The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 83 votes, 4.87 average. Display Modes
  #331  
Old 08-23-2016, 06:21 AM
Hugo Cowan Hugo Cowan is offline
Here to learn
Hugo Cowan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 868356
Hugo Cowan Reputation: 20
Default

Hold up time appears to be working as intended, no issues with that feature. :)

EDIT

Just thought I would write for sake of completeness about an issue separate from the hold-off time that I have already brought up with Ray on fan control.


When using a custom curve, and when on a temperature that is below the set maximum (58C in my case), my fans (Gentle Typhooons) rise and fall by ~200RPM without there being a temperature change. This makes a noticeable change in fan noise output.

When set to run at max RPM, all fans run at maximum without varying their RPM. This is with or without a hold-off time - the fans are varying their RPM despite there being a constant RPM set by SIV.

I did not notice this before as most games I have been playing either raise my temperatures to above 58C or don't raise them much at all. I first noticed this behaviour in Star Citizen when I initially asked for a hold-off time as I thought the fans were responding to temperature changes. I checked again today and it occurred with or without a hold-up time, so temperature is not causing this.

Ray has said this could be an issue with the firmware, and could be worked around with software. If anyone else has had a similar issue, it would be good to see some concurrency, and that I'm not the only one seeing this issue.

Last edited by Hugo Cowan; 08-26-2016 at 07:01 AM. Reason: Issue with varying RPM under medium loads.


  #332  
Old 08-31-2016, 05:47 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 869647
red-ray Reputation: 81
Thumbs up Windows 10 RS2 V10.00 Build 14915

The SIV 5.12 release controlled my CL hardware with no issues, but for full ACPI reporting SIV 5.13 Beta-09 or later is needed.

Quote:
Attached Images
File Type: png siv_reg.png (120.1 KB, 1653 views)


  #333  
Old 09-15-2016, 05:38 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 871384
red-ray Reputation: 81
Thumbs up Windows 10 RS2 V10.00 Build 14926

The SIV 5.12 release controlled my CL hardware with no issues, but for full ACPI reporting SIV 5.13 Beta-18 or later is needed.

Quote:
Attached Images
File Type: png siv_reg.png (116.2 KB, 1592 views)


1 members found this post helpful.
  #334  
Old 09-22-2016, 04:30 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 872440
red-ray Reputation: 81
Thumbs up Windows 10 RS2 V10.00 Build 14931

The SIV 5.12 release controlled my CL hardware with no issues, but for full ACPI reporting SIV 5.13 Beta-21 or later is needed.

Quote:
Attached Images
File Type: png siv_reg.png (119.4 KB, 1513 views)


  #335  
Old 10-08-2016, 10:47 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 874699
red-ray Reputation: 81
Thumbs up Improved reporting of Corsair Vengeance LED DIMMs

SIV 5.14 Beta-12 has improved reporting of Corsair Vengeance LED DIMMs, but as you can see below for an X99 system I needed to change the IMC SMBus clock from the default of 356 KHz to 100 KHz (see Menu->Edit->View IMC SMBus) to get SIV to report the LEDs. SIV had no issues reading the SPD when the clock was 356 KHz. Maybe this is why CL4 only supports Z170 + Z270 and fails to support X99 . Does anyone know which DIMM SPD chip and/or which SMBus LED controller chip these DIMMs use please?

On some X99 motherboards IMC SMBus writing is disabled so SIV will not be able to update the DIMM LEDs. See below for how this is reported on the SIV [Chipset MCH] panel. Some motherboards have a BIOS option to enable SMBus/SPD writes, see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=897123.

I also noted the SPD incorrectly reports MTS as avaible when it is not .

Note SIV can now control Corsair Vengeance LED DIMMs, see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=888742

Quote:




IMC SMBus writing is disabled



IMC SMBus writing is enabled



What the datasheet says.


Attached Images
File Type: png CMU16GX4M2A2666C16-MTS.png (57.7 KB, 1519 views)
File Type: png Corsair Vengeance LED DIMMs 356KHz.png (72.5 KB, 1552 views)
File Type: png Corsair Vengeance LED DIMMs 100KHz.png (76.3 KB, 4077 views)
File Type: png [IMC SMBus].png (26.5 KB, 1302 views)
File Type: png SMB_DIS_WRT bit is set.png (45.1 KB, 1221 views)
File Type: png SMB_DIS_WRT bit is clr.png (45.0 KB, 1200 views)
File Type: png SMB_DIS_WRT is bit 26.png (102.0 KB, 1167 views)

Last edited by red-ray; 03-28-2017 at 05:03 AM. Reason: Add both 100KHz + 356KHz screens + post #897123


  #336  
Old 10-15-2016, 06:42 AM
Hugo Cowan Hugo Cowan is offline
Here to learn
Hugo Cowan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 875445
Hugo Cowan Reputation: 20
Default Request for software control of fans with the CL Mini.

Hi Ray,

Despite the lack of concurrence to the issue I raised here previously, I would still like to request for the fan control to be done via software in lieu of the firmware.

After a long period of testing I still have the issue of oscillating fan speeds at stable temperature outputs. I understand if this is too much effort and not enough demand for it, but I thought I might ask regardless.

For now I have moved my fans to the motherboard headers, but am still using the CL Mini for my pump.


  #337  
Old 10-15-2016, 11:23 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 875477
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow Post [Link Fans]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugo Cowan View Post
Despite the lack of concurrence to the issue I raised here previously, I would still like to request for the fan control to be done via software in lieu of the firmware.

After a long period of testing I still have the issue of oscillating fan speeds at stable temperature outputs. I understand if this is too much effort and not enough demand for it, but I thought I might ask regardless.
Before I would make such a change I feel I should confirm what happens with one on my CL Minis. For me to do this I should need to know exactly how you have/had the fans configured, so you should need to post [Link Fans].

SIV does do software fan control for the GRID+ V2.


  #338  
Old 10-15-2016, 04:42 PM
Hugo Cowan Hugo Cowan is offline
Here to learn
Hugo Cowan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 875526
Hugo Cowan Reputation: 20
Default

I will check and post [Link Fans] as soon as I am able, thank you Ray.


  #339  
Old 10-15-2016, 04:47 PM
ChoGGi ChoGGi is offline
Registered User
ChoGGi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 875527
ChoGGi Reputation: 28
Default

I also get that happening a few times a day, although I think there is a minimal temp increase. It isn't a ramp up like it normally does, it's a quick burst.


  #340  
Old 10-15-2016, 06:17 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 875538
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea [Hardware Status] as well

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugo Cowan View Post
I will check and post [Link Fans] as soon as I am able, thank you Ray.
Please post [Hardware Status] as well so I can see the temperature ranges for whatever are the controlling sensors.


  #341  
Old 10-16-2016, 01:09 PM
Hugo Cowan Hugo Cowan is offline
Here to learn
Hugo Cowan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 875670
Hugo Cowan Reputation: 20
Default

Here is my Link Fans from when I had my fans being controlled by SIV. I was playing around with the hold-up time being on for an extended period of time and off, so that is why it is 0.



The fans were controlled by the GPU and CPU temps, with typical temperature ranges respectively between 30-60 and 30-75 degrees centigrade. There was a temperature offset for the CPU cores of 15C to make it better fit with the fan curves.



This is from my system as it is now, without the fans being controlled by the CL Mini, and having just turned it on. If you need readings from after being put under stress I can resend that page.


  #342  
Old 11-30-2016, 12:14 PM
Sabrewulf Sabrewulf is offline
Registered User
Sabrewulf's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bangor, Maine
Posts: 35
POST ID # = 880767
Sabrewulf Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to Sabrewulf Send a message via AIM to Sabrewulf Send a message via Yahoo to Sabrewulf
Default

Can I use SIV to set the LEDs for my DRAM? I'm on x99 and have a 64GB kit with 4 modules. They are red LEDs but constantly pulsing and I would like to stop them from pulsing.

The learning curve for this software is a bit steep. I may poke around with it more when I have time but I'm interested in using it instead of the Corsair software if it provides to be a better solution. I'm also using a Corsair USB Link Dongle that came with my 860AXi PSU.


  #343  
Old 11-30-2016, 01:56 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 880782
red-ray Reputation: 81
Sigh.. I suspect Corsair messed up the hardware/firmware design/requirement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabrewulf View Post
Can I use SIV to set the LEDs for my DRAM? I'm on x99 and have a 64GB kit with 4 modules.
I had a look at what was needed and if you look as http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=874699 then you will see that SIV was totally unable to interact with the DDR4 LEDs 'till I dropped the IMC SMBus from the default of 356KHz to 100KHz, so I suspect Corsair messed up the hardware/firmware design/requirement.

At the moment SIV can't control the LEDs as I don't know the protocol, but you could use SIV to change the IMC SMBus speed (Menu->Edit->IMC SMBus) to 100KHz and then see if CL4 does any better.

If we can figure out which LED controller chip the DIMMs use then I suspect I could get SIV to control the LEDs.

It would also be good in you posted the [SMB Bus] + [SPD Summary] screen shots from your system so I can check they are the same as in the linked post.

Last edited by red-ray; 12-10-2016 at 04:55 AM.


  #344  
Old 12-10-2016, 01:05 AM
Waffles13 Waffles13 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 882034
Waffles13 Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
If we can figure out which LED controller chip the DIMMs use then I suspect I could get SIV to control the LEDs.
I was messing around inside my case earlier and figured that I might as well take the hit and see if I can get any photos of the Vengeance LED RAM without the heat spreaders on (turns out they are very simple to remove).

http://imgur.com/a/ZddcE

I don't know if these will be any help to you, but at this point you're pretty much the only person we can count on to get this figured out, since Corsair sure as hell doesn't seem interested in fixing their broken product.

Also, on a semi-related note, how do you set the IMCBus to 100kHz? I can access the "Edit->View IMCBus" menu but hitting the 100kHz button doesn't seem to do anything.


1 members found this post helpful.
  #345  
Old 12-10-2016, 01:21 AM
ChoGGi ChoGGi is offline
Registered User
ChoGGi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 882035
ChoGGi Reputation: 28
Default

Well at least you had one good picture of the controller :)
http://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/en/PIC16F1508


1 members found this post helpful.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.