and Platinum coolers.

Try to set your Platinum cooler's lighting to a static color or off or try the workaround in my signature. See if any of those help in your case. If none of them do, you might have a different problem. In that case, you could try connecting the Cooler with a Micro-USB to USB-A cable to a USB 3 port on the back of your case and see if that stabilizes things in conjunction with the two workarounds mentioned previously.
__________________

Last edited by Glzmo; 03-11-2019 at 09:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2019, 09:37 PM
Draugr Draugr is offline
Registered User
Draugr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Nevada
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 996679
Draugr Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for the response and help Glzmo,

Funny enough I did almost all of the options on that link but none worked. I didn't try the putting the cable into a 3.0 port since I thought I couldn't do that. But oddly enough I don't know if this is a thing or not but I bought a Commander pro and a Node pro.... some how I mixed the node Pros cables with the PSU link cables . The pin out on the Cpro and Npro are the same but the PSU's cable is different. After I switched them and booted a few games It stopped getting errors.

Thanks again
Cheers!

Last edited by Draugr; 03-06-2019 at 09:40 PM. Reason: Changed a couple of words
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2019, 09:25 AM
crack_monkey's Avatar
crack_monkey crack_monkey is offline
Registered User
crack_monkey's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Germany, lower sachsony
Posts: 110
POST ID # = 996739
crack_monkey Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to crack_monkey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Draugr View Post
Thank you for the response and help Glzmo,

Funny enough I did almost all of the options on that link but none worked. I didn't try the putting the cable into a 3.0 port since I thought I couldn't do that. But oddly enough I don't know if this is a thing or not but I bought a Commander pro and a Node pro.... some how I mixed the node Pros cables with the PSU link cables . The pin out on the Cpro and Npro are the same but the PSU's cable is different. After I switched them and booted a few games It stopped getting errors.

Thanks again
Cheers!
Can you go into details with the cables, what you did? What do you mean with PSU cable? i think i understand something else like you, cause PSU is the power Cable for graphics and so on.
__________________
My Corsair Crystel 570x RGB Project

English Thread
German Thread
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2019, 06:46 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 996808
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

Switching the CorsairService to manual in services.msc also gets around the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2019, 10:01 PM
Guitarmageddon Guitarmageddon is offline
Registered User
Guitarmageddon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 997177
Guitarmageddon Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Calico Jack View Post
Switching the CorsairService to manual in services.msc also gets around the issue.
Could you describe what this does? I posted a thread about this a while back and I think the consensus was just that it is what it is? As you can see from here, every single time on startup it logs it as a corsair service crash. You hear the usb connect/disconnect sound and then everything starts as normal, lighting, fans etc.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-2019, 11:04 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,514
POST ID # = 997181
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The Corsair Service handles communication with DIY devices (Lighting Node Pro, Commander Pro, AIOs, PSUs, etc). So it actually should run behind the scenes.
I would bet that every single one of those crashes is due to WMI (Windows Management Instrumentation). You'll see it in the crash log as System.Management.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2019, 11:53 AM
Guitarmageddon Guitarmageddon is offline
Registered User
Guitarmageddon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 997240
Guitarmageddon Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The Corsair Service handles communication with DIY devices (Lighting Node Pro, Commander Pro, AIOs, PSUs, etc). So it actually should run behind the scenes.
I would bet that every single one of those crashes is due to WMI (Windows Management Instrumentation). You'll see it in the crash log as System.Management.
What if I changed the registry under current control set, for that service, to delay the start say 120 seconds or something? Youthink it fails just because of all the stuff going on during startup, and it gets inserted before some other process starting, which it just needs to come after? Just thinking out loud, not sure
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-2019, 06:28 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 997298
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

^^^^^ That's basically what's happening 9 out of 10.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-15-2019, 08:21 PM
Draugr Draugr is offline
Registered User
Draugr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Nevada
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 997887
Draugr Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crack_monkey

Can you go into details with the cables, what you did? What do you mean with PSU cable? i think i understand something else like you, cause PSU is the power Cable for graphics and so on.
Sorry for the late response i've been busy at work. So I meant the PSU Corsair link cable I switch it with the Cpro/Npro Corsaire link cables. They are not the same pin out that plugs into the usb 2.0 header. Cpro and Npro have the same pin out but the PSU's Corsair link cable is different. Thats what was causing the driver failures. I will look into the other posts to see what that does but for now I have not had any system errors or crashes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
icue issues

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.