The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 15 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2014, 11:43 AM
Noms Noms is offline
Registered User
Noms's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 699562
Noms Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Link 2.5.5145 crashing with .net error

Hi,

I have updated to 2.5.5145 (fresh install) but i cant start CL, cause it crashes everytime. Im getting a .net Framework error. I have W8.1 64. Have tried updating to last version of .net, and i currently have 4.5.1.

Im getting this error each time. I click on Continue, and CL starts, but everything is empty, not detecting anything.

Any idea? THX!


************** Texto de la excepciÛn **************
System.IndexOutOfRangeException: Õndice fuera de los lÌmites de la matriz.
en CorsairLink.PlugIns.MantaNode.updateFanDevice(Device device, Boolean frontEndUpdate)
en CorsairLink.ExtensionMethods.AddCallback(Device device, BackendPlugIn backend, Func`3 func)
en CorsairLink.PlugIns.MantaNode.Update(Device node, Boolean frontEndUpdate)
en CorsairLink.ExtensionMethods.AddCallback(Device device, BackendPlugIn backend, Func`3 func)
en CorsairLink.PlugIns.Clink.Node.FindNode(BackendPlugIn root, Device bridge, Int32 channel, Byte[] bridgeIds)
en CorsairLink.PlugIns.Clink.updateBridge(Device bridge, Boolean frontEndUpdate)
en CorsairLink.ExtensionMethods.AddCallback(Device device, BackendPlugIn backend, Func`3 func)
en CorsairLink.PlugIns.Clink.CheckForNewHardware()
en CorsairLink.PlugInHandler.CheckBackends()
en CorsairLink.Kernel.kernelTimer_Tick(Object sender, EventArgs e)
en System.Windows.Forms.Timer.OnTick(EventArgs e)
en System.Windows.Forms.Timer.TimerNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
en System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-28-2014, 12:01 PM
Skeeterslint Skeeterslint is offline
Registered User
Skeeterslint's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 699563
Skeeterslint Reputation: 10
Default

What else do you have connected a link commander?Do you have an older H80 or H100?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-28-2014, 12:40 PM
Noms Noms is offline
Registered User
Noms's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 699568
Noms Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Skeeterslint,

thx for the answer. I have an older H80. It was working fine with W7 and previous versions of Corsair Link.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-28-2014, 04:06 PM
Skeeterslint Skeeterslint is offline
Registered User
Skeeterslint's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 699590
Skeeterslint Reputation: 10
Default

Thats more then likely where the .net error is coming from I have an H80 and get it with the new software but if I unplug it from the link commander the software starts like it should so the issue is with the H80 and the software not getting along.I have looked deep enough into things to see if it is because some other software is causing a problem or not yet I don't really want to get into it, I have had software conflicts and they can be a pain to track down.All we can do is wait for Corsair/Coolit to fix this or uninstall/remove the hardware/software which I am thinking of doing since they can't seem to get working software released or care to even give us a heads up that they are working on the problem.You would think they would have known there was an issue with the older H80's and H100's before they dropped the new release, if they even bothered to test them.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-28-2014, 05:13 PM
Noms Noms is offline
Registered User
Noms's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 699598
Noms Reputation: 10
Default

OK, thx Skeeterslint. So no one that has had this problem has been able to solve it? I mean, for targeting to some specific SW that could cause this problem... This is annoying....
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-22-2014, 11:04 PM
Emptor Emptor is offline
Registered User
Emptor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 702610
Emptor Reputation: 10
Default

I posted extensively about my troubleshooting efforts of this issue a couple of months ago, and despite some solid help from the community, we got nowhere fast. Checked-in today to see what progress had been made several months later and your thread caught my eye. Incredibly, people are still having the same problem(s), and the same apologists for Corsair are making the same excuses about how hard it is to write software...

Chances are, it's not your fault, no amount of tinkering is going to get rid of the NET error with the H80 short of disconnecting it. Don't waste your time like I did.

(Sigh... That's got to be one of the more pessimistic things I've ever written.)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-24-2014, 01:38 PM
Fauxbeard's Avatar
Fauxbeard Fauxbeard is offline
Corsair Employee
Fauxbeard's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 339
POST ID # = 702767
Fauxbeard Reputation: 19
Default

I don't have access to the H80 or the H100 so I can't confirm or verify this issue. If your H80 is still within warranty, I'd suggest that you request for a replacement through our RMA portal at corsair.force.com.
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-24-2014, 11:12 PM
Skeeterslint Skeeterslint is offline
Registered User
Skeeterslint's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 702831
Skeeterslint Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Bunny Foo Foo #5 View Post
I don't have access to the H80 or the H100 so I can't confirm or verify this issue. If your H80 is still within warranty, I'd suggest that you request for a replacement through our RMA portal at corsair.force.com.
So basically what your saying is your never tested this new version of the software with your old hardware? Well that's good too know.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-24-2014, 11:15 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,286
POST ID # = 702833
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

No, he said that he can't verify your issue. That's a completely different statement.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-24-2014, 11:23 PM
Skeeterslint Skeeterslint is offline
Registered User
Skeeterslint's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 702836
Skeeterslint Reputation: 10
Default

Well then honestly and I not trying to be a jerk but why post if you can't test the bug for yourself telling someone to RMA a cooler when many others are having the same issue isn't much of a fix/help for the .net error problem. I have been waiting a couple of months now for a new software drop or at the least for Corsair to say sorry guys we know there's an issue with the older coolers we're working on it but that as far as I have seen hasn't come yet.I'm getting to the point of ripping out my Corsair Link and my H80 and replacing it with something else even though I really like it but if the software isn't going to be updated in a timely manner then it's coming out.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-23-2014, 04:49 PM
chagelberg chagelberg is offline
Registered User
chagelberg's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 706840
chagelberg Reputation: 10
Default

I have the same problem now... (using H80i)

Corsair Link never really worked for me. Not giving up yet though...

First I could not launch Link at all (program never started, and process closed within 20 sec. in app. manager). [RCv245110]

Then I found that this version had a stand-alone firmware update program in the same folder as Link, and I updated with the [H80i_v1.0.5.s19] firmware update. The firmware update couldnt verify the update and crashed - but right there after... wouldnt you know it ... fans FINALLY got quiet, and Link opened.

I tweaked and tuned and were a happy man until i restarted. After coming back into windows, fans were still quiet but Link would one again not open.

Decided to try the newest version of Link i could find [RC-v2_6_5214] but it failed right after installation with this .net error: "The request is not supported. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070032). (I have a much more detailed JIT error description - write me if you want it for debugging!)

In spite of the Link .net problem - another program opened allowing me to firmware update to at newer version. In doing so, all I accomplished was to have my FANS SPINNING UP AGAIN. Link still wont start.

Hope someone can use this novell to debug something somewhere and come up with a solution for all of us!
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 04-24-2014, 12:09 PM
shine6 shine6 is offline
Registered User
shine6's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 45
POST ID # = 707006
shine6 Reputation: 10
Big Grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeeterslint View Post
Well then honestly and I not trying to be a jerk but why post if you can't test the bug for yourself telling someone to RMA a cooler when many others are having the same issue isn't much of a fix/help for the .net error problem. I have been waiting a couple of months now for a new software drop or at the least for Corsair to say sorry guys we know there's an issue with the older coolers we're working on it but that as far as I have seen hasn't come yet.I'm getting to the point of ripping out my Corsair Link and my H80 and replacing it with something else even though I really like it but if the software isn't going to be updated in a timely manner then it's coming out.
Hi,

I have the same problem with H100. - That damn .net error 'System.IndexOutOfRangeException'.

If i disconnect the H100 from the Corsair Commander it doesn't happen. This happens with the 2 last beta, but the versions before works fine. SO I run with older versions ...

I may add my H100 was RMAed to COrsair a while ago (pump reading didn't work with old verions), so I don't think it would help to RMA tour H80.

It looks like a mistake in CLink code, which was not tested with H80/H100 products. Perhaps because you can connect 4 fans on those devices, who knows ?

It looks simple enough to fix, if Corsair would be kind enough to try

Shine

Last edited by shine6; 04-24-2014 at 12:17 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 04-29-2014, 01:33 AM
cybercorey cybercorey is offline
Registered User
cybercorey's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 707604
cybercorey Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shine6 View Post
Hi,

I have the same problem with H100. - That damn .net error 'System.IndexOutOfRangeException'.

If i disconnect the H100 from the Corsair Commander it doesn't happen. This happens with the 2 last beta, but the versions before works fine. SO I run with older versions ...

I may add my H100 was RMAed to COrsair a while ago (pump reading didn't work with old verions), so I don't think it would help to RMA tour H80.

It looks like a mistake in CLink code, which was not tested with H80/H100 products. Perhaps because you can connect 4 fans on those devices, who knows ?

It looks simple enough to fix, if Corsair would be kind enough to try

Shine

Ahh jup, looks like a re-occurring issue that hasn't been fixed for a bit.
I'm guessing they dont want to support the older water cooling units? and that we should upgrade to the "i" series?
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 04-29-2014, 09:52 AM
shine6 shine6 is offline
Registered User
shine6's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 45
POST ID # = 707648
shine6 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cybercorey View Post
Ahh jup, looks like a re-occurring issue that hasn't been fixed for a bit.
I'm guessing they dont want to support the older water cooling units? and that we should upgrade to the "i" series?
Seems the case yes. Though they'll hardly admit it ... as far as I know, this known issue was never commented much by Corsair. I have opened a ticket on this, no answer yet.

Either they don't have any H80/H100 under they hands to test it (that would be weird) or they just decided to stop support it - from CLink point of view.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 05-24-2014, 02:25 PM
Zaleo Zaleo is offline
Registered User
Zaleo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 712054
Zaleo Reputation: 10
Default

I confirm the same issue.... Disconnection the H100 solves it
Using 2.6.5214 version of CorsairLink on W8.1 64bit.
Firmware Commander : 2.0.6
Firmware Lighting Node: 1.1.9
Firmware Cooling Node: 1.2.8
Firmware H100: 1.2.8

What is strange is that it was working nicely with this version of the Link software until I pressed the 'Update all' firmware button (as suggested by Corsair Link).

Also the system keeps on bleeping similar to when it finds new hardware.
It keeps on asking to update firmware as well.

Considering buying the 850i PSU, but only if the Link software is stable. Solution needed.

(Edited: it keeps on adding an Airflow Pro device in the options -> Devices tab, I have none and at the moment there are 3 listed)

(Edited2: Re-installed Corsair Link 2.4.5110 and the Cooling Node is acting like a Lighting Node, think the wrong firmware is flashed on it : http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=129291
This might explain why some values are out of the expected range)

(
Edited 3: Solution - install latest none-beta version: http://www.corsair.com/~/media/Corsa...rRCv245110.exe

However my Cooling Node is now totally broken by the firmware update 2.6.5214 dit try to do !!
How to fix it is my next challange.
)

Last edited by Zaleo; 05-24-2014 at 06:43 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
.net framework, corsair link, crash

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.