The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2017, 09:30 AM
dandownunder dandownunder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 924425
dandownunder Reputation: 10
Exclamation HELP!! Corsair Commander Pro bricked?

I need help bad!

I have the Corsair RM1000i, Commander Pro and Node Pro.

I was having issues with the Node pro recognising an LED strip.
I went to upgrade the commander pro firmware via server and being stuck on 9% for way too long I pressed cancel. It had mentioned that all fans would stop during the process.

Now the connected fan devices will not turn on!

Temporarily I've connected to the MB fan headers.

Where on earth is the Local firmware file located on Corsair website?
I'm trying to update the commander pro firmware again but it's stuck on 11%.

Is there any hope in fixing this? I've tried reboots reconnecting USB header and Sata power but it still refuses to power the led or fan connections.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-25-2017, 09:45 AM
dandownunder dandownunder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 924429
dandownunder Reputation: 10
Default

20minutes later firmware update is still at 11%, this is madness.
Can someone assist where the latest firmware is located ?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-25-2017, 09:45 AM
SpeedyV SpeedyV is offline
Registered User
SpeedyV's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 417
POST ID # = 924430
SpeedyV Reputation: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandownunder View Post
I need help bad!

I have the Corsair RM1000i, Commander Pro and Node Pro.

I was having issues with the Node pro recognising an LED strip.
I went to upgrade the commander pro firmware via server and being stuck on 9% for way too long I pressed cancel. It had mentioned that all fans would stop during the process.

Now the connected fan devices will not turn on!

Temporarily I've connected to the MB fan headers.

Where on earth is the Local firmware file located on Corsair website?
I'm trying to update the commander pro firmware again but it's stuck on 11%.

Is there any hope in fixing this? I've tried reboots reconnecting USB header and Sata power but it still refuses to power the led or fan connections.
I don't know if Corsair sanctions this but there is a procedure to force a firmware load. I have bricked my Commander Pro (CLCP) several times (long story). To get it back do this.
  1. Unplug the Sata power to the CLCP
  2. Look for a little hole on top of the CLCP. Inside that hole is a momentary reset button, like on a home router or whatever. Get something that will fit in there (jewelers screwdriver, tooth-pic).
  3. Push the button and hold it in.
  4. While holding the Reset button in, plug Sata power back into the CLCP.
  5. The LED on the CLCP should blink a few times.
  6. Open Corsair Link
  7. Link should "see" the CLCP (if it is recognized in Windows device manager and all that), and open an alert panel that says Firmware Update Available or something like that. Click Yes to proceed and Link will download the firmware and load it into the CLCP.

It helps to have someone to hold the CLCP and the button while someone else plugs the Sata power back in. I figured out how to do it myself. Got pretty good at it but its awkward.

I assume no responsibility if you do this.

Good Luck
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #4  
Old 10-25-2017, 09:50 AM
dandownunder dandownunder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 924431
dandownunder Reputation: 10
Default

OK I just kicked the table.. Norton Anti-virus firewall was blocking the firmware update but didnt warn me... doh.

Disable it for shiz and giggles.. and BANG firmware completed in a split second.

Hope this is useful solution if someone finds the same issue. :(

Thanks anyway Speedy...
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-25-2017, 01:13 PM
SpeedyV SpeedyV is offline
Registered User
SpeedyV's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 417
POST ID # = 924445
SpeedyV Reputation: 41
Default

Huh. Have not heard of that one before. Glad you figured it out and posted it. May save someone else in the same situation.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-30-2019, 09:05 AM
Shadowarez Shadowarez is offline
Registered User
Shadowarez's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1016142
Shadowarez Reputation: 10
Default

Necro Thread Revival this just happened to my Obsidian Commander Pro in the Corsair 1000D funny thing is it didnt happen to the other retail one i bought it updated in seconds the one that came with the 1000D has been at 0% for a hour. not sure if it s ok to retry this afraid of corrupting i, its running all my GT fans up top.
Attached Images
File Type: png Fan Controller.png (973.0 KB, 37 views)
File Type: png Fan Controller 2.png (353.8 KB, 35 views)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.