The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 09-05-2018, 04:36 AM
ronnie30 ronnie30 is offline
Registered User
ronnie30's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 971559
ronnie30 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
if you have these



DO NOT TRY TO USE THEM WITH A LIGHTING NODE PRO OR COMMANDER PRO!!!

They are the old version for use with the Commander Mini or Node... Legacy devices now i am afraid
Yep, those are the ones. I didn't use them because...well, they don't plug in.
So I take it I need this: https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...t/p/CL-8930002
?
Before I fork over any more cash, can someone confirm that these WILL work and plug directly into the NoPro without any additional cable needed?

What a waste of $50
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old 09-05-2018, 08:27 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,517
POST ID # = 971579
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zagor69 View Post
No, I didn't sell anything, I never try to. After I spent more than 250$ in kit and RGB fans, I don't sell everything just for a 3$ 'not included' cable
What make me interesting on Corsair RGB fans was not just their leds position and how many fans you can control, but especially the fan airflow specs, on the paper, of course.
Look in my signature ... info for making cables is there.

Second, you can use patch wires for a RaspPi if you want. They won't secure but they'll work.

That said, I do agree that the cable should be easier to get. But if you get the multi-packs rather than trying to buy individual, you'll have all that you need. So ... for most users that actually read the labels or do a little research before sinking a significant amount of money into fans (like I did), it's a non-issue.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #33  
Old 09-05-2018, 08:30 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,517
POST ID # = 971580
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnie30 View Post
Yep, those are the ones. I didn't use them because...well, they don't plug in.
So I take it I need this: https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...t/p/CL-8930002
?
Before I fork over any more cash, can someone confirm that these WILL work and plug directly into the NoPro without any additional cable needed?

What a waste of $50
Yes, those will work with the Lighting Node Pro.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #34  
Old 09-05-2018, 02:07 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,049
POST ID # = 971630
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
for most users that actually read the labels or do a little research before sinking a significant amount of money into fans (like I did), it's a non-issue.

Never a truer word spoken..... always read the Label on the Bottle Kids!
Reply With Quote


  #35  
Old 09-05-2018, 07:47 PM
ronnie30 ronnie30 is offline
Registered User
ronnie30's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 971667
ronnie30 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
So ... for most users that actually read the labels or do a little research before sinking a significant amount of money into fans (like I did), it's a non-issue.


To clarify, I did research into these. They appeared to be the same as the 'correct' lighting strips, except that it was a smaller package (2 strips instead of 4). As mentioned above, I bought strips that work with the lighting node, not the lighting node PRO. Corsairs site doesn't list the old lighting node and doesn't highlight that these are for an older model/non-Pro variant of the lighting node. I had no idea there was a different non-Pro version until I read this thread, and every review I've read of both strips, while they do mention which LN (pro or non-pro) it connects to, I didn't read any that explicitly indicate that there are/were 2 versions and they weren't compatible. I just assumed "lighting node" was a shortened term for "lighting node pro", since nothing I read ever mentioned the 2 in the same article/review/store.

I definitely take some blame here, but a little disclaimer in the Corsair store would definitely stop this from happening. It says "NOTE: The Corsair Link RGB LED Lighting Kit is ONLY compatible with the Commander Mini and Lighting Node." But without realising LN is a different product to the LNP, it's an easy mistake to make. To me, this seems like they are explicitly saying that it doesn't connect to RGB headers on motherboards or non-Corsair controllers. Even having the old LN in the store with a 'discontinued' notice, would be enough to make someone re-check the phrasing.
Reply With Quote


  #36  
Old 09-09-2018, 08:24 AM
zagor69's Avatar
zagor69 zagor69 is offline
Registered User
zagor69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy :(
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 972003
zagor69 Reputation: 10
Default

Just an update about the Corsair quality:

After 8 moths since I bought all this stuff, the channel 2 of NodePro and one hub STOPS to work
What is funny is that I never leave all the staff ON for all the time.... just few hours per week, maybe less....

Warranty? Yes, but while with other brands you don't have any issue, a warranty procedure make you always many problems:
- Disassembly everything
- Make a package
- PAY TO SEND THE STUFF
- Wait new stuff
- Reassembly everything back

So, if anyone can read this, I hope he'll change idea about his choices on this brand, NOT just for a stupid missing cable...

Last edited by zagor69; 09-09-2018 at 08:29 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #37  
Old 05-23-2019, 03:51 PM
TonyMontana TonyMontana is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1005484
TonyMontana Reputation: 10
Default

Just bought the 3 fan pack kit and imagine ? the cable that you all are looking for is not included to me either. getting so frustrated right now .
Reply With Quote


  #38  
Old 05-23-2019, 03:53 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,517
POST ID # = 1005485
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyMontana View Post
Just bought the 3 fan pack kit and imagine ? the cable that you all are looking for is not included to me either. getting so frustrated right now .
Which 3-pack of fans did you get? I wouldn't expect them in the HD or SP 3 packs as they come with a push-button controller.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #39  
Old 05-23-2019, 04:35 PM
TonyMontana TonyMontana is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1005498
TonyMontana Reputation: 10
Default

Corsair LL120 RGB 3 Fan Pack with Lighting Node PRO 120mm
this one
Reply With Quote


  #40  
Old 05-23-2019, 04:39 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,517
POST ID # = 1005500
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyMontana View Post
Corsair LL120 RGB 3 Fan Pack with Lighting Node PRO 120mm
this one
Yeah, that should come with that cable. Should be, IIRC, in the little box with the NoPro and Fan Hub. 2 wires ... 3 pins. I guess is happens that someone forgets to put one in. Did you try contacting Corsair support?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #41  
Old 09-08-2019, 08:06 AM
alvinkh alvinkh is offline
Registered User
alvinkh's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1017337
alvinkh Reputation: 10
Default

Yes it is frustrating. I had just built a system with merely asus and corsair. Bought led stripes expansion and commander pro. But short of female to female 3 pin rgb cable
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.