The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 28 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2008, 10:13 AM
rjw rjw is offline
Registered User
rjw's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 348299
rjw Reputation: 10
Default P6N Diamond & Twin2X4096-6400C5HDX

P6N Diamond mobo, bios v1.13 110207. Bought 8Gb (2 of CM2X2048-6400C5DHX) RAM for Vista Ultimate 64 bit. However I am having problem with 2 of the RAM modules.
I have labelled RAM modules 1 to 4. The PC will not boot with all 4 DIMM slots populated.
It will boot with modules 2 & 3 in DIMM slots 1 & 3 and Vista 64 bit loads all OK
However any combination containing RAM modules 1 & 4 in DIMM slots 1& 3the PC will not boot.
If Module 3 in either DIMM slot 1 or 3: post OK, but BSOD on booting into Vista and loops back to post.
If Module 4 in either DIMM slot 1 or 3: post OK, but the loops back to post.
These 2 RAM modules have already been returned to retailer, it makes me wonder if they have sent the same ones back again!
My thoughts are that I still have 2 duff ram modules
Any help or similar experiances would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-16-2008, 10:42 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 348304
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

It is advised to set the DRAM speed to 667Mhz when populating all four DRAM slots. Please research this thread:

http://www.houseofhelp.com/v3/showth...gabyte+X38-DS5

Insert a single stick and set to these values.

Cell Menu
D.O.T. Control = Disabled
Intel EIST = Disabled
SLI-Ready Memory = Disabled
System Clock Mode = Manual
FSB Clock (MHZ) = 266
DRAM Clock (MHZ) = 667
Advance DRAM Configuration
DRAM Timing Mode = Manual
CAS Latency (CL) = 5
tRCD = 5
tRP = 5
tRAS = 15
tRRD = Auto
tRC = Auto
tWR = Auto
tWTR = Auto
tREF = Auto
1T/2T Memory Timing = 2T

CPU Voltage = Auto
DRAM Voltage = 1.90v
NB Voltage = 1.45v
NB Memory Reference Voltage = Auto
DIMM Memory Reference Voltage = Auto
Memory Terminator Voltage = Auto
CPU GTL Reference Voltage = Auto
NB GTL Reference Voltage = Auto
FSB Terminator Voltage = Auto
SB Sleep Mode Voltage = Auto
PCI Expander PLL Voltage = Auto
Shut the system down and insert the four sticks. Once you find stabilty, then we can recoup the lost bandwidth via an overclock.

If this does not work, then test all four sticks singly in Slot 1 (Closest to the CPU). Set to 6400 @ 5-5-5-15 and test singly.

Results?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-19-2008, 10:32 AM
rjw rjw is offline
Registered User
rjw's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 348789
rjw Reputation: 10
Default P6N Diamond & Twin2X4096-6400C5HDX

Thanks for your reply.
Attemped your suggestions, but not all your headings appear in this bios. However tried to match were possible but would not boot at all, had to clear CMOS settings.

Cell Menu
D.O.T. Control = Disabled OK
Intel EIST = Disabled OK
SLI-Ready Memory = Disabled No listing in bios
System Clock Mode = Manual OK
FSB Clock (MHZ) = 266 400 - Range 400-2500 available
DRAM Clock (MHZ) = 667 667 - Range 400-1400

Adjust CPU Ratio = 6 Range 6 - 9 available

Advance DRAM Configuration - settings all available and set as per list

DRAM Timing Mode = Manual
CAS Latency (CL) = 5
tRCD = 5
tRP = 5
tRAS = 15
tRRD = Auto
tRC = Auto
tWR = Auto
tWTR = Auto
tREF = Auto
1T/2T Memory Timing = 2T

CPU Voltage = Auto Cannot adjust - greyed out
Memory Voltage = Auto Cannot adjust - greyed out
NB Voltage = 1.45v Can adjust Range 1.25 - 1.5v
SB Voltage = 1.5c Cannot adjust - greyed out
FSB VTT Voltage = 0% Can adjust - 0% - 20%

Spread Spectrum = Disabled Can adjust Enabled or Disabled

Tried these settings with other stick, and PC will not perform post

Cleared CMOS settings, load defaults and post OK with 1 stick, although the original 2 sticks I suspected as being faulty will not perform post.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-19-2008, 07:16 PM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 348929
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjw View Post
Tried these settings with other stick, and PC will not perform post
You have four sticks. You have tried all four singly so please document the singular results with boot and memtest and put them singly.

ie.
  • First stick, set to slot 1, boot and passed memtest
  • First stick, set to slot 2, boot and passed memtest
  • First stick, set to slot 3, boot and passed memtest
  • First stick, set to slot 4, boot and passed memtest
Thus all slots and first stick test out good.
  • Second stick, set to slot 1, no boot
  • Third stick, set to slot 1, boot and passed memtest
  • Fourth stick, set to slot 1, no boot
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-21-2008, 04:48 AM
rjw rjw is offline
Registered User
rjw's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 349297
rjw Reputation: 10
Default P6N Diamond & Twin2X4096-6400C5HDX

Getting in a muddle here, so have gone backto beginning.
Renumbered 4 sticks - 1,2,3 & 4
Inserted singly into DIMM slot nearest CPU, Results:

Stick 1 - Post OK, Boot system OK, Memtest OK
Stick 2 - Post OK, Boot system OK, Memtest OK
Stick 3 - No Post, No Boot sytem, Unable to run Memtest
Stick 4 - No Post, No Boot sytem, Unable to run Memtest
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-21-2008, 04:55 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 349299
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

What's the version # of each stick? (How To Read the Memory Label)
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-21-2008, 05:05 AM
rjw rjw is offline
Registered User
rjw's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 349302
rjw Reputation: 10
Default P6N Diamond & Twin2X4096-6400C5HDX

CM2X2048-6400C5DHX

XMS2-6400 2048MB 800Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.80V ver4.1 08130751
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-21-2008, 01:34 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 349373
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Let's get them replaced, please use the On Line RMA Request Form and we will be happy to replace them.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-21-2008, 01:56 PM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 349385
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjw View Post
Stick 3 - No Post, No Boot sytem, Unable to run Memtest
Stick 4 - No Post, No Boot sytem, Unable to run Memtest
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Let's get them replaced, please use the On Line RMA Request Form and we will be happy to replace them.
RMA stick 3 and 4 :)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-22-2008, 04:31 AM
rjw rjw is offline
Registered User
rjw's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 349523
rjw Reputation: 10
Default P6N Diamond & Twin2X4096-6400C5HDX

Thanks for that, I have already requested RMA from my supplier as still within 30 days of purchase.

Will be in touch when the new sticks arrive as will then attempt the full 8Gb on the P6N. Once again thanks for your help
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-22-2008, 06:44 PM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 349692
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjw View Post
Thanks for that, I have already requested RMA from my supplier as still within 30 days of purchase.

Will be in touch when the new sticks arrive as will then attempt the full 8Gb on the P6N. Once again thanks for your help
Sure thing. Let us know how it goes.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 05-22-2008, 06:54 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 349694
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

You may be damaging them when you install them, please see How to install Dominator and DHX modules!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.