The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2015, 12:27 AM
cadmonkey cadmonkey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 818114
cadmonkey Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Link has discovered new devices

"Corsair Link has discovered new devices which require a reboot to finalize the installation process. Click ok to reboot now or click cancel to reboot later"

So I click ok and it reboots, same message comes up.
I click cancel and the message flashes back - it won't go away.
I don't have tricky corsair watercooling bits.
I do have a commander mini
I do have a new EVGA micro 2 X99 board.
The messages started when I installed this board. Poos.

Is there a regedit to stop it finding new devices?

This software has not been nice even on my old board, with multiple crashes and all the other usual problems...
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-05-2015, 12:36 AM
jnx_r jnx_r is offline
Registered User
jnx_r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 818115
jnx_r Reputation: 10
Default

I had the same issue, this is how I solved it:
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=153074

Maybe there's a better solution, which is what the last reply suggests.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-05-2015, 12:54 AM
cadmonkey cadmonkey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 818116
cadmonkey Reputation: 10
Default

It's a pity we don't have some sort of guide for the last post!
I don't have a previous version of win 10 to reinstall...
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-05-2015, 04:52 AM
jnx_r jnx_r is offline
Registered User
jnx_r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 818130
jnx_r Reputation: 10
Default

I am running Linux on this system, so I actually needed Windows for Corsair link, and to keep in touch with where they're headed with Windows in general, so I needed the latest Previews. Otherwise, the older RTM versions would suffice.

You can download the older ISOs from MS or elsewhere, and verify the hashes from MS or something. Just search for it, you'll find it easily. Build 10240 is the public release version, so it should be stable on that version.

Also if you can wait a bit longer, you can download the stable version directly as an update. MS is gearing for an upgrade this fall, they have been testing new features, and I believe 10586 will be the version which will be released to the public, of course after it has undergone some insider testing. So if you could wait for a couple of weeks or so, there should be a new stable update for public release very soon.

Last edited by jnx_r; 11-05-2015 at 04:59 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-05-2015, 05:18 AM
cadmonkey cadmonkey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 818131
cadmonkey Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnx_r View Post
I had the same issue, this is how I solved it:
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=153074

Maybe there's a better solution, which is what the last reply suggests.
I got it to stop the new device thing with this:

Totally worked for me. Just right click start button, click run, and type in "regedit"

So navigate to this path in Registry Editor: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\USB\VID_1B1C&PID_0C04

You should find one or possibly more folders of random numbers, letters, and ampersands. Under each of these folders will be a "Device Parameters" folder which has the following four important strings:
AllowIdleIrpInD3 = 1
DeviceSelectiveSuspended = 1
EnhancedPowerManagementEnabled = 1
SelectiveSuspendEnabled = 1

Just double click these individually in the far right pane and a window will pop up with the value already highlighted. Change each to "0" (zero) then save and reboot.


But now it doesn't show any fans haha.

It really is a buggy piece of software.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-05-2015, 01:15 PM
jnx_r jnx_r is offline
Registered User
jnx_r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 818194
jnx_r Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadmonkey View Post
Change each to "0" (zero) then save and reboot.

But now it doesn't show any fans haha.

It really is a buggy piece of software.


Well, its all zeros as you said. But all the fans do show up on my system, probably because I went through reinstalling the OS more than a couple of times to get it running.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-22-2015, 12:07 PM
blackweb blackweb is offline
Registered User
blackweb's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 821473
blackweb Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadmonkey View Post
"Corsair Link has discovered new devices which require a reboot to finalize the installation process. Click ok to reboot now or click cancel to reboot later"

So I click ok and it reboots, same message comes up.
I click cancel and the message flashes back - it won't go away.
I don't have tricky corsair watercooling bits.
I do have a commander mini
I do have a new EVGA micro 2 X99 board.
The messages started when I installed this board. Poos.

Is there a regedit to stop it finding new devices?

This software has not been nice even on my old board, with multiple crashes and all the other usual problems...
None of these fixes work. Just upgraded to Windows 10 Pro build 1511 and now Corsair Link wont stop annoying me with "discovered new devices".

ax 860i
h80i

Tried all versions of CL back to 5676. They all do the same thing.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-22-2015, 03:39 PM
kansasboy001 kansasboy001 is offline
Registered User
kansasboy001's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Another Planet
Posts: 42
POST ID # = 821503
kansasboy001 Reputation: 13
Default

I completely agree. Corsair needs to fix this software. I have an H100i and a original commander with 2 lighting and 2 cooling nodes. It barely works on Windows 10 and caused the threshold 2 update to get stuck which caused problems and required a reinstall of Windows to fix. I've since removed link to install threshold 2 and link doesn't work. Now that NZXT offers the Grid+, Hue+, and kraken series coolers which all use the much more stable CAM software I see no reason to continue fighting corsair's awful software. I was contemplating buying 2 commander minis on cyber Monday, but not now. I guess NZXT will be getting my money.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-01-2015, 08:08 PM
Fr33Th1nk3r Fr33Th1nk3r is offline
Registered User
Fr33Th1nk3r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 823173
Fr33Th1nk3r Reputation: 10
Default

Well I'm not messing with the registry sorry. Please fix this Corsair. And then yell at Windows after for their stupid auto-update thing.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-10-2015, 03:12 AM
h7u9i h7u9i is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 824752
h7u9i Reputation: 10
Default

Fresh Windows 10 Pro 1511 install. Having this issue with both v3.2.5695 and v3.2.5742 with my H80i.

EDIT: And 3.2.5676

Last edited by h7u9i; 12-10-2015 at 03:17 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 12-10-2015, 04:33 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,148
POST ID # = 824760
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by h7u9i View Post
Fresh Windows 10 Pro 1511 install. Having this issue with both v3.2.5695 and v3.2.5742 with my H80i.
Do what I say in http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=153706
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 12-17-2015, 05:44 PM
Ochimaro Ochimaro is offline
Registered User
Ochimaro's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 826147
Ochimaro Reputation: 10
Default

Hi guys... i'm having the same issue with my H110i GT.

It has been 7 months and corsair still hasn't fixed this issue...

unbelievable...
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 12-18-2015, 09:37 PM
Eximos Eximos is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 826371
Eximos Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ochimaro View Post
Hi guys... i'm having the same issue with my H110i GT.

It has been 7 months and corsair still hasn't fixed this issue...

unbelievable...
No sadly exactly as corsair do...
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.