The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2019, 01:08 AM
TinyBabyOwl TinyBabyOwl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1011858
TinyBabyOwl Reputation: 10
Default iCUE is an absolute dumpster fire.

The software will randomly stop detecting devices or just completely freeze up and then none of my device profiles work. Usually have to restart the corsair service, and even then I'll still have to unplug my mouse wireless dongle and plug it back in to get iCUE to detect it.

I've tried reinstalling the software and it's still the same. Anyone else have similar experiences and know of any fixes?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2019, 10:09 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,246
POST ID # = 1011879
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Can you be more specific as to which hardware you have? Filling out your system details is helpful, too.
And a question - are you running any other monitoring tools? HWInfo, perhaps? Something else?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2019, 01:40 PM
TinyBabyOwl TinyBabyOwl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1011906
TinyBabyOwl Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Can you be more specific as to which hardware you have? Filling out your system details is helpful, too.
And a question - are you running any other monitoring tools? HWInfo, perhaps? Something else?
I have the K70 RGB MK.2 LP keyboard (currently undetected with a red exclamation point icon, simply because I woke my computer), a dark core RGB SE mouse, MM1000 RGB mousepad, and void pro wireless headset.

Not running any other monitoring software right now.

i7-6700k
1080Ti
Win 10

For what it's worth I have an AMD Ryzen 7 3800x coming in the next few days, so I'll be doing a clean install of windows at that time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-20-2019, 02:07 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,246
POST ID # = 1011907
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Well, then, at this point, it's somewhat pointless to troubleshoot the issue with your system, isn't it?
In general, then, as this will apply to the Ryzen system as well, make sure that your system USB drivers are up to date. Windows has a nasty tendency of overwriting them or otherwise breaking things with updates - so reinstalling them from the manufacturer's site isn't unreasonable. Also, a repair install, rather than a re-install, solves many issues.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2019, 12:56 AM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 132
POST ID # = 1011951
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TinyBabyOwl View Post
I have the K70 RGB MK.2 LP keyboard (currently undetected with a red exclamation point icon, simply because I woke my computer), a dark core RGB SE mouse, MM1000 RGB mousepad, and void pro wireless headset.

Not running any other monitoring software right now.

i7-6700k
1080Ti
Win 10

For what it's worth I have an AMD Ryzen 7 3800x coming in the next few days, so I'll be doing a clean install of windows at that time.
I just went through a AMD Ryzen 7 3800x upgrade just recently so you may want to read this so you understand the CPU is working normally before you realize the effect on CPU max boosting with iCue and freak out.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...3rd_gen_ryzen/

Any application that hits the CPU (including iCue) can trigger boosting and if you end up in a situation with any program (that looks like) it triggers max boosting across all cores (because of frequent enough hits to the CPU) it will of course generate more heat than idle (but less than if you really fully loaded all cores). I don't know why people are surprised by this but letting you know you're in for a surprise if you didn't know already.

Personally I don't think it's really a problem but clearly some are bothered by it and there are various things you can do to re-balance performance and counter the sensitivity of the CPU boosting behavior if it bothers you.

Last edited by A Computer Guy; 07-21-2019 at 01:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2019, 09:28 AM
Faraday Faraday is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1011961
Faraday Reputation: 10
Default

I am having the same problems as you. More specifically, it happened when I switched users in Windows.

Since the beginning, iCue was behaving weirdly when I tried changing the color pattern.

When I tried setting a solid color for the backlight, the function buttons stopped working.

Sorry for not being able to help, but at least I know that other people are experiencing similar issues.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-21-2019, 06:19 PM
TinyBabyOwl TinyBabyOwl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1012001
TinyBabyOwl Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Computer Guy View Post
I just went through a AMD Ryzen 7 3800x upgrade just recently so you may want to read this so you understand the CPU is working normally before you realize the effect on CPU max boosting with iCue and freak out.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...3rd_gen_ryzen/

Any application that hits the CPU (including iCue) can trigger boosting and if you end up in a situation with any program (that looks like) it triggers max boosting across all cores (because of frequent enough hits to the CPU) it will of course generate more heat than idle (but less than if you really fully loaded all cores). I don't know why people are surprised by this but letting you know you're in for a surprise if you didn't know already.

Personally I don't think it's really a problem but clearly some are bothered by it and there are various things you can do to re-balance performance and counter the sensitivity of the CPU boosting behavior if it bothers you.
Oh yeah I've read about that, and like you it doesn't bother me too much. Most people that seem concerned are upping their voltage and OC'ing. I am gonna give it a while for Microsoft and AMD to tighten things up before I do any of that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-21-2019, 07:27 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 132
POST ID # = 1012017
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TinyBabyOwl View Post
Oh yeah I've read about that, and like you it doesn't bother me too much. Most people that seem concerned are upping their voltage and OC'ing. I am gonna give it a while for Microsoft and AMD to tighten things up before I do any of that.
Indeed. I noticed after updating from Windows 10 18.09 to 19.03 did seem to help. I'm running a little cooler than before, there are now 3 Ryzen power plans (balance, performance, and power saver) and the cores don't seem to be boosting as much when iCue is running.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.