The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2015, 09:38 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,148
POST ID # = 779631
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow Runnning CL V3.1, CAM and other monitoring software at the same time

I have just checked and CAM seems to use the CPUID SDK and unlike CL 3.1 (seems to be fixed in CL 3.2) uses a version that seems to interlock correctly. I can tell this as PE shows all of Access_SMBUS.HTP.Method, Access_ISABUS.HTP.Method, ... Mutants/Mutexes have been opened. There is no way anyone can tell if they are being used correctly though, but given they are open hopefully they are .

Looking at http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=784450 the official Corsair position seems to be that CAM and CL should not be used at the same time as they will conflict.

As both CL 3.1 releases have the issue I stated in http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138035 it is not safe to run CAM and CL 3.1 at the same time, is not safe to run CL 3.1 and ANY other monitoring program at the same time . I expect it should be OK to have CAM and CL 2.7 active at the same time, but use PE to check the versions you are using have the Mutants/Mutexes open first.

As far as I can tell it is safe to have all of CAM, AIDA64, HWiNFO, OHM, SpeedFan and SIV active at the same time. If you wish to also run other programs use PE to check if they have the locks I mentioned above open before doing this.

The general rule is if a monitoring program does not have the Mutants/Mutexes open you should not run ANY other monitoring software at the same time as it . ASUS AI Suite does not so if you run any other monitoring program at the same time you are effectively playing Russian Roulette .

While the mutants being open is a good indicator that a program will interlock correctly it is not a certainty. I can recall at least one case of Access_SMBUS.HTP.Method being open and not being used correctly by a released program and have tested many development versions that had issues that needed to be resolved. Eventually I got the offending released program corrected, but convincing the author there was an issue with his code was tricky and time consuming. In the end I added code to the SIV SMBus driver to detect the report the conflicting information in the SMBus controller hardware registers and sent him the SIV SMBus driver trace. The code is still in there, but it's been a few years since I needed it

PE can be downloaded from https://technet.microsoft.com/en-gb/...or=-2147217396

Attached Images
File Type: png CAM Locks.png (210.2 KB, 3356 views)

Last edited by red-ray; 02-19-2016 at 06:01 AM. Reason: locking seems to be fixed in CL 3.2


  #2  
Old 06-12-2015, 06:11 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,148
POST ID # = 784416
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

There are also issues with CL thinking the X41 is a H80iGT as mentioned in http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=141838.

Corsair, what is the URL that specifies if using CL and CAM at the same time is supported and what interoperability testing you have done please?

Looking at http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=784450 it seems none

Last edited by red-ray; 08-11-2015 at 04:10 PM. Reason: Added link to post 784450


Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.