The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2018, 11:26 AM
mondenath mondenath is offline
Registered User
mondenath's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 163
POST ID # = 945485
mondenath Reputation: 10
Default H100i v2 high temps hitting 90-100s on I7 8700k

Hi Guys

I came from i7 2600 non k which was peaking 82 max average 55 and hits 79 max.

I am now with i7 8700k which is so hot even on the default setttings the vcore hitting 1.4v easily and it hits 100 instantly when i do the cinebench or any other cpu load test. i am worried.

Only drawback is i cant fit the h100I in my corsair 400r case perfectly . the top left fan cant be close enough to radiator which was managed on my z68 board. But now z370-e is so spiky. The fan in the left can only fit the first half . i cant screen in 2nd half of the fan into radiator. No headroom

I had a thought of changing the case . I am still looking if air cooler is best or h100i is suffice if the cooler is fitted properly. I cant push any further.

I had to turn of mce and set the voltage to 1.26 so that the temps idle 37-43 and average 55-69 at load .
peaking 85-89 at times . I set the clock to 45 ie 4.5ghz.

It fast and fine till i figure out what is the best . As i have seen the auto tuning set the clock to 5.0ghz which shoots 95-100 most of the time even idle 70+

I believe those times the cooler was not sitted properly. so i now ensured the cooler is fine. Only thing is one of the fans cant be fitted with case. I cant even try fitting inf the front as only 240mm ie half will fit it rest wont screen in at all.


I need help with best case than can fit the h100i v2 and even 280mm radiator in future with maximum clearance. I know the full tower a way to go. but i dont have space or budget to crush in such a amount.

I can invest well in good case provided the cpu is worth to save with coolest temps as possible.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-19-2018, 01:58 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,755
POST ID # = 945526
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

I don't think this is a cooler issue. Even if you disconnect a fan or remove it entirely, the difference would be a matter of single digits. When you are hitting 85C+, that is voltage. You can measure the cooler's effect by looking at the H100i Temp in Link. If that value goes up +6C. then there are only 6 degrees you can remove with any type of cooler, fans, or fan speed. If I lock my H115i Pro fans in at 600 rpm, my 5.0 GHz 8700K will not overheat or come anywhere close.

Most likely you need some more BIOS configuring. The Z270 and 370 boards are a little tricky. If you have not already, read the Asus guide for 270. Most of the same thing apply.

Next, as you have already seen MCE is not your friend. Disable it. The temps you saw were normal and proof the cooler is working. You did not go back up to 95C because you overclocked. You went up that high because other BIOS settings kicked in and made the Vcore go too high again. For now, fastest and most secure way to overclock is to set a manual voltage and then enable C-states and Speed shift. This will keep the power usage down in idle without compromising the system.

You also need to set the LLC load. For 5.0, you will need LLC 5 or 6. I need 6 for 1.30v and my 50 multiplier.

This can be done with adaptive and a few more steps, but it is better to find your clocks and voltage on manual first. I am not sure how much better adaptive is now with the speed shift tech. Best I can measure is about 10W at idle.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-23-2018, 10:45 AM
mondenath mondenath is offline
Registered User
mondenath's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 163
POST ID # = 946128
mondenath Reputation: 10
Default

So will changing the case with better airflow works well. I am up for it now ordered the below case

thermaltake x71 core edition. Planning for push pull and will see the cooling is better


later this year will get a latest cooler . For now i am fine with 4.5 even. or 4.8 max.

I need under 70 for loads not more than tha even peak has to be 80 max any core i mean.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-23-2018, 12:52 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,755
POST ID # = 946154
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

Better case airflow, a larger cooler, or different fan types make small and subtle differences. When you need to loose 10-15C,then getting control of the voltage is the only way. The new case will be nice regardless, but the critical piece of information right now is your maximum Vcore when under load. Not what you get in the BIOS (that matters too), but also what a monitoring program shows as the real peak value. This is a common issue on 8700K and Z370.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-27-2018, 06:49 AM
mondenath mondenath is offline
Registered User
mondenath's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 163
POST ID # = 946738
mondenath Reputation: 10
Default re

A friend of mine whom i help to setup a similar build with maximus x code board and some better ram from corsair with 3200mhz

he is running cool say 33-37 idle and max he said me on Aid 64 was 83 not more than that. I believe the package peak was 86-89 . But cores were under 83

All i was expecting his temps. I agree his ambient is cooler than mine. Which i eventually cant control. To the best case i can change the case to biggest with mamoth spacing so that no devices are constricting the air flow.

One thing i felt is that Since the fan in the rear is not perfect fit and only top two screwes are fitted the air leakage is causing the far end of the radiator to be not cooled enough causing the peak jump of say 43- 66 and then back to 41 instantly all these jumps were like 1-2 sec time frame.

i guess if the h100 was fitted well it should keep under 85 degree under load ie full cinebench or any load

For you info the current voltage even if i set to 1.24v with core set to 44 and mce off is still peaking 1.3v at times in Hwinfo. But the asus suite 3 never tell me more than 1.256 where is set to 1.24

Anyway i should also poin that i recently have to remove the rear fan. As after cleaning it the bearing started motor sound which is so annoying and now i managed to fit it .

Before removed rear fan the avg temps were 49-59
After fitting the rear fan the avg temps was now 39-44 IDLE not cpu intensive load.

even with 4.3ghz 1.24v the temps was hitting 89 degree in hwinfo But the asus still says 81 max.

Not sure which is true.

yeah a case change with ample airflow should make some difference. I will update next week once the case arrived and all fitted.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-28-2018, 09:09 AM
aceisme aceisme is offline
Registered User
aceisme's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 45
POST ID # = 947148
aceisme Reputation: 10
Default

Did you check your LLC setting? To me sounds like you LLC is set to a very high level. You should set that to level 5.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-29-2018, 07:14 AM
mondenath mondenath is offline
Registered User
mondenath's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 163
POST ID # = 947420
mondenath Reputation: 10
Default

Now the ratio set to 44 so that it is little cooler say 37-44 idle load and 65-81 at load. But still the cpu temps reaching 91 when full load with cinebench and aid64 at 4.4ghz stock boost. with now 1.245v
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-29-2018, 09:11 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,755
POST ID # = 947469
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

Are you using Manual/Fixed voltage? Or adaptive?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-31-2018, 10:37 PM
mondenath mondenath is offline
Registered User
mondenath's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 163
POST ID # = 947943
mondenath Reputation: 10
Default re cooler

Now after changing the case and fitting the fans properly now the temps are normal i believe for 4.4ghz but at 1.4v the temps are still hitting 90+

I believe this radiator or even 360 radiator ie 150i pro cant hold that much heat i guess.

is there any benifit on running push pull . I have ordered sp120 fans but the rpms are 1650 max. But the stock cooler fan can reach 2700rpm or 2450+10%

I dont know if lower rpm is put to pull can it do effectively or it blocks the air. Or when pushing across the radiator the force is reduced even though its pressure optimized so 1600 rpm wont be blocking the flow when pulling .
Attached Images
File Type: png corsair.PNG (17.3 KB, 304 views)
File Type: png CINEBENCH TEST MAX 81 - OLD 99.PNG (16.8 KB, 371 views)
File Type: png hwmonitor.PNG (18.1 KB, 262 views)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-31-2018, 11:18 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,237
POST ID # = 947955
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The temps are hitting 90+ because your voltage is at 1.41V. The heat is getting generated faster than it can be dealt with and this would be true regardless of your cooler.
You need to get your voltages down.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-02-2018, 07:00 AM
mondenath mondenath is offline
Registered User
mondenath's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 163
POST ID # = 948201
mondenath Reputation: 10
Default

How.

I set 1.24v but still fluctuating to 1.4v

Does LLC level overshoot to higher volt
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 04-02-2018, 09:13 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,755
POST ID # = 948210
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

We can help with this, but I need to know if you are running adaptive, Auto (adaptive), or fixed/manual voltage. Some of the steps are different, but this is a very common problem on Z370.

Here are some of the steps from another post.
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...7&postcount=11
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 04-02-2018, 01:26 PM
mondenath mondenath is offline
Registered User
mondenath's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 163
POST ID # = 948242
mondenath Reputation: 10
Default re

Hi I am setting it to manual

Not adaptive

I am afraid to oc . As the temps are hitting easily 90+ even on coolest ambient of 20 degree

i cant control the voltage to stay put some thing is messing with voltage

Is that SVID is capable of changing the voltage

I dont want temps more than 80 degree max 85 under full load let it be aid64 or cinebench or even prime 95 . It should be under 85 degree max. As not every apps like these load the cpu to the core. such as for gpu the furmark.

let me know what else you need

these are my setting

1. XMP profile - ON
2. ram- 2800mhz
3. avx -0
4. core- auto
cpu-core- manual .1256
llc- auto
svid- disabled


For now it is sticking to 4.3

if i enable svid only i can see the hwmonitor shows the fluctuaitons in real time . I dont want it to clock always say 4.3+

i want is if loaded it should hit the defined speed of 4.8 or 5 which ever but under 85 deg max and 1.35 max with near 1.37 . Not 1.4 at all.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 04-02-2018, 02:23 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,755
POST ID # = 948248
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

Yup, this why setting up the Z270/370 platforms is tricky. There are a lot of settings that override others.

Advanced BIOS -> AI Tweaker/Extreme Tweaker column > tuning=XMP.

At the top should be SVID Behavior with a drop down menu that includes (Default/Worst Case/Typical/Best Case). Select Best Case for now. Asus Multicore-enhancement (MCE) is just below that. You must disable it. This can override all your other settings. If you want 4.7GHz, set the multiplier to 47 with appropriate voltage. Do not let the board decide for you. If you are peaking out at 4300MHz, you likely already have done this properly. Further down in the standard SVID setting (AUTO/Enabled/disabled). Typically you would disable it for overclocking, but in my use you can leave it on Auto so apps can see voltage figures and it will not go crazy with the voltage, even on adaptive.

I suspect the LLC setting is what's throwing things into high gear. Traditionally, the Auto setting does drop off, but then ramps up to max way too easily. I believe you also have manual 1-7 settings, like mine. I use LLC 6 for 5.0. If I gave it more voltage I could use 5. I think an LLC or 4 is probably most appropriate for the 4.3 to 4.6 range.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 04-02-2018, 02:48 PM
mondenath mondenath is offline
Registered User
mondenath's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 163
POST ID # = 948252
mondenath Reputation: 10
Default

One quick query.

So the xmp should hit 4.7 or we need to set to 4.7ghz

if 4.7 would there be flucutuations in frequency on underload or always 4.7. As setting 4.7 fix the freq and not down clock on say no gaming or endcoding or cpu intesive tasks

Which push the temps to 65+ and my h100i v2 water temps were 43degrees way higher.

now its is 32.4 with auto freq which hits 4.3ghz constantly with occasional drops of 10-15mhz

So setting best case will do the magic and llc-4 and do i need to set the power package to max 4095 ?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.